Eukanubo 3/3-3/4 Weekend Edition

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Good morning, fellow beans! ~O)

Gave 0.6 last evening, he seems to have had pretty decent numbers through the night, but he ate at +4, +6, +8 as I wanted to make sure he ate so he wouldn't go hypo. This morning his reading is 425, not bad considering he ate all of that, so I went ahead and gave a full unit as planned. He hasn't dipped into the greens for a while, after all.

I'll go back to bed shortly. I had a rough night for other reasons. Ate some pork mojo (yummy) but it was loaded with sodium so I got up every 2 hours to go to the bathroom (I'm also 52 which doesn't help). It's been abnormally warm and uncomfortable, Molly was chasing a bug sometime in the wee hours of the morning, making all kinds of noises, so I'm beat. I'll check back in a few hours. In the meantime, I hope all of you who live in the storm areas are safe, those storms look terrible!
 
Hope you can get some rest today HB. I’ve had those nights. The kitties don’t care about keeping us up, they can sleep all day ohmygod_smile
Fingers crossed that Eukanubo gets some good safe digits for you today. “nighty night” @-) I-) I-) I-)
 
Hope your morning was restful! I was out of work quite a bit this week - some for Grayson, and some for me - so I did the same thing. Shot & back to bed. What a difference a couple of hours makes!
 
Thanks!

We are cruising nicely today so far, we are just entering the yellow zone at +6 reading of 282. We have both been sleeping off an on all morning. Other than the hassle with the BG readings, I can't think of a better way to spend a Saturday morning. Now, about those chores and errands...
 
+8 reading 324. A bit puzzling that he will be already up when sometimes he keeps dropping in the afternoon. No rhyme or reason. He hasn't eaten since this morning, is sleeping peacefully, no carb exposure. How much variation can I expect from these readings? from 282 to 324 is a 42 point difference, which to me seems big but not drastic.

I have to step out for a while to do errands, and I won't be surprised if his PMPS is actually lower, but, who knows?
 
I'm back home and did a +10 reading, it is lower a 296. I'm sure he hasn't eaten anything while I was away as his food was untouched, so he is eating now.
My theory on why he gets these weird mid cycle spikes is all the food that he eats in the morning spikes before the insulin fully kicks in. I've thought about withholding food during the day once he gets his morning shot and eaten, then feed at night with his PM shot, but it makes me nervous if i'm not here to monitor, what should I do?
 
Maybe send Carl a PM about the feeding scheduled. He's been studying the food/insulin connection.

Eukanubo had a pretty good day.
 
Good morning!

AMPS 362 this morning. I think I'll go ahead with 1 full unit as I think he has room for this, he hasn't been in the blues or greens for a while, unless I'm advised differently...

Have a great day, everybody!
 
The thing that stands out on your chart for me is that since you started the new syringes, you have had higher numbers. Just wonder if you sure have the doses figured correctly. Could you post a picture of your U100 syringe with, say, a .4 dose of something dark enough to see (blue food coloring?) and have people check it for you? Start a new thread and ask.

I think the other thing to look at is the dry food. Anytime he gets into it, his numbers are going to be screwed up. And the doses you give based on those numbers are messed up as are the cycles. You said your other cat vomits on wet and on dry. How about just trying the wet for everyone and see if he/she gets used to it. One of the flavors that often creates problems is beef so you might stay away from it.
 
Thanks,
The syringes I'm using are the Reli-On 3/10 cc 30 gauge 8 mm, with 1/2 marks, there are numbers 5, 10, 15, through 30 subdivided in 1 unit and further subdivided by 1/2 units. For a 0.4 dose, I will pull a full 1 unit on the U100 and have the chart right here on the desk where I draw it, so I think I'm doing OK Since I'm now shooting 1full unit twice a day, perhaps I should go back to the U40s?
Re: dry food. Yes, the other cat would vomit on wet or dry, but when she eats wet it is much more messier to clean up. I'm making sure that he doesn't get hold of it as they eat in separate areas and when she is finished I put it out of reach, and I don't leave it out when I leave the house. Rarely (like this morning), he may sneak in some bites of dry food but I'm there to catch it so he's not eating it all the time. I'm not sure what to do about her vomiting problem, I've tried every possible wet, dry, and prescription diets to no avail. She vomits on the couch, the bed, the floor, anywhere and I need to be able to clean up where I sit and sleep, if it was just the floor I wouldn't care...
Another thing about the wet food, when he relapsed, I was trying out several kinds of food and he was all over the map, so I've been sticking with just one food for the past 2-3 weeks, I wonder if I need to change the food. He is currently on Fancy Feast Beef and Chicken Classic, I have a case of just Chicken Classic that I could start today just to see if that makes a difference, what do you think?
On another note, going beyond the numbers, he has had a fantastic morning, very active, alive, playing like he hasn't in weeks, I attribute it to the higher insulin dose.

Note: I'm trying to attach a couple of pictures of the syringes but for some reason they don't seem to be loading, sorry...
 
hbs60 said:
The syringes I'm using are the Reli-On 3/10 cc 30 gauge 8 mm, with 1/2 marks, there are numbers 5, 10, 15, through 30 subdivided in 1 unit and further subdivided by 1/2 units. For a 0.4 dose, I will pull a full 1 unit on the U100 and have the chart right here on the desk where I draw it, so I think I'm doing OK Since I'm now shooting 1full unit twice a day, perhaps I should go back to the U40s?
...On another note, going beyond the numbers, he has had a fantastic morning, very active, alive, playing like he hasn't in weeks, I attribute it to the higher insulin dose.

HB -

For my eyes, it's easier to continue with the U100s, although when I first upped to 2.0, I went back to the U40s briefly. I just feel like I'm being more accurate with the U100s. But when you're at even increments, you can go either way.

Lu-Ann
 
Went out for a few hours this afternoon, got home a bit late, only to find his PMPS was sky high at 540. I must say I had to poke him several times as it was hard to get a sample, on the other hand he was ravenously hungry as he does when his glucose goes high. He was doing really well today, when I left the house I left some wet food since I didn't know if he would drop further (it seemed that he had plateau'd (sp?) so either my reading was inaccurate or the 540 is a rebound, but I have no idea on how to tell the difference. So, I gave a full unit this afternoon and perhaps tomorrow I can consider increasing the dose to 1.2 in the morning, as I have a slow day so I should be able to check on him. He seemed to be doing so well with a great AMPS and this 540 really throws me off.
 
Could be a bounce. No dry food he could get into? I know I am a nag about this, but with some cats, 3 dry Temptation treats can send bg levels high.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Could be a bounce. No dry food he could get into? I know I am a nag about this, but with some cats, 3 dry Temptation treats can send bg levels high.

Agree with this statement. Once 'discovered' I had left a few Temptation cat treats in a carrier for my civvie and Jax found it. He hit over 500 BG easily enough on that alone.
 
Doubt very much dry food, not that it's impossible, but I make sure it is not accessible. The weird thing is that this morning, he did get hold of some dry food which I caught him red handed, but this was early this morning and his BG didn't shoot up very much. This afternoon, I left for a few hours and I left some wet low carb food out, and I wonder if he had some of it like 1/2-1hr before I got back.
Or maybe he just wants to play games with me...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top