Scott & Buster
Member Since 2022
Elmsley's insulin dose was increased twice over the past 2 weeks. We're currently at 2.5 units Prozinc, which started last Thursday. I was expecting to see much lower numbers with the dose (though there has been a bit of a drop, to me it looks like his numbers are somewhat all over the place), so I was able to run a curve yesterday.
Notes about the curve: Breakfast 1.5 cans FF Chicken, lunch at +5.5 thru +6.5 1 can FF Oceanfish & Tuna (first time he's had fish in over a month). Normally he would have had a snack at some point during the day (1.5 oz Tiki Cat shreds or homemade baked chicken tenderloin and chicken stock), however I got busy at work and didn't remember it until he was already into he PMPS fasting period so he didn't get it.
It seems like the insulin is struggling to cover the lunch food since his BG jumped 240 points within 90 minutes. We are still waiting 30 minutes between 1/2 cans (otherwise he'll eat an entire can in under 5 minutes) - is this causing some kind of double glucose peak that the insulin can't handle? Does there happen to be a bounce occurring here on top of being fed that is spiking BGs? Is a single can not enough and we're getting a bounce afterward? A bounce would explain AMPS as well, since there is no lunch at +6 at night - at most he's getting a 1/2 can of tiki cat at +4 or +5... and we're moving ~+200 over a 6 hour fast.
It also looks like his insulin drops off at about 10 hours. I see the same rate of BG decline from +8 to +10 that I saw in 0 to +2, but after that on a fast it was only able to maintain until +12. So basically if he's not just outside of a normal range by +8 he's not going to get there.
This does shine some light on why is PS BGs are consistently near 400 though.
I welcome any comments/thoughts/advice before going back to the vet. Graph is in the attachment.
449 0, 345 +2, 243 +4, 211 +6, 451 +8, 359 +10, 372 +12
Older threads:
New Member - Elmsley | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Notes about the curve: Breakfast 1.5 cans FF Chicken, lunch at +5.5 thru +6.5 1 can FF Oceanfish & Tuna (first time he's had fish in over a month). Normally he would have had a snack at some point during the day (1.5 oz Tiki Cat shreds or homemade baked chicken tenderloin and chicken stock), however I got busy at work and didn't remember it until he was already into he PMPS fasting period so he didn't get it.
It seems like the insulin is struggling to cover the lunch food since his BG jumped 240 points within 90 minutes. We are still waiting 30 minutes between 1/2 cans (otherwise he'll eat an entire can in under 5 minutes) - is this causing some kind of double glucose peak that the insulin can't handle? Does there happen to be a bounce occurring here on top of being fed that is spiking BGs? Is a single can not enough and we're getting a bounce afterward? A bounce would explain AMPS as well, since there is no lunch at +6 at night - at most he's getting a 1/2 can of tiki cat at +4 or +5... and we're moving ~+200 over a 6 hour fast.
It also looks like his insulin drops off at about 10 hours. I see the same rate of BG decline from +8 to +10 that I saw in 0 to +2, but after that on a fast it was only able to maintain until +12. So basically if he's not just outside of a normal range by +8 he's not going to get there.
This does shine some light on why is PS BGs are consistently near 400 though.
I welcome any comments/thoughts/advice before going back to the vet. Graph is in the attachment.
449 0, 345 +2, 243 +4, 211 +6, 451 +8, 359 +10, 372 +12
Older threads:
New Member - Elmsley | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB