EEK! Harry AMPS 371 +4=319 +10=34 +10.5=40.8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harrycat

Member Since 2012
erm - help me out here guys - that's quite a drop!!!

H had the normal low carb food for brekkie this morning but didn't eat a massive amount (fussy.com), he left about 1/4 in the bowl so he did have plenty, plus I had reduced the dose too. He came back to snack on the rest at +10 (just now) so I thought I'd best test him as it was getting close to 2 hrs before shot time and I didn't want a dodgy food reading at shot time. I have never known him drop that fast on Lantus :shock: :o . I was sort of leaving him be a bit more today (trying to rest the ears) as he was so high this morning on a bounce I figured we were OK. - erm WRONG!!

Any pearls of advice?? Luckily I am about for the next 2 days but I am out all day on Weds and possibly thurs and fri too..... :shock:
 
Re: EEK! Harry AMPS 371 +4=319 +10=34 !!!

HARRY!!! You're name is NOT KT! He's the only one allowed to do that!

Did you double-check with another test just in case it was a hokie pokie? That drop looks like he didn't eat during the cycle too - bounce breaking plus not enough food is what causes KT to do this.

I have no suggestions but sending you a hug, someone will give you a 'real' answer shortly....

BIG HUG,
 
Re: EEK! Harry AMPS 371 +4=319 +10=34 !!!

hmm - no I didn't think to do another one, will do next time I get a surprise. I was too busy making sure he would eat some more!! (he has).

I am betting he is about 12 in 2 hrs time but then he seems to be breaking all the rules recently!!
 
Re: EEK! Harry AMPS 371 +4=319 +10=34 !!!

Take a deep breath and breathe your doing good, come on Harry :smile:
 
sorry - take me a while to extract him from under the bed when we do this game.... :roll: He is now 2.6 (44.2) and has just had a different sort of HC that eventually got him out from under the bed (but he is safest there from the kids - who are currently eating playdoh....grrr)
 
Should I be skipping or half dosing tonight?

He has just gone out for a bit now the rain has stopped (think he might need to do his stuff!!). He will come back in when I call him
 
You tested him then gave him more HC?

I would test again in 30 minutes. You want to continue the process until he is up well above 50. If you've given him HV a couple times, he should be up.

Lets see where he is at shot time....you might need to skip to drain the depot. You just reduced him this morning so I wouldn't reduce the dose again yet. The 34 today is most likely due to the 1.5u dose from yesterday. Once he's up more, Id like to give you some info on reductions.

See you in 30.
 
Are you able to stall the shot any and make up the time 30 mins a day?

I don't want you to shoot a food influenced number. I would now withhold food and see what his numbers do. If he continues to rise, you could give a late shot....if you can stall. If he's still coming up an hour after his normal shot time, without food for 1.5 hours, you can shoot.

Thoughts?
 
stall is not a problem. I will be at home at 0730 tomorrow morning anyways.

will test again in an hour? or still every 30?
 
Why don't you just test at +13 which is one hour after his normal shot time. I just want to give him plenty of time without food.
 
Ok..great! I say shoooootttttt 1.25u now and I'd be sure and get a before bed test.

To get back to your normal shot time, you can shoot early 15 mins every cycle starting tomorrow morning or shoot 30 mins early Monday night and Tuesday night. That should put you right back on your normal shot time. If you like this new shot time, just keep shooting at it every 12 hours.

Sound good?
 
Can i give him the rest of his tea (normal low carb) now too?

If he is super high at normal shot time tomorrow (I am expecting this) what would be protocol?
 
Yes...you can feed him.

If he is above 300 tomorrow morning, you could shoot one hour early from tonight and be back on schedule but you must monitor him fairly closely the next couple cycles after you shoot early because it can act as a dose increase and bring numbers back down fast.

I wanted to go over reductions with you. I like to take whatever opportunities we have for lessons learned :-D

In looking at his SS, I see two reductions which should have taken immediately.

6/15... 34 in am cycle and you reduced that night to 2u..GREAT!
6/17....38 in PM cycle; did not reduce next cycle when AMPS was green
6/19....finally reduced to 1.75u in a.m. Cycle and then reduced to 1.5u in PM cycle but did not go below 50 in either cycle
6/22....47 in a.m. Cycle and did not reduce in PM cycle but should have; reduced to 1.25u this morning....34 in a.m. Cycle....likely depot.

If he earns a reduction in a particular cycle, it's important to give it the very next cycle unless:
1. he bounces really high the next cycle; then you could shoot through the bounce once and take the reduction in the very next cycle.
Example:
earns reduction on an a.m. cycle by going below 50
PMPS is 350; shoot through bounce that cycle with a.m. dose
next day AMPS cycle...take reduction

2. we are cautious about giving back to back reductions because we have to let the depot drain; example is today...you took the reduction this morning and he dropped below 50; we don't take another reduction because this low number is likely the depot from the 1.5u dose.

You might also want to read my post on Reductions. It reviews reductions, depot issues, etc.

Any questions? We love questions!
 
OK cool. I missed one of the advices notes from Sienne to reduce, and also I reduced on the 19th as his PMPS was so low. Knowing him if his PMPS was that low then he was lower during the day so I reduced. Should I have just skipped that one on the 19th?

Now working to the rule that if he is under 50 in a cycle, then reduce the next shot by 0.25 (If I can't get an answer out of you guys, which is rare bless ya!)

This is all a bit mad as it's going a bit fast. I was under the impression I was going to be holding reductions for 7 days.....it's sort of thrown me a bit that he keeps kicking out the low numbers. I didn't ever imagine we would get this far!!
 
Normally we don't reduce for a 52 like on the PM cycle of 6/19 but there are no absolutes and I don't have any problem with the fact that you reduced then. He was "owed" a reduction from before so it was fine. You used your instinct on that. Any time we reduce for safety, it's a smart thing. You can always go back up if the reduction doesn't hold.

I'm always more concerned about missed reductions than giving "unearned" reductions because you can always go back up if you need to. :-D

Great job today. HOpe you have a good evening!!!

BTW...there are two really important posts linked in my signature block on dealing with low preshots and handling low numbers. I'd print both of those and have them handy. Since we are on pretty different time zones, those would help you in a pinch if no one is around.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top