Elmo PMPS 155.....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Suggestion: try feeding him 8% carbs tomorrow morning.

+3.5....115......+4...128........behavior: quite different... instead of up in his man cave is here in kitchen, laying in the sun...:):):);):cat:
I am sooooooooooo glad to hear he's feeling and acting better. Bet seeing him like this is making his mama feel better, too. :)

Oh yes , I record every little nuance I observe...have a notebook with a page for each day ....
Might I suggest that you keep a brief note of clinical signs in his spreadsheet too, Beth? It really helps to see both the clinical signs and the BG data side by side - can make it easier to spot patterns. (It's the way I managed to work out that C/V insulin was making Saoirse feel icky; at that stage I'd not read anything here about the possibility that a particular insulin might make a kitty feel crummy despite BG levels having improved.)


Mogs
.
 
Suggestion: try feeding him 8% carbs tomorrow morning.


I am sooooooooooo glad to hear he's feeling and acting better. Bet seeing him like this is making his mama feel better, too. :)


Might I suggest that you keep a brief note of clinical signs in his spreadsheet too, Beth? It really helps to see both the clinical signs and the BG data side by side - can make it easier to spot patterns. (It's the way I managed to work out that C/V insulin was making Saoirse feel icky; at that stage I'd not read anything here about the possibility that a particular insulin might make a kitty feel crummy despite BG levels having improved.)


Mogs
.
Will do, oh Great Yoda of all things kitty....i have more notes on him than squirrels have nuts ! Was encouraged in that habit by my wonderful holistic vet I consult with by phone from time to time...you all would love her..she is definitely one of us !
 
The up side is that I've developed an excess of grit and determination to keep going when I feel like !%$@! That's why I've referred to my "pit bull" mentality on other threads here ...
"An excess of grit and determination" ... I love that quote and totally relate !!!
 
i have more notes on him than squirrels have nuts ! Was encouraged in that habit by my wonderful holistic vet
She's the Yoda!

One thing about this Sugar Dance is that it teaches us to get much better at 'listening' to our beloved fur babies. Keeping a journal for Saoirse helped me to care for her better (especially when there were setbacks). Indeed, through her spreadsheets Saoirse is still able to help kitties here now. I love my girl so very much - and I always will. I am beyond blessed that I'm the one who got to be her Person ... (((Saoirse)))

Mogs
.
 
She's the Yoda!

One thing about this Sugar Dance is that it teaches us to get much better at 'listening' to our beloved fur babies. Keeping a journal for Saoirse helped me to care for her better (especially when there were setbacks). Indeed, through her spreadsheets Saoirse is still able to help kitties here now. I love my girl so very much - and I always will. I am beyond blessed that I'm the one who got to be her Person ... (((Saoirse)))

Mogs
.
Yes, Mogs, Saoirse continues to love and give ....and I know they truly have " gone ahead" and wait for us there!!!What a legacy !!! Thank you, sweet Saoirse:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I work on the principle that she's still right here beside me all the time. (I'd be sat in a padded room somewhere were it not for that ... :( )


:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Here's her spreadsheet from last year:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1v0bhNxuX_2npXIFlDVDS821F1_Y2K-0KsvIJXmmcjME/edit#gid=5


Mogs
.
Oh , I believe that without doubt... I believe they are more waiting for us far more than gone....we have had to release our two oldest in the last year and a half......Socks lived to be 21 and went ahead May 2015...then almost to the day our sweet 19 year old Chloe left this May....
 
Just catching up. Was on the phone FOREVER!

Hugs to you both for the ones who have passed on. I've been through it myself and firmly believe they never leave us and are always watching over us. We learn so much from each one of our furkids. Because they are all so very unique and special, they continue to influence our choices and actions even when they aren't right under foot. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Elmo is looking so good! Glad you stuck with the lower dose.
 
