Eukanubo 4/03

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Good morning! ~O)

It was a nice feeling going to sleep knowing that kitty was solidly in blue territory. This morning, he curled up with me and purred and purred until he got me up at 4:00 AM. His BG was 245, not bad considering he hasn't had insulin in 24 hours. So he ate, rechecked a little while ago, and it went up to just 263, so it sounds to me that there seems to be at least a baseline pancreas activity. So the dilemma was on how much to dose. If I could stay here to monitor I would have shot a 0.4, but because I can't stay long this morning, I chose the most conservative 0.2. Perhaps he may need 0.4 total in a day, so he may wind up being on 0.2 twice a day, but we'll see how the day goes. Here's hoping that he goes to the safe green territory and stays there as long as he wants!

Question: how would I be able to manage dose increments less than 0.2? (for example, wanting to shoot 0.3, or 0.25? The U100 needles look awfully small to eyeball, but the U40s look too big, so how could that be done?
 
Hi HB
Glad that Eukanubo is doing so well
Nice amps without insulin!
Sorry I cant help with the smaller dosing!
have a great day!
 
Goodmorning, HB -

Nice numbers. For the doses between the lines you just have to eyeball it. Some people told me they use a super fine Sharpie and draw extra lines between the existing ones, but when I tried that it just got all messy and confusing. So, I just hold mine in front of a light (usually the one over my stove) and eyeball it the best I can. I was told the most important thing is to be consistent with what you think is .3 or .1 or whatever. Someone said to draw up colored liquid in a syringe and use it as a guide for the future. But, that didn't seem to work for me, either. I'll be honest, it takes me a little while (sometimes :05 or more) before I feel confident with the dose I've drawn, so I draw it up before setting the food down so I'm ready to shoot while he's eating. My husband draws it up in no time, though.

Take care -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Looks like a good day. Great decision on the dose. I've seen some diagrams for micro dosing... the kind that basically just fills the needle. Will look for them later and share. Also, Catannc/Kitten (who just went OTJ) can probably offer up her skills.

Way to go, Euk!
 
Thanks, Jenn. I thought someone said they bought some at Walmart, but when we asked on Sunday, the person at our pharmacy said they didn't exist.
 
I've been very busy today so I haven't had the time to post much, but fortunately I've been able to test, and his numbers are holding up (down?) in the low 100s. Can't be any more pleased! Thanks, as always, for all your support, encouragement and feedback.
 
aaah, to shoot or not to shoot, that is the question...

Just got my PMPS reading at 190. He ate about 45 minutes ago, so some of it may be from food. Not sure whether to risk shooting or not. I see he's been climbing steadily the latter part of the afternoon, so I won't be surprised if by tomorrow he is back in the pink territory. On the other hand, if I shoot, he could drop too much, as he did yesterday, even if I shoot only 0.2 (I don't think I can manage shooting 0.1, the syringe markings are too small). or I could shoot later in the evening, throwing off the schedule.

So, what should I do?
 
HB -

I'd wait an hour or two and see where his numbers go. The food spike may go back down if Mr. P has shown up again. If that's the case, I probably wouldn't shoot unless/until I was comfortable w/ the micro doses < .2u.

What a great (enviable) place to be at! :mrgreen:
 
I would shot...but you have to be comfortable with that. I won't skip & wait til the morning. If you test the next few test are going to be food related.

I posted the link with the doses & markings. If you put some food coloring in some water & practice drawing .1 do you think you could do .1? I know it's hard, but it will help support the pancreas.
 
I saw the pictures but the markings in my syringes seem very crowded with little room to guess-stimate a smaller dose. I'm using the Wal-Mart ReliOn 3/10 cc syringes.
I think I will wait and shoot later, maybe try 18 hour cycles if possible.
 
I know it's hard. We use the same needles.

If you look to see where the black rubbery part is suppose to hit the mark that helps. I used that as my guided in the past. I always drew more then what I needed & squirted it back in the bottle to get the black part to hit the marking either above or below.

I actually took my needles & measured to the picture on the computer.

Just a few tips that might help.
 
Well, I tried, but my eyes are just not very good (it's that age thing), so I'm not sure if I gave a skinny 0.2 or a 0.1. In any case, I waited until he got over 250 before shooting, to minimize the risk of hypo while I'm sleeping, since I gave the shot at 9:10 PM, I know he'll be OK until at least around 3:00 AM, which he would wake me up anyway around that time. I'll make sure there's food left out before going to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top