Ella PMPS 192 +1 165 +2= 201 +3=313, +11 133

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Ella AMPS 394

Sounds good.
J.D.'s not far behind Ella with a 380 this morning.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

Thanks Dyana!

Too bad we're still in the pinks:(

I woke up for a bathroom break at +7 and she was 358

Is this generally a good time for you to be on the board?
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

I woke up at +7 and J.D. was 357. I think our cats have been playing together :lol:
I was on at 5:30am and had to log off to test feed and shoot at 6:00am, but yes, I am here until around 7:00am most days.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

They are playing together:)

I just gave Ella her 1.25u and she's eating her first snack.
I can only get a +1 out the door. Is there a range of numbers that I should be concerned about that would want be to isolate her with food?

Thanks!
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

Mostly, it's your comfort level.
Right now, I would leave out MC (medium carb) food for J.D. if he was dropping fast and I had to leave or if he was in the very low 100s and just coming down from a bounce.
For Ella; I think if she was in the 100s, and you were concerned, you could leave her isolated with some MC mixed with her regular food.
Or even if she was in the low 200s and you were concerned, you could leave her isolated with a bunch of LC.

She'll be fine, today. I leave so much food out (1/2 can 9 Lives, Friskies, or Sophisticat, and about 1 can of FF), and usually it is not eaten by the time I get home from work 10+ hours later. I have two cats.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

I wasn't planning on isolating her if her numbers were high. Do you think it's best I do so regardless of the numbers?
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

No. I think she'll be fine, today, where she is most comfortable and familiar.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

Ok thanks! Have a good day!

oh...is a 1.5 better to get than a 1?
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

Hi Tamara,
Yes, I would go for the +1.5. It is closer to a +2 and will be a better indicator of where Ella is heading. I assume that you will be leaving for work right after your +1.5. Leave out some of her regular food unless you see a big drop from your AMPS. If you see a big drop, leave out some MC (medium carb) food in addition to her regular low carb food. I agree with Dyana that she will be fine without having to be isolated from your other kitties. Just make sure there is plenty of food for all of them.
Have a good day and don't worry. Ella is nice and "high"; she'll be fine.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394

I just so happened to have the car so I sccoted home at lunch. She's 282 +6. She'll be ok without food for a couple more hours right?
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394 (came home @ lunch..question)

she'll be fine - she's got a gentle curve going and no diving. that's a good thing.

you're doing great! i don't think you need to worry about her.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394 (came home @ lunch..question)

thanks julie:)

i am a crazy cat lady :lol: :lol: :lol:

i had the time and the vehicle, which is SO rare, so I came home to see my baby:)

she's very quiet tho...tested for ketones and she was neg. i think the bounce might have taken a toll on her.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394 (came home @ lunch..question)

i sub in an elementary and i drive my husband to work pretty much every day so i'll have the car. he works on the opposite side of town from where i work - so i make a loop at 7:30am and 5pm every day. we share the car and we think of it as what we need to do right now to make it all work.

if my adult son is working on the same day as me, i drive home during my 30 minute lunch break to check punkin. if he's low, i put food in the timed feeder to open every 30 minutes after that for 2 hrs, the 4 openings the feeder will do (with a 5 compartment feeder, 1 compartment is exposed when you set it down.)

yesterday my son was off and i had him check punkin - and he caught a 34.

it's crazy - it takes me 32 minutes or so to drive 3 miles home, get punkin tested and fed, and race back to work. the people i'm working for understand i need that couple of extra minutes and they're fine about it. i make my lunch and eat it while i'm driving. but i tell myself it's only for a while.

i wouldn't expect ella to throw you a 34 at this point, so don't let my little story scare you!!!! i am thinking that it's very nice ella doesn't seem to be a diver and she may be nicely predictable for you.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394 (came home @ lunch..question)

tamara, i just thought i'd share one other possibility that i was considering when i went back to work last fall - someone suggested to me that i just take punkin with me. he would be bored, but i realized i totally could do that. just stick him in the car with a litter box on the floor on one side of the back seat.

cats are adaptable. if there is a point where you feel like you can't leave her, just keep that option in the back of your head. you could take along the testing supplies, some extra food, all that stuff and it would be fine. i think it's dyana that takes JD to work sometimes and brings him inside. i wouldn't be able to do that with punkin, but except on hot days i could make it work with him in the car if i had to.
 
Re: Ella AMPS 394 (came home @ lunch..question)

Hi Julie,

I work in a school as well :-D Greg and I carpool but he has to go much farther than me. So much so, that there just isn't enough time to drop him off first. I've thought of the ideas but it's just not feasible with the traffic and distance.

I think the auto feeder might work well for Ella if she presents me with a low number in the morning. I'd love to bring her to work but we have a no pet policy due to allergies:(

Her breathing rate is a bit quicker today. She did eat her snack and played with the wand but doesn't totally seem like herself.
Do you know if I should I be concerned about feeding a higher fat diet to a cat who has had pancreatitis?
I would be devastated if that returned :-|

Perhaps I should present this question on the health board?!
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Please read for dosing!