Oh , I believe that without doubt... I believe they are more waiting for us far more than gone....we have had to release our two oldest in the last year and a half......Socks lived to be 21 and went ahead May 2015...then almost to the day our sweet 19 year old Chloe left this May....
I'm sorry to hear that you lost them, Beth - and so close to one another - but glad to hear that you had them in this realm for as long as you did. Oh, but that they might be longer-lived ... :bighug:

I've just been telling another member a story about when I first adopted Saoirse and Amadán: here's a link to the post in case you'd like to read it:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introducing-scooter.169382/#post-1842592

(I'm unable to write a proper FMDB tribute for them because remembering the joy of the wonderful times is just too painful; makes the missing so much worse ...).


Mogs
.
 
one could see similar with Lantus in a cat close to remission but because it's gentler in effect it doesn't drop BG as fast as Vetsulin and therefore can make the process of nudging the whole curve down into more healing numbers more straightforward.
Another thing about the longer acting insulins is that you can shoot lower pre-shot numbers (once you have enough data) to keep kitty surfing in good numbers because of that gentler curve.
 
Sorry to be gone when advice was requested, Beth. I have a very large furry critter who lives out at a stable and he needed a visit and a grooming today. Beautiful winter wonderland out there!
Oh Kris, never apologize for living ur life :)....I bet ur stable critter is gorgeous and needs his Momma too.....and yes, I still have snowy envy:D
 
Another thing about the longer acting insulins is that you can shoot lower pre-shot numbers (once you have enough data) to keep kitty surfing in good numbers because of that gentler curve.
[Emphasis mine]

That's the key to it all; the L insulins are great for holding down good BG levels because you can administer them at lower PS levels (safety and data volume permitting). The likes of Vetsulin are better at yanking down high numbers but not really suitable for tightly regulating a kitty in the optimum, healing range. I think that Vetsulin can be sufficient to help cats who only need a diet change and a bit of a nudge to go into remission but in situations where a kitty's pancreas needs to rest for a longer period in order to recover more beta cell function then the L insulins are, in my considered opinion, the best treatment choice (provided they agree with the cat).

The opportunity to tightly regulate a home-monitored cat safely provided by these insulins can make such a difference. Having seen real-world examples of how the different insulins work in cats it's no surprise to me now that such superior remission rates were observed in the Roomp-Rand study of newly-diagnosed cats who receive early treatment with L insulins. Indeed, I think there may be many cats who could be good candidates for remission but who will never achieve it - either through being put on the Caninsulin 'doggy protocol' (feed the cat kitty cornflakes and throw lots of insulin at it to try to keep it under the renal threshold) or else getting close to remission and then hitting the C/V 'dosing wall' where for safety reasons it's not possible to get the cat into the tightly-regulated BG levels which offer the best chance of the pancreas recovering enough beta cell function. It makes me sad because there must be a lot of kitties and caregivers out there who might have been able to live life free of the pokes and prods and the worries if only they'd been able to access a better treatment option.

Saoirse is a case in point: she got close to remission BG levels with Caninsulin and closely controlled feeding but her pancreas still wasn't getting proper rest because even a 0.2IU dose was too harsh and her body ended up fighting against the insulin for a good part of each cycle. After I had to stop Caninsulin for safety reasons she couldn't hold in the normal range without support (and within a week she had a severe pancreatitis flare). I don't think she would have achieved remission without being tighly regulated on Lantus.


Mogs
.
 
Any news, Beth?

.
Oh, Mogs, thank you for checking on us....Elmo was up, bopping around until about 2:00 when he retreated to his man cave for the first time in the day....sending his SS along to the vet tomorrow and reschedule for Friday....I got the impression from his wife who works with him that normally at this point where Elmo is that they do a trial OTJ ....I said I believed Elmo needed more time on a more gentle insulin to give his pancreas optimum healing time.....I know that is what is best for him but I am a bit scared in learning how to use a new insulin when he is doing so well...I know I have no choice and that we have hit the vetsulin wall( perfect description from you) but I'm dealing with apprehension about the switch....after a good night's sleep tonight I will tackle the Lantus stickies tomorrow...glad you gave walked almost this same path with sweet Saoires so that calms my heart muchly
 
