ELI 10/21 AMPS 241, +2.75 239, +5.5 239, 10+ 270

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrienne & Eli

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Here's a recap of yesterday:
AMPS 389
+2 324
+3.25 233
+3.75 285
PMPS HI
+2 428
+6 209
+10 210
I had to leave at +4 and couldn't get anymore readings until the PMPS. The +3.75 seems weird, I thought he was going down too fast and panicked since I was leaving and took the 3.75, could that have stressed him and he went higher? But then lower later since he was back up at Hi for PMPS. Another roller coaster.

I'm now battling him not eating the canned food as well. I know it's not lack of appetite b/c he's walking around trying to find every bit of dried canned cat food on the floor and licking it up. Any suggestions on how to wage this new war?

I have to go out of town this afternoon and won't be back until Tuesday afternoon. My mom is going to take care of Eli - I hope it goes smooth for her.

Thanks and have a great day!
 
Re: ELI 10/21 AMPS 241

Adrienne:

I'd set up a sample syringe using a colored liquid for your mom. If you're confident that she can draw the 1.25u, that's fine. Often, when people are using a pet sitter, we encourage reducing the dose and using a dose that sits on one of the lines on the syringe.

Will your mom be testing Eli? If not, then I'd definitely encourage a dose reduction.

I don't think the rise in numbers was due to stress. I think what you saw yesterday was a bounce. Cat's don't need to drop into low green numbers to bounce. Eli dropped roughly 150 points from AMPS to +3. That was a relatively fast drop. In addition, you're seeing that Eli's numbers often pop back to pink or red when his nadirs are below 300. It can take a while for a cat's body to start to get used to spending time in lower numbers.
 
Re: ELI 10/21 AMPS 241

Thanks Sienne - so it's nothing to get too disturbed about. I think you are right, it might be best to go back to the 1.0 dose. I think she can handle measuring the 1.25, but I'm not sure what she will think about my mandating a whole lot of testing. I'll talk it over with her to see what's best. Also, the six cycles - is a cyle 12 hours or 24 hours?
 
Re: ELI 10/21 AMPS 241

Another question - what is the minimum testing a home sitter could do and still not reduce the dose? I know my mom will do AMPS and PMPS, what else is critical? Sorry with all the questions - I'm still getting the hang of this!! Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top