Ending an OTJ Trial?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reneemwriter

Member Since 2013
VanGogh has been on a OTJ trial for 5 days. . .missed 10 shots. Number tonight higher than we're used to . It was 177 at what would've been his +9, then dropped to 167 about 2 hours later after a light snack. So it appears The Pancreas IS working. . .maybe just not ready yet for a full time job!? Before The Trial, I was eyeballing 1/2 unit, then eyeballing 1/2 of that again, then twisting off a drop, So VanGogh was probably only getting 1-2 drops of insulin. So my question is, If we go back on Insulin in the morning, should I start back up with that super low dose, or might he need a bit more to reboot so to speak?
 
I checked VanGogh's number at 5 am (+10) & he dropped a bit more to 159. Gave him a small meal & this morning AMPS was 120. Feeling better about that, but still concerned this roller coaster ride might harm him. . .any thoughts? That 177 was the highest reading he's ever had, besides vet diagnosis. I know they tell Newbies not to even shoot under 200, but his numbers have always stayed below that. But I guess I'm still using 200 as my "Go back to shooting" number!? Is that a safe bet?
 
We really want to see the majority of those test numbers under 100. The goal here is a strong remission. That is what you are trying for with this OTJ trial, to see if your cat is ready to be diet controlled. He may not be. My foster cat Wink flunked his first OTJ trial but was good only a month later and has been diet controlled now for 7 months.

You want to test about 2-3 hours after feeding as well as at what would have been your normal shot time. The difference in these two numbers will give us an idea of how the pancreas is reacting and producing insulin on it's own to counteract that food you have fed.

Not sure if you have the OTJ trial instructions, so here they are again.

OTJ Trial instructions

Here are the instructions for an OTJ trial:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas). The morning test is now called the AMBG. The evening test is now called the PMBG.
  • If your cat is green (0-99 human meter) at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If the numbers are blue (100-199 human meter), feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. Food raises BG's. So if the number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party! And boy, do we party hearty. :cool:

Sometimes, the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support by starting the cat with a tiny dose of insulin again. I had to do that with Wink. We simply start the cat back on a tiny dose of insulin to support the pancreas with healing for a bit longer. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to be safe now then sorry later that you rushed it. With just a little more time we will probably get that strong remission we are looking for.
It's up to you weather you want to continue on this OTJ trial or not. Some cats go higher a few times, and then settle back down into lower numbers later in the trial period. Some cats need to be put back on insulin for a short period of time.

So continue with the OTJ trial for a bit longer or back on the insulin? It's really your call.
 
I responded on FB to you.

Personally, I would restart insulin. Since you aren't going away for three weeks, there is plenty of time to restart it and he may be ready for another trial before or by the time you go away.
 
As Deb said, the goal here is a strong remission. I agree with both Deb and Hillary that since you have the time before you leave, I'd restart the insulin with just the drop you've been doing and see if we still can get him successfully into remission before you leave. :thumbup
 
Thank you ALL soooo much for your input. It was especially great Deb & Wink to get "The Directions" for OTJ trial as I'm not savvy enuff to find them myself on The Site. I did switch VanGogh's food today. (Only 2 meals so far) from the 2 I was feeding him were a 6 carb canned to 1 that is a 3 carb & 1 that is a 5 carb. Number came down to 131 at PMPS. If his number is over 120 in the morning, then I'll probably put him back on the insulin for at least another week & see where that goes. I don't think I'd be so crazy over this if I wasn't going away! VG is happily playing on the computer desk with a paper clip! No fancy, expensive toys for him, lol!
 
Sounds like a good plan and I hope the lower carb food is what makes the difference! I feed Mikey 5% carb (Friskies Special Diet) because anything more than that, he starts visiting the 300s too frequently for my taste. :razz:
 
Hi KPassa! Yes, I switched VG to Friskies Special Diet. The Ocean Whitefish Special Diet Dinner is only 3 carbs! And The Special Diet Salmon is 5. The Special Diet Beef & Chicken and Beef & Liver are only 4 carbs, but he'll only eat The Fishy ones! Maybe this'll help! Either way, if he goes back ON The Juice, I think I'll have my Sitters just skip The Shots, as I don't know how well they'll be able to test. And I rather be safe than sorry! He'll "only" miss 7 shots. . .sigh. . .driving myself crazy over this!
 
VG is so close! Dusty is just coasting along with FF, hope your diet change can push him over that line.
 
I think that is a good call. If over 120 tomorrow back on the juice. He's so close that I don't think he will need insulin for too long, let's take it day by day and see how he does.

Sometimes cats just need a little more help and better to give that help than force the pancreas to overdo. After all you are looking for the long term remission and today just may not be his day, and that's ok.
 
