Exciting news

Status
Not open for further replies.

Udong

Member Since 2012
I am happy to announce that my cat Dongdong has been off insulin for 14 days. Her numbers during these 2 weeks are between 2.8(50) -4.8(86).
I’ll like to thank this site and all the good hearted members here to give me so much updated information on feline diabetes. She got remission just only 1 month stopping all prescription dry food. Here is a short profile of my cat Dongdong.

Dongdong was diagnosed with diabetes on Sept 13, 2012.
She was on 1 unit of Caninsulin and Hill’s md diabetes dry food for 6 weeks. Sept 13 - Oct 25. blind shot 1 Unit x 2/day (6 weeks)

1st curve done @ the vet's office, readings show high 22-18, also did a frutosamine test. My vet said to increase to 1.5 units.

Oct 26 - Nov 3 1.5 Units blind shot x2/day (1week)
During this period, I read all the info on this site and trying to absorb as much as possible.

I bought a blood glucose monitor for home test Nov 3, 1st blood test shows high +6hrs 21.8(390) so I increase the dose to 2 units.
The following 2 days after increase to 2 units. Her BG still showed high
Nov 5, 2012 25.5(459) 2 Unit am +10.5hrs. 23.4(420)
Nov 6,2012 am +10 hrs. 23(421)

I stop all the Hill’s md dry and gave her home made fish. Chicken and pork. After 3 days her BG drop a lot.
1st curve on Nov 10, 2012 amps 2U 23.3(420) +2hrs 19.9(355) +4hrs 15.4(275) +6 hrs11.2(220) +8hrs.8.7(155) +12hrs13.6(245)
Nov 11, +12hr 23.5 (425) 2u x 2
Nov 15, + 8 hrs. 12 (215) 2u x 2

Nov 17, 17.5(315) +6 hrs 22 (400) PM 20.4(365) 2u x 2
Nov 18, +6 hrs 14(250) 2u x 2
Nov 21, pmps 10.2(180) + 3hrs 17(300) 2U x 2
Nov 22, amps 19.1 (350) 2U x2
Nov 24, amps 17.5 (315) 2.25U +6hrs. 7.4(133) 2 U
Nov 25, pmps 16 (288) 2.25U x 2
Nov 26 amps 18(320) pmps 19(342), 2.25 u x 2
Nov 29 amps 17.6( 315) 2 u +6hr 2.1(39), pmps 6 (110) 1.75 u
Nov 30 pmps 9(162) 2 u x 2
Dec 1,2012 18.6 (330) 2.25 u x 2
Dec 2, 2012 +6 hrs. 4 (72) 2.25 u & 2 u
Dec 3, 2012 pmps 7.2 (130) 2 u & 1.75 u

After few weeks on 2-2.25 units Her BG seems to be going down, decrease to 1.5 u
Dec 4,2012 amps 10.7 (193) pmps 8 (144) 1.5 u x 2
Dec 5,2012 amps 10.1(182) 1.5 u x 2

Her BG going down again, decrease to 1.2 u
Dec 6,2012 amps 9.2 (166) pmps 6.7 (121) 1.4 u & 1.2 u

The next day still going down, decrease to 0.6 u
Dec 7,2012 amps 5.7(103) pmps 6.4(115) 0.6 U x 2
Dec 8,2012 amps 7.8(140) +5hr 4.3 (78) pmps 6.3(113) 0.6 u x 2

Still going down the next day pmps 5.4(97) off insulin and see.
Dec 9,2012 + 6hrs 3(54) pmps 5.4(97) 0.6u am & no shot pm 1st day

Dec10,2012 5.9(106) amps 3.2(58) 11:45pm No shot 2nd day
Dec11,2012 4.8(86) 11.45 pm NS 3rd day
Dec12,2012 4.8(86) 8:00 pm NS 4th day
Dec 13,2012 3.5(63) 9:00am NS 5th day
Dec 14,2012 3.4(61) 7:00pm NS 6th day
Dec 15,2012 2.9(52) 1:00pm NS 7th day
Dec 16,2012 3.9(70) 6:00pm NS 8th day
Dec 17,2012 4.8(86) 10:00pm NS 9th day
Dec 19,2012 3.2(57) 9:am NS 11th day
Dec 20,2012 4.3 (75) 9 pm NS 12th day
Dec 21,2012 3.9 (70) 10:30pm NS 13th day
Dec 22,2012 2.8(50) 6:30 pm NS 14th day

Here are 2 videos on her BG test after 10 days off insulin. :lol:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0k2PdWeZKU0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KlzoUxDY_-I
 
This is great news indeed! Just remember once a diabetic always a diabetic. So, keep up the low carb foods for life and remember to test her randomly to make sure she is still within normal range.
 
Congratulations!

Be sure to keep the teeth cleaned as that is a common source of infection and a return to high glucose levels.

Monitoring water consumption and amount of urination will alert you of any changes for possible diabetes, renal disease, or hyperthyroidism as they all increase thirst and output.
 
There will be no more dry food in the house any more. I feed my other two cats fancy feast pâté. since Dongdong doesn't eat wet food. I have been giving her home made food like chicken thigh, small smelt fish and lean natural feed pork which are 0 percent carb. she also like capelin female fish(with a lot of caviar) which has 5 percent carb. Is it healthy to feed a cat food with 0 carb or does she need some carb.

How do I clean her teeth ? Do I get a small soft brush ?
I check her BG every day and it's between 2.4(50)-4.8(86), I think the 0 carb diet really works. Will her BG goes down too low with this diet ?
Her water consumption is 3 -5 oz per day now. She use to drink water 4 times more.
Now I need to learn to keep her healthy. :sad:
 
Thank you BJM, Sue & Oliver, Hilary & Mau, Tara & Buster. I will put supplements in her diet.
My vet asked me to bring her for a Frutosamine test in a few weeks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top