Earlier hypo, now 73 - Acro kitty, help/advice needed

Karen&Rocket

Member Since 2019
Hi all - Rocket had SRT done about 7 weeks ago now, and his BG has been pretty erratic in the last few weeks. I caught a 47 this morning at AM+2. I had shot a slightly lower dose since he was still going lower overnight - he's done this before, and always skyrocketed back up, so I wasn't concerned. I'm concerned now, since his next dose is about to onset. I've been feeding some MC with some honey here and there, got him up to 102 at one point, but he's back in the 70s. Ready to go to the vet if needed.

Should I put the 911 tag on this post?

tagging:
@Wendy&Neko
@MrWorfMen's Mom

Thank you so much.
 
Wouldn't hurt to put a 911 up temporarily just to summon more hands on deck.
Do you have any food with gravy so you can just give Rocket some gravy to avoid filling him up in case you have to steer for awhile?
 
Wouldn't hurt to put a 911 up temporarily just to summon more hands on deck.
Do you have any food with gravy so you can just give Rocket some gravy to avoid filling him up in case you have to steer for awhile?
Thank you Linda. I have a couple cans. Hubby will be on the way home soon - going to ask him to pick up a few more & some extra test strips.
 
It's nice to see Rocket getting better numbers but he really is all over the place which makes it tough on you. Looks like the skipped shot and reduced dose wasn't enough of a drain on the depot for Rocket at this point. When is your next test due?
 
Just got AM+4.5 of 100. But that's been with gravy, etc.

Yeah it's been tough. There's really no discernible pattern... and he tends to have really long cycles sometimes.
 
Did Rocket have hypo symptoms, or just go below 50? Which we call a low numbers event. Note that kitties not on insulin can test in the 40's, mine did, you just don't want a cat on insulin there as there is no room for margin. If he did have hypo symptoms, that's a different story.

Today's low number was the 11 unit depot talking. The reduced dose doesn't have an immediate effect, but will help drain the depot a bit. You have a couple options, depending on where he is later this cycle. If he bounces high, you can shoot a new dose of 10 units tonight. If he is lower than you are comfortable with, shoot a lower dose tonight, and resume with 10 units tomorrow morning.

And yes, with SRT in the recent picture, back to back reductions are OK for safety. Caution is key.
 
We save 911 for medical emergencies, you don't need it now. To get eyes on you, put up the ? icon and something like "need help" on the subject line. 911 gets our hearts racing. :nailbiting:
 
Hi Wendy and thank you. No, no hypo symptoms as far as I can tell, so that's good. Any advice for getting through this next bit, when this morning's dose will be more active? I guess as long as I can get him to eat a bit here and there, he'll be ok? I'm a little worried.
 
You're doing fine Karen. As long as you can get him to eat or lap up some gravy, you can keep him safe. Those lime greens certainly can be heart stopping when they are on insulin but you caught him.
 
Rocket's holding for now. Keep the food to a minimum/normal level for now and see if he'll surf for a bit. I hear you on how stressful these cycles are. Menace once had me on alert for 22 hours straight and followed it with another 18 hour cycle of chasing when her IAA was breaking. Exhausting but the reward in the long run is so worth it.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I didn't mean to scare you. Part of that time frame was because I am such a control freak. She also had IAA not acro and when IAA breaks, it goes quickly. Sorry!
 
Neko had both acro/SRT, and her IAA broke at the same time,:eek: it was a little lively at times. :p Got to know one of our South African members a little better as she was one of the few folks on late. I never had more than one cycle of excitement, I knew Neko’s response to carbs and could manage her numbers. Keep good notes on carb %, amounts and times fed. More detail than “honey a little later”. Something like 1/4 tsp honey @+5, or whenever. Learn how long how much honey and your usual HC lasts in his system. Try different carb% HC, I had some 21% for the big guns and 16% as the usual.

Looks like he’s starting to rise on his own and you can slow down the testing,

Interesting example of a Levemir nadir at +14.
 
