Hi, everyone.
I'm having newbie blood testing issues. The first test I must have hit a vein because Frodo bled all over the place. My meter read "hi" which means greater than 600 (about an hour before shot). After at least 30 pokes in four days, I finally got enough blood for a second test on Sat. Frodo's BG was 462 at about 8.5 hours post shot. Yesterday after three pokes (I finally used the lancet free-hand and got too much blood again) I got a 52 reading at 5.5 hours after his shot. Obviously that one has me worried. . . He showed no signs of hypoglycemia, but I fed him just in case and he seemed fine the rest of the day. I could not get enough blood for another test later.
Anyway, the erratic BG readings have me worried. As does my lack of ability to draw enough blood most of the time. I am going to try to do a full curve tomorrow since it will be the only day I'm home all-day this week. Here is my blood testing protocol -- I am warming Frodo's ears with a rice sock for about 15-30 seconds post prick and am trying to do some ear massage although he hates me touching his ears. I am using a 28 guage lancet. I am trying to hit the sweet spot but most the time I don't get any blood, let alone "enough" blood. I keep the sock behind the ear and the lancet device pressed against it, so it has something to "poke against." I got desperate yesterday and did a free-hand poke without the lancet device but Frodo hated that and wouldn't let me close to him again for an hour afterward (I did get enough blood to test--too much!). I am giving him lots of pats and a treat afterwards, but he is still stressed and unhappy about the procedure. Any other ideas? Part of my problem is that he doesn't like being restrained when my 3-year-old twins are in the room since they are loud and unpredictable, but I'm a single mother and trying to find a quiet place to be alone with the cat to test is almost impossible--especially since it took almost 15 minutes for me to get enough blood to test yesterday.
Thanks,
Heidi
I'm having newbie blood testing issues. The first test I must have hit a vein because Frodo bled all over the place. My meter read "hi" which means greater than 600 (about an hour before shot). After at least 30 pokes in four days, I finally got enough blood for a second test on Sat. Frodo's BG was 462 at about 8.5 hours post shot. Yesterday after three pokes (I finally used the lancet free-hand and got too much blood again) I got a 52 reading at 5.5 hours after his shot. Obviously that one has me worried. . . He showed no signs of hypoglycemia, but I fed him just in case and he seemed fine the rest of the day. I could not get enough blood for another test later.
Anyway, the erratic BG readings have me worried. As does my lack of ability to draw enough blood most of the time. I am going to try to do a full curve tomorrow since it will be the only day I'm home all-day this week. Here is my blood testing protocol -- I am warming Frodo's ears with a rice sock for about 15-30 seconds post prick and am trying to do some ear massage although he hates me touching his ears. I am using a 28 guage lancet. I am trying to hit the sweet spot but most the time I don't get any blood, let alone "enough" blood. I keep the sock behind the ear and the lancet device pressed against it, so it has something to "poke against." I got desperate yesterday and did a free-hand poke without the lancet device but Frodo hated that and wouldn't let me close to him again for an hour afterward (I did get enough blood to test--too much!). I am giving him lots of pats and a treat afterwards, but he is still stressed and unhappy about the procedure. Any other ideas? Part of my problem is that he doesn't like being restrained when my 3-year-old twins are in the room since they are loud and unpredictable, but I'm a single mother and trying to find a quiet place to be alone with the cat to test is almost impossible--especially since it took almost 15 minutes for me to get enough blood to test yesterday.
Thanks,
Heidi