Eukanubo 3/23

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Active Member
Good morning :-(
Not much change with Euk. Refused to eat anything at all yesterday. He is still alert and follows me around, last night he came to bed to bond me me and even purred a little. This morning he is about the same, but he actually ate a little...dry food, refused any other food. At this point I won't worry about it. I did give insulin last night and checked his glucose, he got 0.4 units and the glucose has been in the 400s, so I think this is safe as it's a minimal dose.
I'm bracing myself for the labs. I expect to hear that he has renal failure, possibly advanced. In that case I'll make reservations at the Rainbow Bridge for Saturday, as I can't keep doing this any more. Sometimes it's better to let nature take its course rather than keep postponing it, so I'm trying to get myself as ready as I can for that moment. I'll keep y'all posted. As usual, thanks for your support.
 
Hi HB,
Please try to stay positive
If he is alert and still active that is a wonderful sign
Maybe he just wants some different food, or this is his way of getting what he really wants(dry food!)
Good luck today with the tests, I will keep you both in my thoughts and prayers
 
We do what we have to for our fuzzy love's best interest. If that means caring for them, like the diabetes, then we do so. If it means helping them cross the Rainbow Bridge (the most difficult decision to ever make), we do that as well. You and Eukanubo are in my thoughts and prayers and I hope for the best.
 
Update:

Labs came back, kidneys, liver, hemoglobin are fine. Good news, so far, but why he is not eating? The vet was at surgery so she couldn't go into detail, but through the tech she relayed that she feels that he needs to go stay in the clinic so he can get regulated, maybe next week, in the meantime, I should increase his insulin dose to at least 1 unit bid EVEN IF HE'S NOT EATING. They understand my concerns about hypo if he's not eating, but truthfully, I've given him 0.4 units twice yesterday and he's done fine and it doesn't seem to even lower the glucose, so I think they have a point. As far as diet, they want me to try the canned M/D diet, so I'll pick up some cans, at this point I think it's worth trying as long as he eats something.
So, I'll cancel my Rainbow Bridge reservations for now, but his condition is still a mystery to me. It's exactly as it was last year, exactly the same time of the year, except that back then his diabetes was in remission but he stopped eating for several weeks and then recovered, now he's doing exactly the same except for being on insulin and poorly controlled.

Gee, I thought cats were low-maintenance pets...not that I'm complaining, but I'm exhausted from all these emotions.
 
Hi HB, Thats great news about the labs.
I would not give 1u of insulin if hes not eating.
If hes nauseous, he would not be eating much. I can't remember now if they gave him something for nausea or not.
I wouldn't let him go to long without eating, if you have to you can syringe feed him.
Try the stage 1 chicken flavor baby food, a lot of cats will eat baby food when they won't eat anything else, its soft and palatable.
Have you tried giving him just a little tuna or tuna juice on top of his regular food?
I'm glad he ate a little dry food for you, not ideal for the diabetes, but if thats all he'll eat right now, you'll just have to expect higher BG readings.
Good luck, keeping Eukanubo in my thoughts and prayers.
 
So glad to hear the results - and what a relief it must have been for you - better news than I know you were expecting. Someone earlier suggested some baby food. At this point, like we all do, I'd get anything into him that he'll eat. My dog Murphy lived on Happy Meals from McDs the last two weeks of her life!

So glad to hear you cancelled... no need to do anything sooner than necessary. Euk has been through a lot, and thrown you a lot of curves, but it seems he's not ready to go anywhere just yet!

...but I would definitely try anything and everything he might eat.

I know it's been stressful - just hang in there! You guys will pull through this!
 
Great News!

Do you give Euk pepcid? If he is nauseous it might help.

Once again, Great News!
 
THIS IS GREAT NEWS!!! Now we kind of know what we are working with. Everything is going to be okay. You have all of us to help you get through this. We need to get Euk to eat!!! Its not good for cats to not eat it strains the liver.

He isnt going to get regulated at the vets office. Sorry to be so forward. Its not going to happen. He will be stressed & his BG will be higher. They won't be actaul BG numbers. Post this in health board you will get all the same answers.
The M/D has 13% carbs. Its going to raise his BG.
If you want to feed it to Euk ask the vet these questions about the M/D....
-How many carbs are in it? You know how many carbs a FD should have from all the research you have done. Most likely the vet won't be able to answer the question. My vet couldnt he is older & should know.
-What are the special ingredents that seperate M/D from other foods? There isnt special medicine in the food.

My suggestion would be to go to Petsmart or your pet store. Pick up a variety of different low carb foods. Different brand, different flavors. Just not to much fish varietys. Alot of them.....you can always return the ones you don't use. I had to do this in the beginning....

Here is my other suggestion try the liver shake. Its suppose to do wonders. I am going to PM the receipe to you. Maybe it will work.

I hope this helps. Remember maybe you should post in Health about getting Euk to eat. There are some really good experienced people that will help.

GO CANCEL THAT APPOINTMENT....NOW!!!! ;-)
 
To answer the questions, yes, he is on Pepcid, and he was also given a mirtazapine dose at the vet 2 days ago, he is suppossed to get his next dose tomorrow afternoon. I'm planning to up the dose from 0.4 to 0.6, then to 0.8 and see how he does, after all, the weekend is here so I should be able to monitor. I wonder if the high glucose is what's upsetting his stomach?
He looks much perkier today than yesterday, but...not eating. I think he just wants to drive me crazy and looks that he's doing a great job...
 