My BEAUTIFUL VanGogh threw me a soft curve this morning! After FINALLY deciding last night to go back to shooting if over 120, he gave me an AMPS of 106 this morning. . .so once again, I skipped The Shot. . .for now anyway! The only change I made was from a 6% carb canned food to a 3% carb. . .maybe THAT was enough to make a difference!? Still confused & playing it one dose at a time!!! Thanx soooo much for all the helpful input!
 
Today is day #7 if his trial, so it musta been near/ around Halloween. I'm at work & don't know how to access ss. From phone! Last dose was 7:30 pm Oct 30th!
 
After BEAUTIFUL numbers yesterday of 101, 106 & 103, VanGogh blew a 156 this morning! WTH!? Going to forego shot this a.m., but if he's over 120 at +3 and/or later in the day, it'll be back ON The Juice tonight!
 
I'm at a loss, Hillary! Now he was 77 at +3!? I'd rather be safe than sorry. . .would the insulin ( which he did NOT get!) have made the 77 even lower? He is truly taking me on a Coaster ride!!! I just want what is best for HIM!!!
 
Hmmm, that really makes one think.

You did right, not giving insulin. Maybe he just wants to be a roller coaster kitty. I wonder if he read what I wrote and got scared and dropped his BG just so you couldn't give insulin.

This really is a tough call to make. I just haven't felt comfortable seeing the above 130 readings you are getting, which is why I suggested giving a drop of insulin. But I don't really know the right answer here.

I think it's possible he could benefit from a drop. What is the lowest number you shot in the past?

Even a 77 is a shootable number if you have done that before. Have you posted on LL to get their input on what to do. I'm thinking that some of the more experienced people there (ones that post daily) may be better able to guide you.
 
Does he eat at all during the night? I've seen some kitties do better overnight if they have some food to spur their pancreas into producing insulin to bring down those high morning numbers.
 
Hillary, I think I've shot as low as 63. . .& it was probably about 1/4 unit. I don't have a problem stopping The Trial. I wouldn't look at it as a failure! It's an experiment to find out what's best for VanGogh! Just that he IS on such a coaster ride, I'm not sure what's best! I did post on The Lantus board & hopefully someone there will have further input.

I usually wake up around 4 a.m.& give him some 3% wet food. He does sleep in a room by himself at night.. :sad:
 
Never heard anything from my posting on Lantus Board. . .wonder if it didn't post? Anyway, decided to end The OTJ Trial tonight as VanGogh tested at 181 PMPS, so I gave him 1 drop of insulin. We'll see where that lands us in The Morning. . .Thanx for everyone's input. . .
 
Here's hoping VanGogh just needs a few more days OnTheJuice and will be right back off again soon...this time, STRONGER and BETTER. :mrgreen:
 
I hope so KPassa. . .but really, it doesn't really matter. . .I'm gonna love him to pieces no matter what! At the very least, this trial has shown me that he will be okay OTJ while I'm away Nov 28-Dec 1 & will be missing 7 shots. . .if he goes back on for any length of time. I wouldn't care AT ALL if I wasn't going away. Someone will be coming in to feed & love him 4-5 times a day, but no testing/dosing. His numbers are soo erratic, I don't want to take ANY chance that he would be over~dosed & killed! Better safe than sorry. I don't HAVE to go away again til next September for an out of state wedding! And not to sound like a broken record, but better high for a few days than. . .
 
And he's not even going too high, so at the very least, you'll feel more comfortable if he's still needing shots by then to skip them for a few days. He never topped 200, did he?
 
I think that is a smart idea, and who knows maybe when you go away he won't need insulin by then.

Again a few days maybe a couple weeks may be all that he needs to get him over the hump.
 
KPassa, this was the highest number VG has gotten since his diagnosis at 357. His next highest number was 177 & I hadn't given him insulin. The next morning, he was low again. . a.so his numbers have been very erratic. Going to test him now in 15 minutes to see where we are! Still nervous about going away, but I HAVE to go & I'm hoping he'll be okay missing 7 shots!
 
Well, he just went through 9 days of "missing shots," so I think he'll be able to handle 7 missed shots, if he even still needs them by then. ;-)
 
LOL KPassa! The Ride continues!!!! VanGogh spit out a 99 PMPS, & I don't like to shoot below 120 for him. . . The Wait is on. . .
 
Keeping VanGogh on the 1 drop of insulin twice daily. He's just such a happy cat, I need to take. Page from him & chilax a bit! Staying on this dose for at least 6-7 days. We' ll see where we are closer to me leaving on Thanksgiving morning!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top