Experienced users, can you look at spread and give opinions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Dose advisers, can you look at this spread and give opin

What say you?

You're wasting your time, Aragorn. They had little honour in life, they have none now in death.



so.... how about the cats health?
ever had a dental? you know how those dentals can keep you from reaching remission.

I see dry food in the margin?
Is the cat getting dry food? That too can be the difference between juice or no juice.
 
Re: Dose advisers, can you look at this spread and give opin

Is this person willing to post on FDMB? I don't know if it's wise or safe to give advice "through" someone else, without being able to get first-hand facts from the person who is actually caring for the cat. If she posts here, she will have lots of experienced eyes who can help her.
 
Re: Dose advisers, can you look at this spread and give opin

Hi Melanie!

Just to clarify, we don't have any dose advisors on FDMB. At all. There are some people who are willing to try to help people learn to apply the protocol to their cat, but Rebecca (former website owner) made it very clear there are no dose advisors here. Huge liability issue if anyone is offering medical advice as though they were professionals.

sounds like a challenging situation for you. some friends are like that. ;-)

I'm with Rhiannon. I see "dry food" mentioned. If she wants to try for remission, i'd suggest that go away. The dose overall looks pretty good - lots of people would love to have that spreadsheet. Might just be that the cat's pancreas needs more time to heal. Were you on here when Davidson was working his way OTJ? He went down the scale 0.25u at a time from 2.75u - spending a week on almost every dose on the way down. Look at his spreadsheet beginning in February: Davidson's ss

She does have 3 tests pretty much every day, which is what is suggested as the minimum for following the TR Protocol. I hope she's leaving low carb canned out during the day cycles.

The only thing I might suggest is that she could try a bite of low carb canned food at +8-9 and see if it brings the preshots down into normal numbers.
 
Re: Experienced users, can you look at spread and give opini

RE: dry food. One of the other cats still gets it. I am told it is stored in a sealed container and this cat occasionally breaks in and gets it. At the beginning she was stealing it from the cat that eats it all the time, but that got better when it was seen how much it shot her up when it was given on lower numbers.

so.... how about the cats health?
ever had a dental? you know how those dentals can keep you from reaching remission.

Dental was recently done. Sept I think It is the notes.

Is this person willing to post on FDMB? I don't know if it's wise or safe to give advice "through" someone else, without being able to get first-hand facts from the person who is actually caring for the cat. If she posts here, she will have lots of experienced eyes who can help her.

No. Wanted to be able to call. When I quit taking calls at the drop of the hat, now texts.

She does have 3 tests pretty much every day, which is what is suggested as the minimum for following the TR Protocol. I hope she's leaving low carb canned out during the day cycles.

The only thing I might suggest is that she could try a bite of low carb canned food at +8-9 and see if it brings the preshots down into normal numbers.

Nope on leaving food out and the 8-9. I have suggested both too to no avail.

I know that protocol allows for less tests, which is why I was wondering if anyone else is more apt to look at this spreadsheet and think they see something I don't. I am not that comfortable with untested cycles.

Just to clarify, we don't have any dose advisors on FDMB. At all

Sorry, changed the wording a little :-D

Thanks everyone. It seems people are spotting a lot of the same things I do. Things that I can't seem to change. :YMSIGH: I feel bad that I can't/won't do anything at this point, I feel taken advantage of and exhausted. The cat looks really good for regulation right now. But with Chris going into remission now too, the barrage of questioning has started again. I am worried for the cat if I don't answer the questions, and angry that the tools I offer (the board, the guidelines to TR, etc) are all ignored and I must answer the same questions over and over again... cat(2)_steam
 
Re: Experienced users, can you look at spread and give opini

I guess the question is how you proceed. With a kid that asks the same thing over and over again, a smart parent would stop answering. I work with an autistic little kindergartener who asks me the same questions every day. "what's your favorite ice cream? have you been to the carwash?" etc. My answer is "we've already talked about that. What IS my favorite ice cream?" You might try something like that. Although with adult friends that might come across as a little rude, I don't know.

As with learning anything new, the burden of responsibility for learning is on the student. She's gotta put on her big girl panties and do her part to learn and implement the things you are teaching her.
 
11/24 Gabby AMPS~224, +2~217, PMPS~94

Melanie:

I'm not sure what additional sets of eyes on the SS is going to accomplish. The problem isn't with the cat -- it's with the caregiver.

The best "advice" I can give you is to set limits. I have had people PM me and ask for my phone number. I categorically say "no." I don't want to be providing any guidance backchannel for the safety of the cat and for my sanity. If she can't stop robo-calling or robo-texting, then if it were me, I'd let her know that I was going to block her calls/texts. If she's that concerned, she needs to be posting here or calling her vet with the same frequency that she's harassing you.

When I was much more present on the board, and when there are members here who would plead for advice and then do all of the things you're describing, I'd simply stop posting. It sounds like your beating your head against a brick wall and, frankly, there are lots of people here who would welcome your input and be grateful without the expectation that you were available 24/7 to help only them.
 
Re: Experienced users, can you look at spread and give opini

Keep this phrase in mind:
"When you're ready to have a different result, you'll do something different."

Mind you, this applies to both of you. It can be very difficult to set limits on someone who hasn't had them up to that point. And when you initially set a limit, the other person may initially become more insistent, so be prepared with how you want to respond, even if you need to write it down.

One tactic: Broken Record - this is variations on the same message
Based on what you've written, here are 2 different examples to consider as models.

Ex. I understand you'd like to speak/text with me now and I am not available.
Ex. I know you'd like me to make a suggestion and we've gone over a number of options already. You'll have to decide what you want to do.

(I spent 4 years working a crisis line. We had to have consistent routines for our chronic callers)
 
Re: Experienced users, can you look at spread and give opini

Thanks everyone. I guess I just keep trying to look past it all and help the cat :sad: But I can't implement the things we all say would be good to try long distance so I guess I've done all I can do other than again encourage joining the boards.

Thanks for being a sounding board.
 
Re: Experienced users, can you look at spread and give opini

I guess I just keep trying to look past it all and help the cat

there have been times that i've helped someone for only that reason. it's all about the cat, not the caregiver, but the CG can make the whole process really easy & a pleasure or really difficult.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top