Eukanubo 3/31 AMPS 125!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Could it be? Could it be??? :-D
I overslept this morning so I was a bit late getting up, but getting this reading jolted me awake.

I don't want to believe it. Yeah, I do want to believe it.

He's eating now, so of course I'll check again, but I don't know what I'll do then if it's high(er)
With numbers like this, I would be afraid of shooting any more than 0.2, and I would rather see a number higher than 250 to do so. If it's less than 250, I'll skip the dose.

Just in time for my trip next week. If he gets OTJ by next week, I would be upset about having to board him and the stress causing a relapse.
 
Ok this is very good & what you want....this is how you have to treat this.
You are going to have to do some testing today & you will be off schedue. The out come from this could be very good.
Mr.P is at your house & you have to trap him to stay.

You are going to want to catch the rise. 200 is what you are looking for. When you get to the 200 & is when you will want to shoot. If you are comfortable shotting .20 then I would go ahead with that. Test Euk about every hour after that to make sure he is safe.
You don't want to wait until he is 250...unless you just aren't comfortable shooting into 200.

You are in a very good place. It takes some time right now & a little more testing, but it could have a good out come.... ;-)
 
Its 9:00 AM (around what would be +4) and he's up to 216, he's been eating off and on this morning, and looking really good. I'm nervous about shooting even only 0.2 because some of that would be a food spike, so I'm thinking I'll check again around 11 (his usual +6) and check again and see where he's at. Right now, he's desperate to go out to the yard and I think the exercise will help. He seems quite frisky this morning so I'm a bit concerned that exercising after giving insulin could cause his glucose to drop.
 
You have to do what is comfortable for you. Yes, let him outside to play it will help burn the food off. It could also help keep is BG lower.
 
Wow! Looks like Euko is doing great. Looks like you are on your way to OTJ. Way to go!
 
Checked a reading at his usual +6, it's up to 255. I decided to go ahead and shoot 0.2. With any luck, this is low enough that he won't bottom out, and perhaps it might last 18 hours putting us back on schedule tomorrow morning. Thanks for all the encouragement!
 
Question:
how do I chart now his glucose readings since I gave his dose at his usual +6? Should I start a new line with the 11 AM shoot time and glucose as AMPS or keep entering the numbers at the usual times/slots? What about 5 PM when he would be due for his PM shot? (hopefully he won't need any more until tomorrow, thus resetting the schedule, but I'm not sure how to chart the rest of today).
 
You can look at Hershey's and see how I did it on 3/23. I don't know how other people do it.

Take care -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Wow HB! Good on you guys!!! I know I am late to the party, but this is really great!
Hope he keeps going like this for you!
:-D
 
Wow - what a great day for you guys! Hope it continues!

You can do the spreadsheet as though +13 = +1; +14 = +2... as long as it goes on. Your next preshot I'd start on a new row.

What great numbers! Go Euk!
 
Well, he's creeping up slowly, currently up to 260, +10 after his shot but around +4 usual time. So the dilemma is: do I give another 0.2 dose at +12? Do I wait until tomorrow his usual time? If I give 0.2 tonight, could I give another 0.2 tomorrow usual time? Should I just give 0.4 tomorrow?
I'm inclined to wait until tomorrow as I want to know if he goes much higher than this, I think it makes a difference if he stays in the upper 200s as opposed to going into the 300s, the first scenario would seem to me that his pancreas is working on the background. I'm also concerned that 0.2 is not enough for the 200's reading but 0.4 may be too much, so he may be better off being higher so I can shoot a 0.4 that would last longer. Does this makes any sense? what should I do?
 
My understanding is that when you shoot, that resets the clock and becomes your AM/PM preshot... so you don't shoot at their regular time, as clock as started over. If you need to readjust your shot times, do so by ~ 15-45 minutes per cycle until you get where you want to be. And as long as Euk hasn't been chatting with Hershey, you should be okay. Seems like every time LIbby gets him back on schedule, he goes hypo and then strings out the cycle an extra 4 hours and she starts all over again. :o

I think they do this just to see what kind of response they can get out of us! :lol: Heck, I used to do the same thing, so probably not a stretch!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top