Eddie- thoughts on dose for AM? 1/4 - 1/5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Three cycles on 2U after reducing from 3U. Looks like his numbers are a bit less bouncy. Will see with his AMPS. The plan is to do a 16 hr. curve as instructed by our tech, although I pretty much already did one today. Those greens make me nervous since Eddie can't quite decide when he hits nadair, and it's tough to figure out if he's done going down or not. It's varied from +4 to +7.

Does it look good to stay with 2U for the curve? Reduce a bit? Increase a bit to bring the PS numbers down a bit?

Jen and Eddie
 
Hey Jen and. eddie,

Welcome to PZI! This forum is smaller than Health but friendly and everyone here has experience with your insulin. We will answer you, but not always right away - so if you ever have an emergency, post in Health.

He is looking good. I am a little nervous about the two units (as I mentioned on Health) because sometimes it takes a while for-the food and insulin to work together and then they drop lower than expected. As long as you can monitor, the 2 looks okay. I would not increase. If you can't be there and catch a possible low, I would decrease.

BTW, great job testing! Isn't it great to know where he is and not worry and wonder?
 
Thanks Sue! I'm OK with 2U as well as long as I can keep a close eye on his numbers, but I'm leaning towards a small decrease going into the week since there's no guarantees that DH or I can test after the AM dose until roughly +10.

Now that we seem to have home testing down, it's incredibly informative to see what Eddie's numbers are doing. I am so glad we decided to do it. I feel like we can get better control of him faster by being able to see directly how the insulin affects him. Before we got started, I had wondered if he was hitting low during the day and experiencing a bounce to explain why his vet test results, which were right at the end of his AM cycle, were increasing at each visit - the last one being over 500. Had we not tested at home, I suspect they would have upped his dose again, and would very possibly have pushed him into hypo territory.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top