skybar22
Member Since 2010
Morgaine, who has been diet controlled, has just had a fasting blood test and her tryglycerides were over 1600 and chlolesterol was more than double the norm. I know lab values for normal are not correct but hers are clearly way out there. Her BG was 365 under severe vet stress and it came back down to 199 the next day. She is generally in the normal range. I took her to a vet who only treats cats as I was having some real issues with another vet. He wasn't getting down to business. He was just very laid back. So, although the new vet is on board with glargine protocol used here, she is more concerned about getting these lipids down first. She is wanting me to put Norgaine on the purina OM diet with 25% carbs. I do not want to exacerbate the diabetes and I know high carbs will. The vet agrees but thinks we need to do this first and manage her on Lantus and then she is suggesting Purina DM. I do not want to put her on DM either. Her current food has too much fat.
Can anyoine help me figure out how to get the fat down without these prescription foods. Morgaine is also very fussy and it took me a huge struggle to finally get her a food she likes. she eats Pro Plan chicken and liver. It is very low in carbs, under 4%. She loved FF until the forula changed but also high in fat. I tried to feed her a raw diet and she refused it completely.
Can anyoine help me figure out how to get the fat down without these prescription foods. Morgaine is also very fussy and it took me a huge struggle to finally get her a food she likes. she eats Pro Plan chicken and liver. It is very low in carbs, under 4%. She loved FF until the forula changed but also high in fat. I tried to feed her a raw diet and she refused it completely.