Eating "salad" and human glucometer question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah & Jackie

Member Since 2015
to those of you that are using a human glucometer, do you need to do any equations to convert your results to a cat's values? And how many of you allow your cat's outside in a controlled environment? Do they regularly still eat grass? If so, are you concerned about that effecting their low carb diet's effectiveness?
 
to those of you that are using a human glucometer, do you need to do any equations to convert your results to a cat's values? And how many of you allow your cat's outside in a controlled environment? Do they regularly still eat grass? If so, are you concerned about that effecting their low carb diet's effectiveness?
Addtionally, if Jackie's AMPS was 231, should I perhaps reduce his dose? Due to circumstances beyond my control, his dosing time is much too late(11 AM). By Monday, I need to get it as close back to 7 AM as possible, as I am back to work then. Please advise.:blackeye:
 
Regarding glucometer values, never do any conversions. Instead, see my signature link Glucometer Notes which provides feline-specific reference ranges for human glucometers, as well as notes on interpretation.

For schedule adjustment, it can depend on your insulin (please add that to your signature). If Lantus or Levemir, change shot times by 15 minutes per shot, or a total of 30 minutes per day. OR, skip a shot.
 
Do they regularly still eat grass? If so, are you concerned about that effecting their low carb diet's effectiveness?
I'm in the UK and letting cats outside is the norm here.
Bertie often has a munch on some grass, and to the best of my knowledge it has never adversely affected his blood glucose. And in fact, given that cats may seek out grass when they have excess stomach acid or a furball, it could actually be beneficial to them by helping them to puke up and then be more comfortable.

The only problem I've ever had is when Bertie got some grass stuck up his nose and had to go under anesthetic to have it removed...(the grass, I mean; not his nose.... :rolleyes: )
I do not think this is a common occurrence....
 
Regarding glucometer values, never do any conversions. Instead, see my signature link Glucometer Notes which provides feline-specific reference ranges for human glucometers, as well as notes on interpretation.

For schedule adjustment, it can depend on your insulin (please add that to your signature). If Lantus or Levemir, change shot times by 15 minutes per shot, or a total of 30 minutes per day. OR, skip a shot.
Jackie is on Lantus. I posted it on his profile. How do I include it on his Spreadsheet? I need to update with his last few days readings anyway.
 
Just put the Lantus in your signature. You only get 3 hard returns, so it will need to go on the same line as one of the other items you have listed.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top