Eukanubo 2/19

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbs60

Active Member
Good morning!

Kitty woke me up around 4:00 AM demanding food, did a check and it was 429...darn! I think he got hold of Molly's dry food. I went ahead and gave 1.5 units at 5:00 AM, he is now at +3 and reads 168, too steep for my liking. He is fine but is pestering me again for food, I think because of the fast drop. I'm not too concerned that he'll hypo being that he started that high, but it looks that we are not off this rollercoaster yet...we were just in a plateau (did I mention that I hate rollercoasters?).
 
Not trying to ring the alarm here but that is a tremendous drop. The last time you shot a 1.5 on 2/16 its looks af if nadir hit around +7. Seems that he normally hits around +5, no? Also you shot 1.5 on 2/10 and had to miss the next shot due to the dose.
Do you think he won't plummet further? What is your thought process if you don't mind sharing...
 
Re: my thought process... I shot higher today because he had a glucose over 400 AND I was planning to stay around to monitor. the one time I skipped was due to a low reading of 195 and it turns out I should have given something as he shot to over 600 that day. It's a balancing act, trying to account for things like my availability to monitor, the readings, whether he is eating or not, and sometimes it's hard to know before hand what to do. Anyway, it's time for another check, I'll be back soon...
 
+5 reading down to 91, time for a meal. Sometimes his nadir is at +5, sometimes it can be as late as +7, it's always hard to tell. I guess I won't ever give 1.5 again :sad:
 
Thank you for your answer. Jax seems to respond to insulin the same way Eukanubo does so it helps to understand the 'why' behind the dose. Perhaps *you* can also help *us*. So that is why I asked to understand the reasoning behind it. Like Eukanubo he cannot skip a dose or he will go into orbit. I try to give enough of a dose that will take him low but within a shootable PS because he simply cannot afford to miss a PS either.

You are correct in saying it is a balancing act for sure!
 
The tricky part is figuring out that the high number might be because of the dry, not a "real" number. It's like not shooting a bounce.n

Any way you could get the other cat to eat wet? Or have the dry down for a limited observed time?
 
It's sure a frustrating hit or miss. On 2/16 his AMPS was 426 and he got the exact same dose as today, and didn't drop as much, he even got another 1.5 that evening although the next day is when he ran low numbers. Good thing is that I'm here, he looks fine, he had an appetite and ate quite a bit, although low carb, I don't expect to have an emergency but I have the Karo right here next to me.
 
I see what you are saying about 2/16...this is what I'm thinking if you would allow me to brainstorm with you...

AM cycle on 2/16 he seems to do well on the 1.5u but the thing that caught my eye was the late nadir at +7. A late nadir could indicate a dose being too strong. Quickly going over your SS it seems that he normally comes in around +5 but admittedly there isn't enough data to really confirm this. Then on the PM cycle of 2/16 the 1.5 dropped him to 244 for AMPS in which you reduced to 1.25u. I would have done the same thing...but that cycle went a little scary as you had to keep him from going too low by giving high carb with the low midcycle. He seemed that he was ready to skyrocket off those carbs but you caught it with that 1u which accounts for the early 400's in that PM 2/17 cycle.

You gave 1u again (as I would have) on 2/18 am cycle and had a really nice run but at the end you went with .5 on that 263 2/18PMPS. This resulted in simply not enough insulin which brought you into todays red AMPS. Looks like you counter really well but it does seem like the 1.5u is high for him. Perhaps his ceiling may be 1.3-1.4u?? What I like about Eukanubo is that there is some degree of predictability to his cycles which is great.

You have made great choices for him, today was just a curveball.
 
Ahh...one other question..why did you decide to lower to .5u on the evening of 2/18 after the great run you had that morning? Surprised you didn't hold with 1u.
 
Edit your very first post to 911 so it shows on the main page. I would give high carbed gravy but will defer to a more senior member on the board.
 
Please go back to your original post, click on edit, and click the 911, so it shows up in your original subject line...as opposed to hiding inside the post.
 
Well, I did panic and put some Karo on his food, but he wasn't interested. He looked a bit glassy-eyed for me, which is not all that unusual, so I rubbed Karo on his gums and after a few seconds, he started eating avidly. Will keep monitoring and keep you posted.
 
He probably will shoot up from the syrup, but it usually doesn't last too long. As he is closing in on nadir, he may start going up anyway. There is also the possibility that he got enough insulin that you will also get a longer duration so I would definitely continue monitoring.

For next time (I know, shudder) when in 60s, first regular low carb in small amounts. (you don't want to get him so full that he won't eat later when you might need him to). 40-50 range, try the gravy off higher carb food to bring him up. Below 40 and dropping, then bring out the Karo.
 
