Heather Pavey
Member Since 2017
New to the forum postings.
Vader 13yr n/m Abyssinian
Feed majority of diet dry as free feeding. Wet food various brands in small amounts offered twice a day with boiled chicken breast from kitten-hood.
2.13.17 - dx with FD BG 477mg/dl in hospital - Renal wnl, Pancreatitis ??. Has annual dental care done throughout his adult life. Presented with weight loss, Pu/pd, lethargy and sleeping more in a sternal position with feet tucked under rather than on his side or curled up. Past weight hx was around 13 lbs and now just unber 11lbs. Glucose in urine, no UTI or ketones.
All other labs work WNL, no Spec fPL values performed, Radiology views insignificant finding per DVM.
Treat for FD, using home testing and Glargine. Testing kit is the AlphaTRAK 2
* Contiuned with Dry food and started canned Purina D/M. After a few weeks started wet food new brand offering of Low Carb, lower numbers in Fat due to ? Pancreatitits, wet food only, omitting dry diet. Have two other felines in the household making the food transition along with Vader non of them a fan of Purina D/M.], trying other brands. Started on a TR once food transition off dry was achieved.
Added in Cereina once a day for 5 days when he seems painful or off and Famotidine twice a day as needed to reduce upset and intestinal stress, both as needed and noted on spread sheets.
* More active and behavior patterned are returning to normal. Much less with respect to the pu/pd prior to dx.
I was hoping that maybe someone has the time to scan his spreed sheets as I feel he maybe going into remission and I am not sure if I should give Insulin or see what the next few days / weeks bring?
Trying to avoid Hypoglycemia.
Welcome suggestions and recommendations -
Thank you,
Heather and Vader
Vader 13yr n/m Abyssinian
Feed majority of diet dry as free feeding. Wet food various brands in small amounts offered twice a day with boiled chicken breast from kitten-hood.
2.13.17 - dx with FD BG 477mg/dl in hospital - Renal wnl, Pancreatitis ??. Has annual dental care done throughout his adult life. Presented with weight loss, Pu/pd, lethargy and sleeping more in a sternal position with feet tucked under rather than on his side or curled up. Past weight hx was around 13 lbs and now just unber 11lbs. Glucose in urine, no UTI or ketones.
All other labs work WNL, no Spec fPL values performed, Radiology views insignificant finding per DVM.
Treat for FD, using home testing and Glargine. Testing kit is the AlphaTRAK 2
* Contiuned with Dry food and started canned Purina D/M. After a few weeks started wet food new brand offering of Low Carb, lower numbers in Fat due to ? Pancreatitits, wet food only, omitting dry diet. Have two other felines in the household making the food transition along with Vader non of them a fan of Purina D/M.], trying other brands. Started on a TR once food transition off dry was achieved.
Added in Cereina once a day for 5 days when he seems painful or off and Famotidine twice a day as needed to reduce upset and intestinal stress, both as needed and noted on spread sheets.
* More active and behavior patterned are returning to normal. Much less with respect to the pu/pd prior to dx.
I was hoping that maybe someone has the time to scan his spreed sheets as I feel he maybe going into remission and I am not sure if I should give Insulin or see what the next few days / weeks bring?
Trying to avoid Hypoglycemia.
Welcome suggestions and recommendations -
Thank you,
Heather and Vader