Eukanubo 2/21-2/22

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Good morning! ~O)

Kitty (actually, both of them) has the bad and annoying habit of getting me up at 3:00 AM for food, of course I oblige, I was too sleepy to check a glucose then, so I go back to sleep in the couch for 1.5 hours, so I get up again for AMPS time, and it's 419. I don't know if it would be any lower if I refrain from feeding him, but that's not really an option because he will torment me until I cave in and whip out the food (yawn).
It does seem that he's having good daytime cycles, and I need to work in the evenings. Of course I've been underdosing, so if I get similar numbers today, I may bump up the evening dose to 0.5 units. I have to go to work in about 1 hour, but I'd rather go back to sleep...
 
Re: Eukanubo 2/21

Morning HB, ~O)

The saying around here is not to feed 2 hrs before shot time so any spike caused by food will be out of system.
Hope you and Eukanubo have a great day!
 
Re: Eukanubo 2/21

Any numbers you get within 2 hours after feeding are food related and not used for basing doses. Sort of like giving a candy bar to a diabetic person then shooting insulin for the candy instead of for the whole cycle. Make sense?

I totally understand about the demand to be fed, though. They make it very difficult to resist, in fact have it down to an art for you to comply with their demands! :lol:

Have you considered a timed feeder, something that allows them their late night/early morning snack but will have over two hours to clear before AMPS?
 
Re: Eukanubo 2/21

We feed boiled chicken chunks (about 1/4 inch pieces, maybe 3 as a portion) as a snack overnight. Even if we get within the 2 hour period they haven’t seemed to effect our amps numbers in the past, I think because there isn’t much carbohydrate in plain chicken. I keep some frozen chunks (they thaw by the time I need them) next to the bed in a lock and lock container, and just have to roll over and open it when snacks are requested :lol:
 
Re: Eukanubo 2/21

Thanks for the suggestions. I was able to break away from work and did a +5, which looks really good at 251.
As for the feeding, it's a bit complicated for other reasons. I suspect that kitty may have dementia due to his age (he's around age 14), and he does have strange behavior around eating. He is obviously hungry but he needs to be directed to his dish, I have to stand there while he eats, I don't know if it's separation anxiety or that he doesn't know what he's supposed to do. Sometimes he won't eat unless I spoon feed him. This doesn't happen all the time, but I'm concerned that the food will simply sit there and he won't be able to figure out that he needs to go to it in order to eat. Then again, he may be one supremely spoiled brat :lol: and I may just need to put my foot down. Next time it happens I'll try to get a reading prior to feeding to see where he is at as far as his glucose readings.
 
Re: Eukanubo 2/21

It seems we are getting into some sort of stable pattern, at least for daytime. He seems to hit a nadir around +6 or +7 (11 AM to 12 noon) at 200 and seems to stay there for a few hours, right now he is 198 at +10 (3 PM. Not exactly sure what to make of these numbers (he ate a little around noon but I don't think this was enough to influence the numbers either way. While I would love to see the nadir numbers around 150, these numbers are vastly improved from a few weeks ago when he was in the 300s most of the time.
 
Re: Eukanubo 2/21

Great PMPS: 302!
To my knowledge, he hasn't eaten anything since noon but is now hungry and eating. He did go out to the yard, munched on some grass, then threw up a little (very normal for him when he does that).
So, my guess, based on prior readings, I will give 0.5 units tonight as I'll be here to monitor.
 
Good morning! ~O)

Uneventful day yesterday, very pleased with his numbers. He did the 3:00 AM waking me up routine, so of course I obliged (I know, I know). I did check a reading and it was 308, not all that bad considering it was a +10 reading. So, for AMPS I get a reading of 404, I know part of it is the food spike, part of it is just that the insulin is wearing off, but even looking at the 404 reading, the AMPS seem to be trending down slightly and I'm happy.

He's been looking REALLY good lately, his coat looks shinier and he's been putting on some of his weight back. Ahh, slow and steady progress!
 
Morning HB ~O)

Eukanubo has you wrapped around his little paw. :smile:
Please try to hold off on the feed as it seems like it's habit. Maybe you can hold him off with a few low carb treats? You don't want him to come in low and you never know that he came in low, then shoot based on the food induced AMPS. Also, I think, if you were to hold off then Eukanubo would be in higher numbers for fewer hours as the PZ would have more time to kick in. Ultimately it keeps him safer and under the renal threshold (250-270) longer and that we all worry about!

Have a great day today!
 
Folks often joke about our kitties having us trained. There's a grain of truth to that thought. :lol:

Have you thought of shifting shot time to 3/3 to closer match Eukanubo's schedule? :?: Or is this even an option with your work schedule?
 
I'm right there with you- Sneakers wakes me up anytime between 2:30- 5:30 wanting food. If I don't respond to her touch on my eyes, then she pulls out the claws. Hide from the claws, she stick her face as close to mine as she can and sneezes right into it- WOW that gets me up!

