Eukanubo 3/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Active Member
Good (yawn) morning!
Molly has taken the bad habit of waking me up at 3-3:30 AM, what an ungodly hour! The reason being that she is desperately hungry, as I have to get her food out of Euk's reach when I go to bed as I can't monitor to prevent him from getting to it. I would try to ignore it so usually I have to go to the bathroom so I have to get up anyway rather than trying to sleep through it.

Anyway, Euk's dish is empty and his +11 reading is 294, it's good to see yellows again, but I'm getting nervous (maybe unnecessarily) about giving a full unit based on this. He's eating now, so I'll recheck in about 1 hour and then I could proceed if it's up. The 294 while being a nice yellow, it's not really that much lower than the 316 I got last night at around +6, problem is that I don't know if he stayed more or less flat or dropped down further around +7-+8 as I've seen happen before. I have to go to work this morning early and probably won't be back until around +6 or +7. My guess is that if he drops, it wouldn't be any lower than mid 100s and it would be safe anyway, but sooner or later he's going to hypo if his numbers keep getting better.
 
Was able to get away from work to check on kitty, his glucose is a cool 261 at +4, it's good to see the yellows again, who knows, me may even break into blue territory soon!
 
Yep, actually they are getting too good, if that's possible. I just got home and his +10.5 reading is down to 144, which makes me a little nervous since his insulin dose is only 1.5 hours away. Then again, he's been sleeping all afternoon as I see he didn't touch his food, got up and is eating up, so I'm hoping it goes up enough to shoot the full unit. I would hate to keep underdosing him but obviously I don't want to overdose him either. So I'll see what it is at PMPS time and go from there.
 
You might have to catch the rise. Meaning you just wait for the BG to rise then give him insulin. It requires testing about every hour. But it's a good thing!
His numbers do look good!
 
PMPS time is here and he's only up to 188, which means no shot, at least for now. But if I skip completely he'll skyrocket later. So if I do shoot, it would most likely be a token dose (0.2? 0.4?) unless it goes up dramatically. How late could I give a token dose? I do have to work tomorrow but not until 9 so I can shoot I suppose as late as 8 PM but that would screw up my schedule for the following day.
 
Ok so its shot time....you got 188 so make that +12=188. Test him 30 minutes after him eating. If he is going up then give him his shot. If he comes down the no shot. Anything after 30-40 minutes is going to be food induced which you don't want to go by that BG number.
I just keep testing when Baxter is in this situtation. Until I get 200 then you dose to that. Yes you will be off schedule everyone here will help get you back on schedule.
Yes it a bit if a hassle, but a good spot to be in.
 
It did go up from 144 at +10 to the 188 at +12 (PMPS), I'll keep checking until he hits 200, but how much? Is it safe to give his regular 1 unit dose?
 
OK, it's +13 (one hour after his usual PMPS) and it's up to 258, so I can shoot, but, how much? Is the full unit safe to give?

PS: I don't like using the 911 because it's not a major emergency, I just need an answer now, what other icon should I use to flag a post for a fast response?
 
I went ahead and gave 0.4 units, hopefully that's low enough that he won't hypo but high enough that he won't spike too much tonight, of course I'll be monitoring and feeding if necessary.
 
I am not good at dosing advice.

At the your subjust after the date add the words need dosing advice. go to the top of the first post & push edit. Then you can add that.
If it 1 hr after food then it will be food high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top