emergency!Update: Doing great!! Thanks for all your help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

The SS issue is something we can ALL deal with tomorrow. It does help to see it though. Even the little bit of information I am seeing indicates you are most likely at a too low dose. Which...might make today a whole non-event. Paws crossed on that actually.

But, I too would encourage you to visit the Lantus Support Group.

I would also direct you to this protocol to read: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL This is the protocol we use to determine dosing for our sugar babies. If you take a look at it, you've been at the starting dose of 1.0u BID a long time and you are still getting long term unhealthy numbers for Garland. A lot of this can be corrected. And Garland can truly get healthy.

But...all this is for another day. We need to get you and Garland through the next 24 hours safely. And so far it looks to be going OK and look at all the data you are getting today!
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

How old is your insulin?

Your curve from 4/28 looks like it goes in one direction after AMPS - just UP - like the insulin may have lost strength.

That could be why even with the overdose today, her BG is not dropping like a rock.
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Great question Phoebe. Very valid point. We are seeing some movement but no...she's not dropping like a rock right now.
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Beth: how ya doing? Did you decide to wait and do a +8? Just asking....thought if you did, I'd jump in the shower while waiting :lol: :lol:
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Okay, sorry I went MIA .. Had to cook dinner for the family, bath time and do some dishes. I did test though +7 351 +8 359

So weird, her numbers seem to be 100% normal.....

Maybe her dose is kinda low.. But the 3 she had this morning is way more than she usually has
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Phoebe_Tiggy_NortonGA said:
How old is your insulin?

Your curve from 4/28 looks like it goes in one direction after AMPS - just UP - like the insulin may have lost strength.

That could be why even with the overdose today, her BG is not dropping like a rock.

I started a new pen on 4/28 when I did my last curve
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Great info on the pen. That would somewhat minimize that being the culprit here.

No worries about being "MIA". Kids gotta eat :lol: :lol:

I have to agree with Blue....my first thought is she is not getting enough insulin but even if that is true, neither of us can predict how this will continue to play out.

Her number looks pretty stable right now....good. Do you feel comfortable waiting to get a +10? If she were still dropping, I'd suggest a +9 but she is the same. Your call on your comfort level and based on how she's doing.
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Typically we like to see a +11 before making a dose decision. Could you please post that when you get it? Thank you!!!! Doing great.
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

I've asked for some additional eyes on this and your SS. Will let you know ASAP. Thanks!!

ETA: consensus is you're good to go on shooting the normal 1u dose on time.

I'm thinking you won't need us tonight so this will be my last post. I would be sure and get a +2 and let us know if you need any help.

Good luck and hope to see you in Lantus ISG this week.
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I've asked for some additional eyes on this and your SS. Will let you know ASAP. Thanks!!

ETA: consensus is you're good to go on shooting the normal 1u dose on time.

I'm thinking you won't need us tonight so this will be my last post. I would be sure and get a +2 and let us know if you need any help.

Good luck and hope to see you in Lantus ISG this week.
Thank you so much for sticking through this day with me! It meant the world!
 
Re: EMERGENCY! EDIT: Looking okay so far :)

Beth...you are so welcome. We're all in this together. We were prepared to stay up all night with you if it came to that...amazing group of people in FDMB.
 
Re: emergency!Update: Doing great!! Thanks for all your help

Dearest Beth, and, of course, you too, sweet Garland,

You both did great today!

Sometimes it takes a village to dance with a sugar cat. You had a metropolis today. It's why I love this Board...

Much love and countless grateful hugs for a happy ending,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...

PS: Still imagining how far cereal can actually fly... ;o)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top