Eukanubo 2/20

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Member Since 2010
Good morning!
This mornings AMPS is 421, which is not as bad as I thought it would be after a day like yesterday. Because of yesterdays drop, I'll only give 1 unit, I will have to go to work around +3 or +4 but will be able to stop by around +6 or +7, not ideal but I think that 1 unit so far has been safe, I'll check it before leaving for work.
 
Good Morning HB! ~O)

The 1u sounds like a good call. Looking forward to the update when you get home to check. Have a great day today.
 
You guys are up early! It's good to not be alone in the wee hours of the morning!
+2 reading 397, that seems like a nice, smooth drop, I think we'll be fine today.
 
What the...?????

+ 3 reading of 524??????

I don't think he sneaked in some dry food, but I never know. He did eat quite heartily this morning, then demanded some more, but it was all low carb food. At least I don't have to worry about hypo, if that's the case.
 
Decided to recheck: 379, that makes more sense, but why did I get the weird reading?
It's hard to trust these meters (current one is RelyOn Confirm).
aaargggh! I'm off to work now, whichever reading is correct, I won't worry about hypo. (is there a smiley for scratching my head?)
 
Welcome to the Breakfast Club HB.

One wise member on this board told me to always get a retest on a number that comes out of left field. One day I cracked open a can of gravy because my meter read something ridiculously low... Jax would have had a field day if I didn't retest. ohmygod_smile
Wonky number? Restest is a must.
I believe that 379 is right. You may have gotten too much blood on the strip which gave you that crazy 524.
379 is a nice safe drop. He's looking good.
 
Occasionally a strip can be bad. When I get a really wonky number like that I try to test again (I always scoop the blood droplet onto my finger nail, and if the droplet is large enough, I can test twice off the same drop). Food for thought. :-D
 
He fed around 5:00 AM, then again around 7:00 AM, the weird number was around 8:00 AM. Does the size of the blood drop makes that much difference? I never seem to get a consistent drop, sometimes I get just enough, sometimes I get a big, fat drop, only rarely do I get so little that the meter gives me an error message.
 
Yes. With a ReliOn Confirm that can happen if the blood sample is too large. You just have to make sure it 'sips' up the sample..you should see the blood running up into the strip quickly, "Sipping", if not the read can be off. Same thing can be said in reverse, blood sample too small...same darn thing. A low read will be given and not necessarily that E-7 error.
 
If I get a really crazy off the chain high number like that, I always retest, its usually wrong and sometimes when I retest the number will be 200-250 points lower. Scary!
I've found if the drop of blood is too large or if the strip "double sips", (a little is drawn onto strip and then you slightly move your hand and it draws the rest of the blood in) I will get a wonky number, usually high.
379 sounds like its correct, within reason after eating.
 
+6 reading: 245. Not perfect but not hypo and not too high. I'm not sure if he hit his nadir at +5, if he's hitting it now, or will be at +7. Does the Nadir time change with the dose? I'll try to check another one at +7
 
Some cats have nadirs that move around. I doubt it's a one-on-one correlation with the dose. Too many other variables play a part.

You do know that would be too easy to understand and predict, right? I've yet to meet a cat that fits that criteria! :lol:
 
+7 reading is 202!!!
I think that's fantastic and almost where I would like it (I think I want a nadir of around 150 but I'm sure you can give me some better ideas if needed). Judging by today's numbers alone so far, I think I could have given him 1.25 units this morning but certainly not 1.5 because of what happened yesterday. He is sleeping, hasn't been eating much, this is his normal sleep time so I don't want too low of a nadir to hit when he is sleeping, not eating, and with me at work unable to make him eat.
 
+7 reading 201, that's weird (but good), he's been flat since the last hour. He just got up and ate some and is looking good.
 
These numbers are great! Glad to see the dose was perfect. Great call on that one. Hope that surf keeps going on! :-D
 
Hmmm...

It's +11 and he read 188, rechecked and it is 192. I've been gone most of the afternoon and just got home. He was hungry and was starting to eat when I checked his glucose, not sure what to make of this prolonged nadir. I plan to check in 1 hour to decide whether to dose or not, but if I do dose, I expect to keep the dose very low if he is only like 300 or less, any thoughts?
 
