

And I sent you a prezzie.Beth I put a link over yonder on your old post so we don't lose you in the main thread listing.

And I sent you a prezzie.
.

Not yet. Waiting to see what Elmo does today. If you still have the can from the food he ate last night I suggest making a note of the variety, and the batch number.any thots on stalled BG numbers?
Thank u for all ur support ....internet still sporadic ...will post as soon as home ...probably not for a few hours and if internet is cooperatingWhen you get a chance let us know you're home safe 'n' sound, Beth.![]()
Thank u for all ur support ....internet still sporadic ...will post as soon as home ...probably not for a few hours and if internet is cooperating.....amps 167...+1.5...141........+2..119.....+3...119.......+4...140......got a feeling dealing with thyroid and may need to up his dose...blood work will tell...
You got the green light for insulin change??? (I'm assuming...) If so, YAYY!!!He said YES !!! Still here...more info later...o am trying not to do my happy dance !!!
He said YES !!! Still here...more info later...o am trying not to do my happy dance !!!



!!!!!


. His numbers are a bit wonky now, in part due to elevated thyroid..vet increased his dose. We are exhausted from the day so will tackle Lantus and new vet call for tomorrow.And yes, rural internet has returned....out for over 12 hours but back now 





.As my little niece says" you are my best "!!!!Hello Cass and Gordy....yes, my now former vet not only gave me script for Lantus but referred me to new vet who handles more involved cases. See that you switched from Vetsulin to Lantus so I know I will have a million questions !!!! This has been a very good day !!!!!You got the green light for insulin change??? (I'm assuming...) If so, YAYY!!!

Oh thank u, thank u,What a result, Beth! Over the moon for you!!!
Mogs
.
Mogs !!! Could never have come this far without u all!!! I am speechless, which takes a lot for me
Oh, Linda ...dancing Menace is far too cuteGreat news! I knew you'd make your case very convincing!and look Menace is excited for Elmo and you too!
View attachment 24942



I won't be much help, I just switched yesterdayHello Cass and Gordy....yes, my now former vet not only gave me script for Lantus but referred me to new vet who handles more involved cases. See that you switched from Vetsulin to Lantus so I know I will have a million questions !!!! This has been a very good day !!!!!![]()
Journeying together sounds great!!!! And with all these unbelievable helpers on this board we don't journey alone !!!I won't be much help, I just switched yesterdayBut we can do the journey together
Its exciting! I got news from my vet when I was at work, then told everyone (not that they cared all that much lol)
But WE do!I won't be much help, I just switched yesterdayBut we can do the journey together
Its exciting! I got news from my vet when I was at work, then told everyone (not that they cared all that much lol)

I am talking to my holistic vet tomorrow. I believe I remember that thyroid meds help lower BG levels some ...will ask her tomorrow. Thanks, Mogs , for the point. Taking his PMPS in 45 minutes..he may have a minor UTI but will wait for holistic vet direction on that ....Beth, did your vet give you a guide as to how long it will take for the new thyroid med dose to settle? (Wondering what impact it might have on BG levels.)
Mogs
.
Thank you,Linda...I am a bit overwhelmed right now and exhausted...I know u all understand and that helps beyond measure.He has been on a very low dose thy meds for several months but vet doubled it...going to give it tonight and heck with holistic vet tomorrow. They controlled it before with science diet yd which is high in carbs and can't help but think it aided in the diabetes. He had eaten the junk for almost 3 years .Beth, with Elmo having HyperT before he developed diabetes, getting his HyperT under better control will likely make his BG go down. HyperT can cause insulin resistance leading to the development of diabetes. As the HyperT is brought/kept under control, it's possible the diabetes could possibly go into remission. Interesting short video on the subject HERE.
ETA Elated to hear you have been referred to a vet you admire and can work with. It's so much easier when you have full faith in your medical practitioners!
His methimazole dose has been very small. Some cats are sensitive to it when the dose is raised - vomiting, inappetance. Just a heads up.Thank you,Linda...I am a bit overwhelmed right now and exhausted...I know u all understand and that helps beyond measure.He has been on a very low dose thy meds for several months but vet doubled it...going to give it tonight and heck with holistic vet tomorrow. They controlled it before with science diet yd which is high in carbs and can't help but think it aided in the diabetes. He had eaten the junk for almost 3 years .
I agree with Linda on this - keep variables to a minimum.Beth, the increased peeing/drinking could be from the higher BG too so don't despair. I'd start the increased dose of thyroid med tonight as planned. As far as dose is concerned tonight, I'd be inclined to tread lightly right now so stick with the same dose. Other may think otherwise but that's why we tag team! My thinking is that one night or even a few days of being a bit high is better than being too low and we don't know how quickly you will see results of increased dose of thyroid med. Definitely something to discuss with holistic vet tomorrow.
Curious.... I take it Elmo has been drinking/peeing more before today? Did vet suggest possible UTI or is that your speculation?
. Thankfully now it's clumps as opposed to a slab but some days she pees more than others and I see her visiting her water bowl more some days than others. My girl is generally running higher than Elmo and does far more cliff dives into the blue lagoon (where Elmo has spent most of his time lately) without actually heading into shark (hypo) territory (getting you used to Lantus speak here!) I think the BG day to day can have a noticeable effect on intake/output fluid wise but it doesn't necessarily mean there is a UTI at play. Did your vet today check Elmo's temperature or do a full blood panel to check for increased WBC (white blood cells) which could be indicative of an infection?No he did a blood panel which showed elevated BUN and CRE but not higher than 3 months agoBeth, my little sugar used to leave a wet concrete slab on the bottom of the litter pan. Thankfully now it's clumps as opposed to a slab but some days she pees more than others and I see her visiting her water bowl more some days than others. My girl is generally running higher than Elmo and does far more cliff dives into the blue lagoon (where Elmo has spent most of his time lately) without actually heading into shark (hypo) territory (getting you used to Lantus speak here!) I think the BG day to day can have a noticeable effect on intake/output fluid wise but it doesn't necessarily mean there is a UTI at play. Did your vet today check Elmo's temperature or do a full blood panel to check for increased WBC (white blood cells) which could be indicative of an infection?
Amen....now u all sound like Dr PatHis methimazole dose has been very small. Some cats are sensitive to it when the dose is raised - vomiting, inappetance. Just a heads up.
I agree with Linda on this - keep variables to a minimum.
If I recall the methimazole tablets are quite small. What fraction is manageable?Do u all think I should go with the full increased dose, a doubling of current , or go with1/4 increase?
How long since you got back from the vets? Does Elmo get affected by travel/vet stress? Did he eat a different amount today (more/less)?Just took PMPS and got 183 !!!!....
Do u all think I should go with the full increased dose, a doubling of current , or go with1/4 increase?
How long since you got back from the vets? Does Elmo get affected by travel/vet stress? Did he eat a different amount today (more/less)?
(Just covering all bases here.)
Hi Mogs....back from vet for about 3hours...loves to ride...hates the vet.....growls and had to be taken to back to draw blood...major white coat syndrome....ate the same... is scarfing down right now
I have been crushing and cutting it in half....kinda feel like a drug dealerIf I recall the methimazole tablets are quite small. What fraction is manageable?