Oh, Mogs, thank you for checking on us....Elmo was up, bopping around until about 2:00 when he retreated to his man cave for the first time in the day....sending his SS along to the vet tomorrow and reschedule for Friday....I got the impression from his wife who works with him that normally at this point where Elmo is that they do a trial OTJ ....I said I believed Elmo needed more time on a more gentle insulin to give his pancreas optimum healing time.....I know that is what is best for him but I am a bit scared in learning how to use a new insulin when he is doing so well...I know I have no choice and that we have hit the vetsulin wall( perfect description from you) but I'm dealing with apprehension about the switch....after a good night's sleep tonight I will tackle the Lantus stickies tomorrow...glad you gave walked almost this same path with sweet Saoires so that calms my heart muchly
If you could tomorrow, very briefly tell me about Saoires's transition....since my vet has never used Lantus I will be totally dependent on FDMB for direction and protocol.
 
AND, Mogs, please explain how I am to try feeding 8 carb food tomorrow morning....give it to him til he walks away and not feed more when he returns? Can I feed other 5carb after the 8 carb at the same meal??? Or just put 8 down,when he walks away that is it for that meal ???? As u can see, my overthinking self has barged in:(
 
Sorry to be gone when advice was requested, Beth. I have a very large furry critter who lives out at a stable and he needed a visit and a grooming today. Beautiful winter wonderland out there!
Kris, also forgot to thank you for the excellent tip to " play with water" to practice drawing up this minuscule dose. Have also been practicing with an orange to understand how it feels to administer the dose. My sweet husband usually does the shooting while I pet Elmo but he is gone til tomorrow and then will be gone again this Sunday thru Thursday to ski with our son....so it's time to put on my big girl pants and give Elmo his dose....
 
Kris, also forgot to thank you for the excellent tip to " play with water" to practice drawing up this minuscule dose. Have also been practicing with an orange to understand how it feels to administer the dose. My sweet husband usually does the shooting while I pet Elmo but he is gone til tomorrow and then will be gone again this Sunday thru Thursday to ski with our son....so it's time to put on my big girl pants and give Elmo his dose....
You can do it, Beth. In my experience, there's very little resistance when the needle of the syringe pierces the skin, especially if you're holding the skin taut.

I'm glad the coloured water tip helped.
 
Have been readying to go to vet on Friday....wondering how much lower dose is available to Elmo as we r at 0.25 minus one drop??? How much smaller doses could be given with u100s ??? Just want to be ready to answer any questions he might have.....;)
 
@Kris & Teasel @MrWorfMen's Mom .......first off, should I start a new thread or rename a current one as I did here???...,Elmo had aPMPS of 155.... unless I hear different I will proceed with .25 minus full drop and take a +2 and + 4 unless I get chicken whereas I will take a + 3 as well o_O.....sorry to be such a baby...just feel better checking with u all before proceeding....will be feeding in 20 minutes and shot 30 minutes after that....you all r my best...Elmo said to say thank you, thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
No problem Beth. You are not being a baby. You are doing great and there is nothing wrong with wanting some backup of confirmation of dosing decisions. I think the same dose with tests at +2 and +4 is a good plan. As you said, you can always grab a +3 if you need or want to. I think Elmo will behave himself again tonight.
antijinx-emoticon.png
He's had a couple of very nice cycle on this dose.
:bighug:

Man I just hit an unknown key and the type got HUGE. Please know I am not yelling! :woot:
 
Last edited:
Just seen this, Beth.

Glad Elmo didn't bounce at PMPS.

I like the plan for tonight. Don't worry about food carb % for now; just feed exactly the same tonight as you did on last night's PM cycle. Bearing in mind it's the night time cycle I'd suggest you keep to giving Elmo his +1.5 snack tonight.

In terms of giving the injection, in addition to making sure the skin tent is taut, make sure the bevelled side of the needle is facing you and that you insert the needle under the skin at a 45 degree angle to the cat's body. Practising on an orange really helps.


Mogs
.
 
No problem Beth. You are not being a baby. You are doing great and there is nothing wrong with wanting some backup of confirmation of dosing decisions. I think the same dose with tests at +2 and +4 is a good plan. As you said, you can always grab a +3 if you need or want to. I think Elmo will behave himself again tonight. He's had a couple of very nice cycle on this dose. :bighug:

Man I just hit an unknown key and the type got HUGE. Please know I am not yelling! :woot:
:joyful::eek::joyful::joyful::eek::eek::eek::eek::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::eek:.....never would think that, Linda...a million thanks to you and sweet Menace :bighug:
 
Just seen this, Beth.