Neko had both acro/SRT, and her IAA broke at the same time,:eek: it was a little lively at times. :p Got to know one of our South African members a little better as she was one of the few folks on late. I never had more than one cycle of excitement, I knew Neko’s response to carbs and could manage her numbers. Keep good notes on carb %, amounts and times fed. More detail than “honey a little later”. Something like 1/4 tsp honey @+5, or whenever. Learn how long how much honey and your usual HC lasts in his system. Try different carb% HC, I had some 21% for the big guns and 16% as the usual.
Oh man, I’ve looked at your SS from that time and it was quite a ride. Good point on the notes; I have a few more details jotted down on a notepad, but probably still not enough.
Interesting example of a Levemir nadir at +14.
Seriously. I’m wondering again if I should consider going back to ProZinc, and not have a depot to worry about... Rocket is so unpredictable right now, that it makes it impossible to plan anything. Which is fine, I don’t mind canceling lunch, etc., but I do freelance work and I’ve had to turn down a couple jobs already. Of course I just got a new set of Lev pens last week lol. ;)
 
I really liked late nadirs, I was always home for the lows. At night time I could test, feed, shoot, and go our for dinner or a movie cause I had hours to onset. Plus Neko was just so much flatter and more predictable on Levemir. Rocket was dropping all night, a classic bounce breaking cycle, a day I would not have gone out. :eek: Plus it was the sixth cycle after the skip, so the depot was finally built up. Anyway, once you learn the tricks, it does become more predictable.
 
I knew Neko’s response to carbs and could manage her numbers.
I on the other hand had a kibble addicted cat who when she finally agreed to eat wet food was a one flavour/texture low carb wonder. Made dealing with low numbers super scary until I discovered the hard way she liked sugar donuts. Kept a supply in the freezer and kept one out wrapped at all times just in case I needed some big guns to get her back to safety.:woot:
 
I really liked late nadirs, I was always home for the lows. At night time I could test, feed, shoot, and go our for dinner or a movie cause I had hours to onset. Plus Neko was just so much flatter and more predictable on Levemir. Rocket was dropping all night, a classic bounce breaking cycle, a day I would not have gone out. :eek: Plus it was the sixth cycle after the skip, so the depot was finally built up. Anyway, once you learn the tricks, it does become more predictable.
I hope so! Now we’re about three hrs away from PM shot time. If, and now that I’m asking, I’m sure Rocket will shoot up to 300-something, but IF we’re still lowish at shot time, I’m thinking of shooting 6 units (or less?) tonight and then reducing to 10 tomorrow. How does that sound?
 
I on the other hand had a kibble addicted cat who when she finally agreed to eat wet food was a one flavour/texture low carb wonder. Made dealing with low numbers super scary until I discovered the hard way she liked sugar donuts. Kept a supply in the freezer and kept one out wrapped at all times just in case I needed some big guns to get her back to safety.:woot:
Lol! Sugar donuts? That’s kinda cute. :cat:
 
130 at +10, for what it's worth. He hasn't been eating too terribly much so this is probably him rising on his own. Stay down under 250 or so, would ya buddy? :nailbiting:
 
Steady Rocket, no need to zoom.

What do you feel like doing tonight? Able to monitor, or need sleep?
 
Steady Rocket, no need to zoom.

What do you feel like doing tonight? Able to monitor, or need sleep?
Can we compromise? ;) I’d love to monitor as much as needed but always afraid I won’t wake up for one of the alarms. But, I don’t want him in super high numbers either. What would you do?
 
Ok I ended up shooting 9U. I think I probably could’ve shot 10 but I wanted to be a little careful. Kind of a weird choice maybe, but should I still go with 10U in the morning (reduction from 11U)? Depending on how overnight goes of course?
 
No, but about to sleep. I would go back to 10 units in the morning. 9 units is not low enough to interrupt the depot, usually you need to go half or 2/3 dose for that. But he could still bounce and make it a quiet night. It was a wonderful day for Rocket. Nice long stretch below renal threshold.
 
No, but about to sleep. I would go back to 10 units in the morning. 9 units is not low enough to interrupt the depot, usually you need to go half or 2/3 dose for that. But he could still bounce and make it a quiet night. It was a wonderful day for Rocket. Nice long stretch below renal threshold.
Thanks Wendy. Yeah I almost immediately wished I had gone with a smaller dose for the sake of the depot. Every day is so different but hopefully I’ll get a better handle on things.
 
Back
Top