Eukanubo 4/02

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Good morning!

Overslept a little bit again. Euk woke me up around 3:30 AM demanding food, so I got up, served the food, went back to bed. Thought about testing but decided against it as I was too tired and couldn't think straight. So I'm doing my AMPS 1 hour late, and its 317, he's eating again now. It seems that his insulin action is lasting longer and longer, as he was in the blue range well into the evening last night, he went all the way down to 104 at +8, went up at +11, +12 and +13 (+1 of what would have been post shot), then went DOWN at +3.

So I'm wondering if just going up to .8 will make the insulin last 24 hours without causing a hypo, on the other hand, I can keep just the morning dose and might see it lasting longer and longer on its own. I'm hoping that if he decides to get OTJ, it will be before my trip in 2 weeks but I guess I can't tell Mr. P what to do :smile:
 
I'd be inclined to hold the dose (which may be moot by now), and see if he continues to marathon... if anything, that may indicate a need to cut back ever so slightly. Let's see what he does today - maybe he's got a surprise up his sleeve!
 
If your getting some really good numbers on your current dose I would not increase the dose.
Hold tight on the current dose. If Euk is going longer & longer then if anything you might need to lower the dose.

You are doing a great job!
 
Yikes!

Got home for a +6 check, he's down to 59!! At least he's eating.

Do I panic? Give carbs? Or just feed?
I have to go back to work in about 1 hour, won't be back for a couple more hours, at least.
 
The 59 is a good number, but since you have to leave and have had some long cycles recently-- I would feed some low carb and test in 20 mins and see what his bg is. Then we can go from there.
 
So I'm wondering if just going up to .8 will make the insulin last 24 hours without causing a hypo

I think this morning's cycle answers that question.... Euk must have read it last while you were out, and it looks like he's voting "no". :smile:

Let us know if you get another number...

Carl
 
Rechecked: it's 56. I'm worried because on prior cycles he's dropped for several hours past +6, so I'll feed some dry kibble (not much)
 
Hi HB,
56 and 59 are prety much the same number
If you feed dry, only feed a little
I would be more inclined to give a higher carb wet food
and make sure to leave plenty of food out when you leave again
 
While he eats, I have a question: since most likely he'll read a high number for his PMPS, what should I do about dosing? It would most likely be from the carbs, so would it be OK to skip the dose anyway and see where he's at tomorrow? Tuesdays and Thursdays are difficult for me because I have to leave by 6:30 AM and can't get back until around 11 or 12 (sometimes, but not always, sooner). So I'm also wondering about dosing tomorrow morning.
 
I only fed a little bit of dry food, maybe 15-20 granules at the most, mixed in with his low carb and baby food (to make sure he eats, he loves that stuff). He looks fine clinically but having to leave soon is the worst possible timing.
 
hbs60 said:
I only fed a little bit of dry food, maybe 15-20 granules at the most, mixed in with his low carb and baby food (to make sure he eats, he loves that stuff). He looks fine clinically but having to leave soon is the worst possible timing.

Worst possible timing, lol, they PLAN it that way!
How much longer can you hang around? If you can, get a test on the way out the door.

Can't worry about tonight or tomorrow AM yet, though. If you see a "high number" it will be because of the higher carbs and because of the low numbers. But skipping might not be the best strategy.

Carl
 
I can be here about 20 more minutes, so I'll try to get one more reading. He is eating now so I think we'll be OK, I'm just worried about the insulin keeps working while I'm away and thus he'll drop while I'm not around. So, at least eating would help buffer some of the drop. With any luck, I can be back in less than 2 hours but that's hard to predict.
 
I think the food will ward off the lower numbers over the next couple of hours.

Carl
 
Sorry to jump in here folks - I was sitting by quietly - but that's hard for me...

If he's still holding about the same numbers when you have to leave, I would put out a can of food for him. That way he can free feed while you're gone.
 
For some reason, I couldn't post a reply from my home computer, so here I'm at my office. His recheck was 55, so it's not budging either way. I left plenty of food and he seems fine, so I'll rush back home as soon as I can and see where he's at. If I don't respond right away is either because of computer problems or taking care of an emergency or just at work. Thanks to all!
 
Leaving the food out was the right thing to do. Keep us posted, good job!

Carl
 
Luckily I had my 1:30 appointment canceled so I was able to come back here sooner, he is now at 70!

I'm feeling a little bit better but it sounds like his pancreas is working much better, as I expected him to shoot up into the 300s (or at least into the 100s) and he hasn't made it into the 100s. I'll keep monitoring in case he drops, but it looks pretty flat to me at this point.
 
+ 9 reading is up to 111. I'm delighted that it's been such a mild increase, seems like Mr. P is definitely staying with us for a little while, at least, I hope he stays!
Back to the office to finish paperwork, will be back in a couple of hours, but I feel better that he'll be just fine...
 
I'm back home and his +10 reading is +90, which sounds like a great number, not too low, not too high, probably done with the food spike (not sure about the carbs). I think Mr. P is making himself at home around here, I hope he stays!
Thanks for all the support. I'll keep reporting :-D
 
I have been following you today. Oh my what a day you have had.
This is really good news. I'm so excited for you!!
90 is a perfect number.
I would just test at +12 which would be your PMPS. Then feed him his normal food. Test him after he eats. Go from there. If you dont give insulin tonight & he drops low remember He wont hypo. He doest have insulin in him. So if he drops to the 60's don't give him dry food. He will be okay.

I will be watching for a +12 update.
 
Jenn makes a good point, HB. If you feed him and he's too low to shoot, he might rise from the food and drop back down again from producing his own insulin. And if he's self-regulating this cycle, you won't have to worry about a hypo. The low numbers will be right where he wants them to be.

Carl
 
Are you breathing yet??? Of course everyone was on the edge of their seats for awhile, but those sure were some enviable numbers!!!

So glad you didn't give him an increase. Looks like he wanted to pull a "Hershey" - SCSDDD - Same Cat, Same Dose, Different Day! :lol: Good thing you came home to catch it!
 
+12 reading is 115

Yeay!!!!!

No more insulin for now, let's see how he does this evening...
 
dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

Now is when you start counting the hours since his last shot.

COME ON EUK!!! :RAHCAT
 
That's great! What's your threshold to shoot him at? I say mine is 250, but it's kinda moot when that's his nadir! When you do shoot - either later tonight or tomorrow AMPS, I would maybe drop the dose by .1 or .2 - just so he doesn't go quite so low (unless you don't need any sleep tonight!) - but I'll defer to others who actually have experience at those lower numbers.

Looks like he's really trying to get back to OTJ! What a great feeling that must be!
 
The way it's going, I'm thinking of giving just 0.2 tomorrow morning if BG is more than 250. I will be tied up most of the morning away from home so I won't be able to check, maybe he'll give me a wonderful surprise tomorrow morning. He is doing the same as his first remission, he was low intermittently so sometimes he would get a shot, sometimes he wouldn't, eventually he just didn't need it. I'm definitely not injecting anything tonight, I want to make sure I sleep well for a change :smile:
 
What an eventful day! I was lurking and keeping up earlier, but got busy and am trying to catch up with everyone while waiting for Hershey's numbers to rise. He'd been living in the 300's for the better part of 3 cycles, but now is hanging out in the 30's. One extreme to the other! :shock:

I hope you have a restful night and see great numbers tomorrow!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top