In looking over Eukanubo's spreadsheet, if it were Poopy, I'd stick with 1u for a few cycles to see if he settles into the dose (I understand I tend to be a bit aggressive). You're not getting bad numbers on the 1u, and it seems anything over drops him too much. If you're of the conservative mind, perhaps drop to .75u - .8u for tonight. Bottom line, I'd try to stick to a set dose for a few cycles to get him off the mini roller coaster.
 
I'm fearful of giving any more than 0.5 if he's 200-300, if he's still under 200 I would give no more than 0.25. I do expect it to go up a little since he ate and so far I've been successful in keeping him away from Molly's high carb food. It seems to me that he is responding better to the insulin since I decided to stick with one food.
 
OK, PMPS time is here, and he comes in at 275. GREAT number but it's one of those that makes it difficult to decide on a dose. After much thought, I think I'll go with 0.25 units, just curious to see how much of a difference this would really make and minimizes the risk of a hypo. I'll keep y'all posted.
 
I'm kind of with Teresa on this one .75u-.80u but ultimately it all rests on your comfort level! He's your baby and you know him best. On 2/18 evening cycle you gave .5 on a 263 and it just wasn't enough to get him through the cycle. Will you be home to check on him?

He's done astoundingly well on this cycle. Amazing really.
 
By all means, please do shoot what you are comfortable with! :-D I would feel horrible if you shot higher just because I suggest keeping him at a set dose for a bit.

If you feel more comfortable with a lower dose, I'd still recommend keeping him at a set dose so he has a chance to settle. The goal is to get him with a nice smile cycle, with shootable PSs. Ideally, all numbers would be under 250. (Still trying to get there myself! LOL)
 
The reason 2/18 was different is that he dropped all the way to 70 and went back up to 263, but today he dropped to just 202, and has pretty much stayed there without going up too much, which suggests to me that the insulin is still active. I don't know if my thinking is correct but I would rather err on under-dosing, especially after the last few days. That said, I truly appreciate all your help, as it can get lonely not being able to sound off and share what's going on, people in my life don't get why I make such a "fuss" but that's another rant for another day.
 
Thanks!

+2 reading is 298, not bad at all, and the 0.25 I gave probably hasn't kicked in yet. Of course, it remains to be seen if it's going to be smooth riding or whether we'll plunge again, stay tuned!
 
If it's any consolation, my co-workers think I'm a nut case after spending $$$ on glaucoma surgery for one dog, two surgeries and chemo for another, a tri-pod cat, 2 FIV and 1 Leukemia+ cat, vet opthamologists to save 5 eyes on 4 different cats (all of which the vet recommended removal), plus the annual shots, pet taxes, ... and now insulin & supplies. I should just keep the vet on retainer!

Just think of all the wasteful things we could've spent our money buying!!! Instead, we've got someone (or more) to greet us when we come home, to spend quality time with, to keep us company when we're sick, to play with when they decide it's playtime (usually in the middle of the night, on the center of the bed!), etc.etc.

But once I was paid the hugest compliment by another friend - who clearly was a pet person. She said, "When I die, I want to be reincarnated as one of your pets!". If anything can make you feel good about the way we love our babies, that was it!!!
 
307 at +4, seems pretty flat to me. I suspect it might have been something like 375 if I hadn't given the 0.25 units.
I have to work very early tomorrow (leave at 6:30 to start working at 7:00 AM) so I don't know if I'll be able to stay awake for a +6 but I doubt very much that he'll drop much, so, have a great evening, everybody, thanks for all the support!
Tomorrow I'm planning to give 1 unit if his AMPS is 400, maybe 0.75 if it's 300-400, 0.25 if it's less than 300, reason being that if he is in the 200s, he doesn't have that much room to drop and I can't check on him until around noon, if he's higher he has more of a buffer to drop, does that make sense? I'm starting to think that he may really need 0.75 units bid but I want to see how he does over the next few days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top