experienced pzi'ers please.

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Guest
my ss is not updated but will be in a day or two. here's my question.
i pmps tom at 7:30 ish...he really zooms by morning. i wonder if i could give him a small booster at about 11 before i fall asleep and assume that while his first shot is just reaching peak performance his booster will not hit for another 4 hours.
is it safe to assume it works that way or will they both just converge into a hypo for me.

also important to note i am a very heavy sleeper and am not likely to wake up and test him at any +'s after i fall asleep. i just sleep that way now. am i a very bad mommie?

lori
and da tom
 
actuallly in the instand it took to post this i already realized that when his + 6 nadir hits so will his booster hit as well.
this may not be a good idea.
 
You could consider TID dosing -- a smaller dose every 8 hours.

Or even go to a sliding scale -- customized for Tom of course.

A sliding scale works for PZI or short-acting insulins -- (NOT LANTUS or LEV for others reading here)

Basically the sliding scale is dosing based on Preshot BG -- higher BG gets a higher dose, lower BG gets a lower dose -- and PZI can then be given as early as 6 hours if the BG is high enough and RISING (this means MORE testing)

This is approaching tight regulation - where you test more often and shoot more often
 
pheobi, once i get his chart updated you can see what i can do to manage his numbers.
it's hard to say without that information i know.
shooting less in the morning will not bring him down that day anyway. not enough but i suppose that is what i want so i can shoot him 7 hours later. for a few days he likely won't see green. that bothers me. as it is now his curve gets him green if only for 2 hours or so.
chart tomorow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top