I have learned to test her while the cube is defrosting in the micro. She will sit on her cushion and let me poke her ears. Then I mix water into her chicken and stumble back to bed. She has become quite the little piggy lately :lol: .
 
3 AM-3 PM won't work as my work is unpredictable and confined to daytime, except that Tuesdays and Thursdays I have to start at 7 AM. I've been thinking maybe 6 AM-6 PM may be a compromise, will eating 3 hours before still affect the result as much?
The reason I've been doing 5 AM is because he can get VERY combative in the morning so I want to make sure I have enough time to do the testing and injecting before going to work. Having said that, lately he has been very good. He is very hungry in the mornings, so I serve the dish, he starts eating and doesn't care about anything else, so I go ahead and poke, test, and inject while he eats and he doesn't even notice. So, maybe 6 AM is not too unreasonable even if he eats at 3 AM. Thoughts?

As far as his readings, I seems to notice a definite downward trend, his +6 today is 151, not at all dangerous, the drop doesn't seem too steep although he may still hit his nadir in an hour or two. I plan to keep his evening dose at 0.5 units for the next few days because I don't want to confront the decision of how much to shoot if his AMPS is much lower than it's been, and try a higher evening dose Friday, so I can monitor on Saturday.
 
+7 is down to 118. Definitely there's a downward trend over the past few days. Unfortunately, I have to be back to work in 1 hour so I can only check one more reading just before going, but I believe this is as pretty much where it flattens out on the bottom of the curve. I'm not worried about hypo because I haven't changed the dose and he is still over 100, but don't know how else to interpret these numbers.
 
Actually, he just got up and is eating very comfortably, he'll be fine. I do worry too much, not that it would be all that unusual :-D
 
Good evening,
I just got home from work and did his PMPS at his usual time even if I was planning to shoot his dose later (he's eating just now as I'm testing him), and it reads 205, so I'm not sure what to do. I'm thinking of shooting 0.25 instead of 0.5, I could wait an hour and test again, and if higher consider shooting 0.5, or should I just shoot 0.25 regardless? Or maybe a better question might be, under what circumstances should I consider shooting 0.5? 300? 350? 400? (not that I think he'll go that high in just 1 hour, but his good readings seem to make the decision process more difficult. Ditto for tomorrow morning, what do I do with a good reading but no availability to stay home to monitor?
 
I'm not sure I understand when you talk about 1 shot per cycle. He gets 1 unit in the mornings, but the afternoon readings have been lower so I've been giving 0.25 or 0.5 units. But yes, he is at +11.5 and he is eating. I was planning to re-adjust the schedule from 5 AM-5PM doses to 6AM-6PM due to the 3 AM feeding issue. So, what should I do?
 
Well, he was rising but near 200. Usually that means a little reduction. But it was early so he may have gone up. Now you can't be sure because any number will be food induced for 2 hours.

The road to remission can be bumpy. :-D If he is going to throw low ps numbers, can you find a way to avoid feeding until you have a number you are sure is rising? Worked today because you had earlier numbers. If you hadn't, though, you'd be in a real predicament: not sure whether he was rising or if it was the food.

The only way I know to consider the dose is to look at what has happened in the past few cycles. For instance, if he is at 300, when he was there before, what did you shoot and how did that work out?
 
Thanks! Looking at the numbers, and looking back back when he had his first remission 2 years ago, it looks to me that he is getting very sensitive to the insulin and/or it is lasting longer in his system. It seems to me that I can't rely just on the particular reading I get, but by what has preceded the last day or so. Being that he's been running wonderfully low numbers all day, I think it's best to just give a token dose of 0.25. I'll try to refrain from feeding if I need to recheck.
oops, complicating factor, we have a storm coming (I'm in FL). He is terrified of lighting, so I'm sure that will get his numbers up tonight...
 
I like the .25u dose for tonight.

What I meant was, you were asking if you gave him .25u and it wasn't enough you would give him more, or did I read that wrong. If you give a dose and it doesn't do much you are stuck with it until the next dose but you live and learn.
 
No, I wasn't planning to give an extra dose, I was wondering what the evening dose would be. Anyway, it might be a moot point. We have a little storm going on right now and he is hiding under the bed with no earthly way to extricate him until he feels safe. So I might actually have to skip the dose if I can't dose him by 6 PM or so...I can't dose any later than 6 AM tomorrow and I want to keep it 12 hours apart.
 
He's been hiding right next to me without me noticing! The storm hadn't fully hit yet, so I was able to recheck the glucose, and it was 348, not unexpected after 1 hour of feeding. As I was preparing the 0.25 dose, we started to get some thunder, I poked him with the needle and he hissed and growled, so I grabbed him, put him on a chair, held him and although he was squirming, I was able (I think) to get the shot in as the rain fell and the thunder clapped. It's probably the most exciting shot I've given so far! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top