Glad Elmo didn't bounce at PMPS.

I like the plan. Don't worry about food carb % for now; just feed exactly the same tonight as you did on last night's PM cycle. Bearing in mind it's the night time cycle I'd suggest you keep to giving Elmo his +1.5 snack tonight.

In terms of giving the injection, in addition to making sure the skin tent is taut, make sure the bevelled side of the needle is facing you and that you insert the needle under the skin at a 45 degree angle to the cat's body. Practising on an orange really helps.


Mogs
.
Thank u, thank u Mogs....he usually eats off and on til +1.5 but if he hasn't Ill give him a bit of a + 1.5 snack....sweet restful sleep to you !!!!
 
How much smaller doses could be given with u100s ??? Just want to be ready to answer any questions he might have.....;)

Well that is a bit of a tough question because we don't know exactly what the dose is when using the U40 0.25u minus a drop "method". You'd have to draw up 0.25u, count how many drops were in it and do the math. And of course the size of drop can differ slightly too. Using the U100 syringes, you'd be able to eyeball a dose of 0.1u and could technically use the drop method to decrease that further.
 
Start a new thread for Elmo tomorrow, Beth, and post a link to this one in the opening post. (One of us can post the link for you if you don't yet know how to do so. :) )

I'll reply to some of the questions above about transitioning to Lantus on this thread tomorrow (need to sort out the Noodlebug and take my sleep meds soon; I'm absolutely hanging).

If you fancy some light bedtime reading the "Management of Diabetic Cats" PDF contains the dose adjustment guidelines for cats following the Roomp-Rand Tight Regulation Protocol. If you go to the L&L support group board (link below) you'll find a sticky at the top of the board with the Start Low/Go Slow dosing guidelines.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
If you fancy some light bedtime reading

icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif


But seriously Beth....if you switch to Lantus, you'll have lots of help learning how to use it....it's the most active forum here because so many of us use it. Generally we start the Lantus at about the same dose as Vetsulin/Caninsulin/ProZinc so Elmo would probably be started at .25
 
BTW - re injections, the insulin syringe needle's really fine and goes in easily. Injecting the orange will give you a fairly good idea of what it feels like.

:bighug:

.
 
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif


But seriously Beth....if you switch to Lantus, you'll have lots of help learning how to use it....it's the most active forum here because so many of us use it. Generally we start the Lantus at about the same dose as Vetsulin/Caninsulin/ProZinc so Elmo would probably be started at .25
Thank you, fellow Ozarkian :bighug::)
 
Start a new thread for Elmo tomorrow, Beth, and post a link to this one in the opening post. (One of us can post the link for you if you don't yet know how to do so. :) )

I'll reply to some of the questions above about transitioning to Lantus on this thread tomorrow (need to sort out the Noodlebug and take my sleep meds soon; I'm absolutely hanging.)

If you fancy some light bedtime reading the "Management of Diabetic Cats" PDF contains the dose adjustment guidelines for cats following the Roomp-Rand Tight Regulation Protocol. If you go to the L&L support group board (link below) you'll find a sticky at the top of the board with the Start Low/Go Slow dosing guidelines.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/


Mogs
.
No , no, no...tomorrow will be best for both of us...I feel a bit like trampled ground today so going to veg tonight....my 94 year old momma can turn me every which way but loose, bless her pointed little head ......
 
Well that is a bit of a tough question because we don't know exactly what the dose is when using the U40 0.25u minus a drop "method". You'd have to draw up 0.25u, count how many drops were in it and do the math. And of course the size of drop can differ slightly too. Using the U100 syringes, you'd be able to eyeball a dose of 0.1u and could technically use the drop method to decrease that further.
Ahhhhh....this be a crazy hot mess at times :eek::eek::eek:
 
Sorry I missed your query AGAIN Beth! This time I was out at a little Christmas pot luck get-together. I usually don't go anywhere - it's just that busy season we're in. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top