The reason I gave the Karo was because he's already eaten low carb about 20-30 minutes before and it was still dropping.
I hate roller coasters!!!
 
I hate 'em too. You may want to limit the karo, just a small bit at a time because you don't want him to skyrocket later...if he trends anything like Jax if you don't give the hi carbs sparingly he will rocket off. Only a little at a time.
 
I understand. It is scary when you see the numbers dropping. Do you keep gravy food around? That is the next best step before karo. Not the food, just the gravy.
 
No, I have dry food (for Molly), I also have some of the Elegant Medleys that seem to have higher carbs as he seems to always have high numbers when I feed him the Medleys.
As for the question of to why only 0.5 units after a good run, I was being too conservative, I was debating whether to give 0.5, 0.75, or 1.00 but I feared a big drop as the PMPS was only 263. Maybe I should have given 0.75.
Will be checking another glucose shortly...but he's happily licking and grooming in the sunshine by the glass door and wondering what this fuss is all about...
 
hbs60 said:
but he's happily licking and grooming in the sunshine by the glass door and wondering what this fuss is all about...

They always do. :smile: I have to run out but I hope he stays level and does not skyrocket! Good Luck!
 
The gravy ones are best as you can use just the gravy. Usually they are the sliced varieties with gravy. (FF)

So tonight, you will want to reduce. It is hard to know whether he would have been low and was going to surf along in the 60s, so we will be guessing. And when guessing, conservative is always good.
 
OK, it's up to 96, so I'm breathing a bit easier. It is almost +7 so I hope this is as bad as it gets, but will continue monitoring.
 
Yes, +7 (probably more acurrately +7.5 so I'll chart this a +8). He just ate with good appetite, the bowl had some residual Karo in it which should help.
 
118 at +9, we are working out way out of the woods. Let's see what will the PMPS will be, believe me, I'll be VERY conservative (maybe a token 0.5 units even if it's 500), I don't want us to go through this again this evening!
 
118 is out of the woods! You can offically breathe. Perhaps he may surprise you and not kick up too high at PMPS. You did real well.
 
Thanks, we may be out of the woods but I feel like we have all kinds of weeds and leaves clinging around us and I'm trying to get them off :lol:

Seriously, I don't know how to proceed next. I have fairly busy workweek and I hate to leave him all day alone, so I'll err on the side of under-dosing and see how he does. (sigh)
 
+8 reading: 141. Definitely on the way up but I doubt it would be high by his next shot time (5:00 PM). I'm guessing he will be in the mid 200s, so what should I do then? Dosing suggestions or guidelines for that moment?
 
I'd want to wait till you get an amps before I gave dosing advice. He has done okay on three different doses so it's confusing. I am thinking he might be a kitty that needs to settle into a dose. Hopefully we can find one that you can stick with for a few cycles.
 
It's almost shot time, and he's only up to 200. He only ate a little this afternoon, has been sleeping a lot, so I'm inclined not to give anything at all, unless advised to do otherwise. I need to go out shortly for errands so I hope I get advice before then, if not, I'll play it safe and not shoot at all.
 
Difficult call. You may lose momentum if you skip, but we aren't sure if he would have gone lower today. You could give a token dose - like .25 and plan to start with a clean slate tomorrow?
 
I'm just concerned that he's not eating much, is sleeping, and I have to go out. How late could I give a mini dose? It's now 5 PM Eastern Time
 
Go with your gut. If you think he isn't acting quite right, skip. (just plan for a higher number in the am and still reduce). Yes, you could give the token dose later if it won't mess up your schedule 12 hours later.
 
Thanks. His usual shot times are 5 AM and 5 PM although sometimes I would vary about 30-45 minutes depending on when I get home, when I get up, etc. If I get home say, at 8 or 9 PM, is that too late/mess up the schedule? It's not feasible for me to change those dosing hours.
As for tomorrow, I'm not planning to exceed 1 unit under any circumstances. I want to see how he does on a steady dose with the same food and who knows, I think he may need to cut back from that.
Thanks for all your help!
 
I wouldn't give a token dose at +15 unless you can give your next shot pretty close to 12 hours later. Messing with the schedule while he is all over the place with dosage isn't a good idea, IMHO.
 
I just got home (it's around & pm EST or + 14) and he is alert, perky, but not eating much, so no insulin until tomorrow. I think we all need a break for the day!
Thanks, again!
 
His reading is 407 as of 9:14 PM, it would have been +4 if I had given the dose. He perked up after I got home, and ate avidly his low carb a couple of hours ago, he is now peacefully sleeping next to me as I watch TV.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top