Forgot to ask:
any contraindications to trying something like Ensure/Boost/SustaCal? I think feeding liquid food may be more successful, and at least it's worth a try, but have no idea if there's anything in these formulas that would be toxic. Anybody know?
 
hmmm just did a +5 reading and it's up to 522. I know it's from the carbs he ate this morning, but it's hard to argue against increasing his dose since he's been in the 400s all day without eating, and 0.4 units is clearly not touching him.
 
hbs60 said:
Forgot to ask:
any contraindications to trying something like Ensure/Boost/SustaCal? I think feeding liquid food may be more successful, and at least it's worth a try, but have no idea if there's anything in these formulas that would be toxic. Anybody know?

GNC has a pet line its sold at Petsmart. Its a liquid kitten milk. It might not be what you need, but its a start. I didn't see sugar in it.
http://www.gnc.com/product/index.jsp?pr ... 3.10817259


Post this in health because I remember there being a liquid based drink for cats a memeber got at the pet store that is like the human Ensure/Boost. My concern with Ensure would be the the sugar or sugar alochol in it. Sugar Alochol has many different names & is toxic.

Hope this helps.
 
hbs60 said:
hmmm just did a +5 reading and it's up to 522. I know it's from the carbs he ate this morning, but it's hard to argue against increasing his dose since he's been in the 400s all day without eating, and 0.4 units is clearly not touching him.

Keep in mind when you stop the dry food his BG is going to drop. It could drop fast. So I would not increase the dose.
Now with his BG being high in the 400s & now 500s you really want to test for the ketones. They can happen fast. Do you have the strips to test? You can get them at the pharmacy.
 
hbs60 said:
Forgot to ask:
any contraindications to trying something like Ensure/Boost/SustaCal? I think feeding liquid food may be more successful, and at least it's worth a try, but have no idea if there's anything in these formulas that would be toxic. Anybody know?

Our grocery store has a diabetic section in it. I think there's something like Ensure that's there, but I've never really paid too close of attention to it. That might be an option.

Are you testing for ketones?????
 
I wouldn't try the Ensure, Glucerna, etc. even for diabetics. The regular ones contain sugar and the diabetic versions contain artificial sweeteners, some contain Xylitol or other sugar alcohols which can be toxic to cats and dogs.
Maybe your vet stocks some kind of liquid meal replacement that you could use? Have you tried any Nutrical or similar paste? That will get some calories and nutrients in him and might stimulate his appetite.
I would try the baby food or liver shake as Jenn suggested or look at ingredient label on KMR kitten milk replacement or Whiskas cat milk or similar product and see if they contain sugar and try that.
 
He's eating! He's eating!
Got the baby food and seems to like it. It's a relief. Now, what about the carb content?
 
OK, this may be outside the scope of what anybody may know, but here it goes: I'm struck by the seasonal element of kitty's sickness, last year he did exactly the same as this year, except that he wasn't on insulin and was on remission. So, I'm speculating, maybe this time of the year there may be a type of plant or weed that grows outside that he might munch on that makes him sick? I'm in Orlando, FL, the grass is a lovely blend of crabgrass, St. Augustine, Zoyzia, and God knows what else. He doesn't go out much, only 1-2 times a week depending on the weather and only for short amounts of time, and he does munch on grass. Molly also does the same thing but she never seems to be adversely affected by it. any thoughts?
 
YAY!! Hes eating! So glad the baby food worked.
Sorry, I don't know the carb content but I think its almost pure protein, just pureed meat, so I wouldn't think it was astronomically high.
Interesting about your theory about the time of year and this recurring again at same time of year. We're in Florida too, but north of you near Gainesville and I know the pollen is off the charts for grasses, juniper and cedar right now. I know this because I have terrible allergies; a lot better now than they used to be because I get immunotherapy injections every month and have for 7 years. Henry seems to have seasonal allergies or food allergies but his result in little bumps breaking out above his eyes, cheeks and around ears and a lot of pawing at his face and licking his paws and coat a lot.
 
Well, he's been eating very well this afternoon, the baby food definitely did the trick. I'm mixing in some of his usual food and he seems OK with it. Either the Pepcid/Mirtazapine is kicking in or maybe he was just protesting about eating the same thing every day. Interestingly, I did a PMPS now and is 399, down from the 522 he had earlier, which I attribute to the carbs this morning. So I'll shoot 0.6 instead of 0.4, and if keeps doing well, I will increase to 0.8 and eventually to 1.0. In looking back, I think I might have been too cautious when I started getting blues and yellows, I think he would have been fine if it wasn't for this unexpected turn of events.
The vet wants him in on Monday just for 1 day to do a curve. I really don't think it's necessary but I want to keep the possibility open since I don't know how he's going to do.
 
Good job getting him to eat.

I think you might be on to something if this happens at the same time every year. It's worth exploring.
 
Thats very good his PMPS is a lot better. You have room to move up the dose some. I would maybe just move up .02 or so at a time to make sure he is going to continue to eat.
So glad hes feeling better and eating well.
I understand what you mean about keeping options open at vet just in case.
 
+5 reading is up to 424, but he's been eating, rather well, I might add, even a couple of times spontaneously. He has definitely perked up and though the glucose isn't the best, he's eating and I'm happy.

What a nerve-racking couple of days! I'm going to bed.
G'nite and thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top