Eukanubo 2/29

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Good morning,
AMPS this morning was 330, so much better! Too bad he's been making noise since 3:30 AM trying to get me up for a feeding (I refused). Shot 0.6, will try to stick with that dose for a couple of cycles but this is all so unpredictable. I wonder if he metabolizes differently at night than in the day. If I give a good dose in the morning, his bg reading is too low to give the same evening dose, but if I under-dose, he tends to get too high readings. Should he be on a different insulin, maybe? If so, which one?

I'm also concerned that I have a couple of trips out of town coming up and have no idea what to do about his care. The vet is very close and he's boarded there before, they are just great, but I'm not sure if they will do this microdosing as I've been doing here. I have visions of them giving 1 unit twice a day and the cat going into hypo, especially since I don't think they have anybody there at night or Sundays. On the other hand, I know I could get somebody to come into the house, but the cat will be completely alone all day with no monitoring whatsoever, besides there's the trust issue of letting a stranger into the home. One trip is in April, the other one I don't have a specific date, so I have time. I wish he was predictably regulated so I could just say "give 1/2 unit twice a day and he'll be fine" but we are not at that point. Thoughts?
 
Moning HB, ~O)

You are probably correct that they will give either .5, or 1u. Wish I had an answer for you as I am in that position as well. Vacation coming soon and I will need to board him. I think, I would take my chances with the vet than a 'pal' that may or may not do the right thing. IDK. Wish I had a better answer for you but I'm in the same predicament.
 
Hi HB
Nice amps
understand about the going away and not knowing what to do
In a perfect world we would all live close so we could all chip in
Not sure what I am going to do either...
 
Nice AMPS!

Another idea...ask a vet tech to house/Eukanubo sit. Yeah, I know that means someone in your home...but they are more likely to do as you wish and Eukanubo gets to stay in the environment he knows.
 
I'm not sure about letting somebody stay here, what I'm thinking is to have the vet give what I would say is a "safe default dose" which seems will be 0.5. That way they won't go crazy with figuring out the 0.6 dose, he might be under-dosed but won't go hypo on that dose (hopefully), and if he gets high readings from stress, they can adjust the dose and it would be for only a few days.

Now, what about insulin choice? Nothing against PZI, but I'm wondering if because of his day/night cycles seeming so different, would a different choice be more appropriate?
 
+4 reading is only down to 320. Not sure what to make of it. He ate a full 3 oz can this morning, which is unusual, over an hour or so after the shot, he was done eating around 6:30 or so (he gets his shot at 5:00 AM). I would hope that he did get some insulin in because at least it is not rising as it would if he had skipped a shot.

I think that, in addition to ECID, I can also say: SCDF (Same Cat, Different Day) If nobody else have thought of that acronym, I'll be happy to claim credit :mrgreen:
 
I like it, SCDF!

As to your insulin, we never discourage people from switching. You just can't tell what a given cat will do on a given insulin. We have cats who switched and did beautifully. We have cats who were bouncing on PZI, switch and continue to bounce on the shed insulins.
 
Morning HB. I love your acronym. It’s so damn true!!!

I wish I had a good answer for the travel/kitty sitter thing. For over a year now my partner Tom and I haven’t left the house together for more than 12 hours.
We have to do things separately, which sucks but we are dealing. We had a fab house and cat sitter, but her mom is very ill now so I can’t ask her to learn to shoot insulin and put any more stress on her. You just don’t want anyone in your house either, so it is a real problem. I guess if we had an emergency, we’d have to board them or take the cats with us.

It certainly is a lifestyle change...
 
Oops, my acronym should have been SCDD (same cat, different day) I guess I wasn't fully awake when I posted that.

I'm here briefly for a noon check, his BG +7 reading is 308, I have no idea why his curve is so flat today, but at least the numbers aren't horrible. The SCDD syndrome strikes again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top