Extremely low numbers...help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel

Member Since 2013
So I just tested for PM pre shot. It was 70. I thought it was an error so I checked the other ear..90. Can that be right? With her at 207 this AM and 137 at nadir? No insulin I assume? The numbers are both really low but why so different?
 
Yes this could be correct! And this is good news actually.

I take it you are new to this process? Because I don't see a spreadsheet with any numbers posted. So, I will assume you are new and as a safety factor, we recommend NO insulin if the AMPS or PMPS (morning or evening preshot test number) is below 200.

As you get further in this process you will shoot below 200, but for now, to be safe. It's best to skip the shot.

You do have options:

1) you can stall and not feed and wait 30 minutes to see if the numbers go above 200 and then give insulin
2) you can skip the shot completely and continue with other normal activities, and test during the night to see how high she goes

Normal BG range is 50-130
 
I am new. Had some troubles home testing...finally got it down this week. I do want to add a spreadsheet soon. Still working out how to do that. She's always been in the 200-220 range. But that testing was very sporadic. I fed her so I guess I will check her in a bit to see what's up. It was so weird to see such low numbers...she's never been that low!
 
I know the first time you get a low number, panic strikes. But this is good, it means that the insulin and food changes are helping.
 
Here's the shopping list:

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro. (The Prime has the cheapest strips, but takes a little larger sample than the Confirm or Micro..for newbies, the smaller sample size is very helpful)
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast


Here's some help on Setting up your spreadsheet
 
How long has it been since you got the 70? Have you fed him? If you have fed, that's totally normal....It can also been totally normal if it's been more than a few minutes

What's important to know at this point is that the number is rising. Now if you had NOT fed, this would mean that the numbers are climbing and it'd probably be safe to shoot. This is where home testing is invaluable. You learn how your cat reacts to insulin and food.
 
Thanks for the support last night!!! My girl was at 246 this AM. I'm hoping last night was a sign that things are getting better. I guess we will see. I plan to try setting the spreadsheet up tonight. I'm so very glad that I started home testing. Hopefully last nights numbers weren't a one off thing. Thanks for guiding me through the panic!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top