Hello All,

Ella is 192! That's such a big drop from the morning! I wasn't supposed to feed her when I got home as it was a bit after +10 but she was starving!
I guess she's cleared her bounce but should I still dose her at 1.25u?
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

I would give her her shot (regular dose of 1.25 units). If she's going to earn a dose reduction, let her do it tonight, while you're home to monitor her.
If nothing else, you can get some experience in lower numbers and manipulating the lower numbers.
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

i did it dyana!!! oh geez...let the nerves begin!!!

i did the bg at 5:50pm, fed her 2/8 with the intention of shooting at six. then i chickened out and didn't shoot unitl 6:20 ( the same time i shot this morning)

do i check her +1 at 7:20 or at 6:50pm?

darn...i should have gotten a +11!
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

no the test was taken about 1.5 hours
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

she's starving for food. she gets all weird when she goes low!

but she only had an 1/8 or even a bit less.
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

If you shot at 6:20pm, then her +1 will be at 7:20pm. I would test then. And you can feed the starving kitty :) her regular meal.
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

she's eaten 2/8 and has 3/8 left. but id' like to spread those out at +1 and +2.
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

just file away for the future (sorry, a repairman came to the door - i'd forgotten he was scheduled) - don't give food in the 2 hours prior to any shot. as you'll see when you check her +1ish, food usually causes a spike in numbers. you want to shoot a number that isn't food-influenced.

you wanna convince yourself that she's not going to die from starvation after you get home from work! ;-) cuz if you're not convinced, she's going to sense it and milk it for all its worth! they are sneaky little psychic creatures - they see inside your brain and if she sees sympathy and her psychic vibes pick up "oh mom is feeling sorry for me!" she'll zoom right in on it and every single day she's going to do this. :lol: believe me, i live with the king of psychic vibes! i used to joke a lot about punkin's Feed Me Contract. one time we were traveling and my son ended up giving him his shot 3 hours late. i spent 3 days trying work his schedule backwards, enduring his constant complaining, because even though he was getting the same amount of food - it was all 3 hours late. i finally gave up, i think i might've skipped a shot to get us back on track. They Know How to Get The Fuds. They tell each other what works on the beans - and then they do it to all of us.

anyway, i'm teasing you - but you do want to harden your heart a little or you're going to be off schedule waiting that 2 hours.

see you tonight!
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

Tease away!!! I'm used to it:)
But if she's low when I get home at a +10 then I'm assuming I can feed her right?
Can I feed her again before I do her +1 ....she is hungry:)
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

feed her as much as you want in the first several hours of the cycle, although you probably don't want her to gain weight.

at this stage of the game, you can always feed if you see a number under 50. if she's under 50 when you get home, absolutely feed her. that's what we would consider a lower number. ;-)
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192!!! Question before dosing!

+ 165...she's dropping but not by that much..right?

I hope she doesn't bounce again...she gets so nervous...like her mother!
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192 +1 165 +2= 201

+2 201 Can I assume this is due to the food?
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192 +1 165 +2= 201

keep in mind that I fed her at 5:50..when I was supposed to give the shot at 6:00. I stalled unitl 6:20 pm. So she had her first big meal 2 and a half hours ago. So these numbers must be from a food spike.
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192 +1 165 +2= 201 +3=313

+3 313...I think she's bouncing again.
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192 +1 165 +2= 201

sometimes you just go with the flow and see how things work out. i've *almost* stopped trying to predict what things mean, although it is seriously in my blood to try to figure things out! :lol: normally, we'd expect the food spike to begin within 30 minutes of eating - but, cats like to mess with us just to keep us from predicting anything. ;-)

what you're seeing now looks great. a +2 similar to a preshot means you'll likely (unless she feels a need to prove the beans wrong!) see a gentle curve in the cycle - no steep drops. this is a good thing and designed to let you sleep at night. :-D

if she were mine, i'd get a before-bed test and assuming it's still over 100, go sleep all night. i'm home this evening and will watch for your next test. i'm sure others are watching too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192 +1 165 +2= 201 +3=313

a gentle curve would be nice although it seems she just doesn't like the blues at this moment. after i fed her her snack during the 'forbidden' feeding time :lol: she became quite anxious and wanted more food. Her bg was proabably dropping and whenever it goes into the blues she seems to bounce. I hope she prooves me wrong this time!

Would feeding over a period of the first four hours help for a cat that tends to bounce?
Does it take along time to get accustomed to new the new lower levels?

I'd like to go to bed now but I can set my alarm for a +5 or +6. What would be best?
 
Re: Ella PMPS 192 +1 165 +2= 201 +3=313

looks like she's started a new bounce! i think you can safely go to bed, although she's clearing these pretty fast so you might want to check a little before your shot in the morning in case you need advice.

i don't know the answer to your questions because cats are all different on those things. i think your best course is to plow ahead and keep doing what you are doing until she settles down, or at least for now. consistency in as much as possible lets us focus on the dose and if it needs to be changed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top