Early? Late? or not at all? (I'm a bad Mum)

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
Question for you all. We've had Max on Lantus with some success for about 6 weeks now. We give him a shot every 12 hrs and have never missed a shot or been late.

The thing is, we have theatre tickets in 2 weeks, (we've had the tickets for 3 months) and we'll be gone from 3 hrs before Max's PM shot, to 3 hrs after his shot.

There is nobody around to give him his shot. I've checked. The vet is closed, the pet sitter is booked, my parents are out of town, etc.

What do we do? I love my Max, but I'm not willing or able to stay home for the rest of my life! I'm going crazy as it is, we haven't been able to go out to dinner, a movie or even see friends in the evening since Max was diagnosed. Can anyone suggest a solution? I feel so guilty, but I've been looking forward to this for a really long time.

Thanks a million,
Holly
 
One other thought is to see if one of the techs from the vet's office would be available to give a shot.

If none of the usual options is possible, you could skip the shot. We've all given fur shots or been in a situation where we thought we could shoot and weren't able to or overslept, or any number of other situations. Life happens.
 
I already checked with the Vet tech, unfortunately, she's not available that evening.

If we do go & skip the shot, should we give him a half dose when we get home?

Thanks!
 
If you skip, DO NOT give insulin when you get home. Maintain your regular schedule i.e. your amps the next day will be +24. Since you did not shoot the night before.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top