Edith on Lantus - increase dose?

albertresidence

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/edith-on-lantus-new-dosing-advice.224563/#post-2512777

I know that with SLGS you usually just hold the dose for about 7 days, do a curve and adjust insulin accordingly. Unfortunately, do to my schedule, I wasn't able to do another curve until yesterday as you can see on Edith SS. Her nadirs are still way above 150 so I would increase her insulin by 0.25 to 1.75 BID. That seems like a lot to me or isn't it? Please advice. We also had two lower as usual numbers AMPS in the past couple of days (140 and 154) were I didn't give insulin at all in the AM (see remarks on SS) .
 
Last edited:
First suggestion, can you get night time cycle tests? Many cats go lower at night. Getting a tests just before you go to bed is helpful. We determine the dose based on how low it takes the cat, hence the importance of night time tests. Those blue mornings tell me Edith was likely lower the two nights leading up to that blue.

Skipping a dose also depletes the depot, making it hard to see what the 1.5 units is doing. Could you wait a couple days, get a before bed test tonight and tomorrow night, and then ask again about increasing? and by the way 1.75 units is not a high dose. My girl topped our at 8.75 units, though she had a couple secondary endocrine conditions making her more complicated.
 
@Wendy&Neko, I can definitely wait for a couple more days. Skipping her morning dose on these two days was based on the information given here. I thought I did the right thing since her numbers didn't go up into a save range after re-testing her 20 minutes later. Her PMPS is at 10:30 pm. I'm not able to move her shooting time right now but can try to stay up to test her again. I did get two readings in PMPS +2 and the next day PMPS +3 and both numbers were high.
 
Just curious, any particular reason your preshot time is 10:30? The one downside to a late time is not being able to get more night time tests. The two you did get were almost 4 weeks ago and a different dose. If you can't get tests during the day, and many can't due to work, it's a good practice to get those night time tests each and every night.
 
@Wendy&Neko, I continued with the time frame the Vet had her on while she was in their care but they only gave her Lantus SID. All that changed to BID after I joined here and learned the proper protocol for Lantus. I don't have a stable schedule but at least I know that I'm always home around 10:00 pm to give Edith her PM shot. This is the best I can do and I'm trying really hard to do right by her and the rest of my kitty gang here.
 
I was just curious, some people have odd work schedules, but sometimes we can think of a way to move the schedule that fits work and gets more tests in. If you get up before 10, is it's possible to get a test at something like 7:30 or 8:00 in the morning? That would still give us good information. We have one caregiver who can't test during the day but gets a PM +10 (2 hours before the morning shot) and it helps her figure out what is happening overnight.
 
Back
Top