? Earned an increase? Zephyr 12/3 AMPS 307 +2 285 +4 206 +6 150 +8 123 +10 166

labyrinthos

Member Since 2019
We've been doing a slow motion version of SLGS. It's been a crazy couple of months for travel for both humans in the house, so making sure he gets his shot, gets tested regularly, and has someone around in case anything goes wrong has been a major challenge.

We're home now for the next 3 weeks and around enough to keep an eye on him. So I'm considering an adjustment of up by .25

He's currently at 2.25 and seems to be doing well. According to the system since he's between 100 and 150 at nadir (and nighttime nadir is possibly lower) I should just keep him at dose. But his numbers are only regulated and I'd like to get to those "well regulated" numbers. Also he has occasional bounces up into the 400's again, but who knows what that's about... :)

So I guess I can just leave him here unless something changes? I guess as long as he's regulated it's fine?

Thanks for advice!
 
I don’t see any reason to think he’s earned a reduction. He hasn’t been under 90.
 
Last edited:
Lol. That makes more sense. Can you get some pm tests so we see the whole picture?
 
Last edited:
I agree with Elize (tiffmaxee). I'd try to get a before bed test each and every night. Cats often go lower then and I see a few daytime bounces that indicate he might be dropping at night. Today's curve says hold the dose, unless your spot checks tell you otherwise.
 
I agree with Elize (tiffmaxee). I'd try to get a before bed test each and every night. Cats often go lower then and I see a few daytime bounces that indicate he might be dropping at night. Today's curve says hold the dose, unless your spot checks tell you otherwise.
The PMPS is basically just before bed. He's at 10 every 12 hours, and I'm normally in bed by 11.
 
The point is that you need some PM cycle tests. You have no idea whether Zephyr is dropping into low numbers during the PM cycle. Many cats do experience lower numbers at night. In addition, without any PM numbers, you're missing half of your data.

Is there any way you can adjust your shot schedule so you're shooting earlier?
 
The point is that you need some PM cycle tests. You have no idea whether Zephyr is dropping into low numbers during the PM cycle. Many cats do experience lower numbers at night. In addition, without any PM numbers, you're missing half of your data.

Is there any way you can adjust your shot schedule so you're shooting earlier?
Unfortunately there isn't a better solution for the shot schedule for us. We initially were on an earlier schedule, but the early evenings are really hard for us to make it back in time due to our work schedules and commitments.

And I know doing a full PM cycle would be helpful, it's just so hard. Once I'm awake I don't fall back asleep afterwards, and I am someone who functions terribly on little sleep. I haven't had a day where the following day commitments don't require me to be functional. I'll try though. Before we commit to an increase.
 
I wouldn't suggest getting a full PM cycle. You need to sleep!! The only thing you or your husband might consider is that if you wake up because nature calls (or some other reason), get a test.

My concern is that if you're only testing at PM shot time, you just have no idea what is happening during the PM cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. You're gone much of the AM cycle and you're not testing during the PM cycle. Zephyr could be dropping into the 30s during the middle of either cycle and you'd never know. I'm going to guess your kitty will be in high numbers at AMPS after seeing those blue numbers today. If all you had were AMPS and PMPS, you wouldn't know that Zephyr saw blues.
 
I wouldn't suggest getting a full PM cycle. You need to sleep!! The only thing you or your husband might consider is that if you wake up because nature calls (or some other reason), get a test.

My concern is that if you're only testing at PM shot time, you just have no idea what is happening during the PM cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. You're gone much of the AM cycle and you're not testing during the PM cycle. Zephyr could be dropping into the 30s during the middle of either cycle and you'd never know. I'm going to guess your kitty will be in high numbers at AMPS after seeing those blue numbers today. If all you had were AMPS and PMPS, you wouldn't know that Zephyr saw blues.
I know the AMPS and PMPS aren't enough, but when we have cat sitters it's hard to get those inbetween values. And sometimes hard to even get those!

I grabbed a test first thing this morning and he was at 86, and bounced up to 435 for AMPS. So you were correct about that jump! I'll try and grab a couple more test tonight closer to +6 and +8 since those seem to be his nadirs during the day. Thanks for your help!
 
I know it's hard - but at least try to get that last test in before going to bed in the evening - I've done the same thing - many a night...I'm up at the crack of dawn for work...so I don't stay up late...but can manage to get a 1+ or 2+ before bed - then thankfully DH can grab one more a bit later on - most nights...sometimes not...we all do our best :) And look at the prize he gave you last night! A nice normal number! He's sneaking off and getting better numbers - without telling you.

The other thing you might consider is a Freestyle Libre - it monitors constantly but does require placement by a vet - and has to be changed regularly. But it's an excellent tool for people who just cannot be around to get the tests...I have not had one, but apparently you can upload the readings into your mobile phone via the app...at least you'd know what was going on while you're away at work.
 
Back
Top