Edith's BG Curve - new - and her diabetes journey thus far...

albertresidence

Member Since 2019
Original post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-foster-kitty-on-lantus.223069/#post-2500337

I was able to get Edith's BG curve done a couple of days ago. I was also able to get the paperwork from the Vet that initially "adopted" her as their office kitty. One of the younger Vets that works there "claimed" Edith as her kitty and took her home for a while but returned her back to the office when she got a room mate. He had a kitty and the Apartment Complex only allowed one pet so Edith got the short end of the stick. That alone is really sad!

So, on October 30th, 2018 she was admitted to the Vet hospital after our Rescue saved Edith of "death row" at the shelter. Dx was possible diabetes vs CRF, vs FeLV. On November 5th, 2018 her BG was checked and it was 481. She was walking plantigrade with the inability to jump. Eleven days later, November 26th, 2018 they started her on Lantus, 1U SID. A day later, November 27th, 2018 they did a BG Curve (six samples, BG range 271 - 413) and bumped her Lantus up to 2U SID. It states to re-check BG curve but it was never done. She stayed on 2U SID until I took her under my wing on December 8th, 2019. I started educating myself about FD and that's how I found you guys and this life saving Message Board.

I'm sorry for this long post, but I wanted to get all of the facts out. I did her BG Curve, as advised, on December 29th, 2019. I also received my new insulin syringes with half-unit-markings. I'm also going to order new Lantus Solostar pens because the one that the Vet handed me along with Edith was first opened August 22nd, 2019. I'm not sure if it was always stored properly and may have lost it's strength? She has been on Lantus 1U BID since December 18th, 2019. I appreciate all of your advice regarding a proper dosage for her.
 
Sorry to hear of Edith's past, but things are sure looking better at your place. Thank you. :bighug:

Is it possible for you do blood sugar tests at night after PMPS? Many kitties go lower at night and we decide how to change doses based on how low the dose gets the cat. Hence those night time tests can be few informative. Getting something just before you go to bed is a good habit to get into. I do think she could use an increase though to 1.25 units.

Have you read the sticky note on our dosing methods? People here use one of Tight Regulation TR or Start Low Go Slow, SLGS, and it'd help us help you if you pick one that works for you, and add either TR or SLGS to your signature. The increase would be fine, not matter which dosing method you were following.
 
Thank you @Wendy&Neko , @Sue and Luci, I did read all the stickys several days ago. Truly an abundance of valuable information. The one about the dosing method was a little overwhelming since this is still all new to me. I just read it again. The SLGS method is the one that would work best for me in helping Edith. I got confused if I can still apply this method since the Vet had her on a higher dose SID for so long and I just dropped it to BID. Is it still considered as "Start Low Go Slow" since we are completely starting over or better said finally getting her regulated?
 
Thank you for taking care of Edith. As Wendy suggested, I would increase to 1.25 every 12 hours. Lantus wares off in cats after 12 hours so once a day dosing makes no sense for most cats. If youncan get those night tests in we will have a better idea of how it’s working. If there’s a way to juggle your shot time to get a test two hours after your morning dose or if that’s impossible one hour after that will help too. Often a +2 is a good indicator of how the cycle will go. If neither is possible the night tests will have to do. An auto feeder would be a good thing to add so that she can eat a few times a day while you are at work.

You are at the best place to help Edith.
 
You are fine to increase now. The SLGS starting guidelines are for kitties brand new to insulin, which Edith is not. We can use the data you have gathered so far, and you have been on 1 unit long enough to fill the depot, so we know what that dose is capable of.

If you could edit the signature to add SLGS, it’ll help us trying to help you. You can also remove the 2 unit SID, as you are no longer doing that. People can look at the spreadsheet to see current dose, so it’s not needed in the signature.
 
Thank you @Wendy&Neko, @tiffmaxee, I just edited my signature. I will increase Lantus to 1.25 BID, starting tomorrow. The PMPS data on Edith's SS is 12 hrs. after her initial AMPS testing, feeding and shot. Getting another late night testing in would that be documented on the right side of the spreadsheet? Tiffmaxee, unfortunately an auto feeder won't work in our situation. It's a multi-kitty household with me doing senior and hospice care. That's what I do when we pull "time stamped cats" from a local high kill shelter. Most of them are owner surrenders, being dumped at the shelter in their senior years. They deserve love and care in their golden years, it really breaks my heart. Edith seems happy with getting her breakfast, freeze dried snack and supper - of course - she would always be up for it to get some more goodies=)
 
Yes, any test after PMPS go in the spreadsheet to the right of the PMPS entry. Even a test two hours after the PM shot can give us a clue what is happening in the PM cycle.
 
Back
Top