Elaine is getting pulled this way and that. She's getting all sorts of suggestions, and one that says to increase dose by 0.5u every 24hrs is dangerous. I don't know who thought that one up but it's wrong.... no cat will adjust to an increase in 2 shots, and making it even more vague by saying every 24-48hrs compounds the confusion. This situation calls for the bigger of the increases, but never 24hrs only. Take a look at the ss and you will see there are no lows to catch. None.
Stick to the protocol that states you hold a dose for 3 days/ 6 shots-cycles.
The fast track is 5 shots-cycles. At a 5u dose, and all the solid HI test numbers, I suppose you can go with 1u increases, BUT hold for 5 shots.
Normal increases are 0.5u or 0.25u depending on the BG up to the 10u dose mark, then your increases would be 1u or 0.5u up to the 20u dose mark. After that point, we make our own acro protocol which is whatever works.... often it's 2u increases, but holding for the 5 shots.
To go faster is not safe; rather, you want to inject some R into the picture to bring down those HIs where the Lantus will be able to work. A cat registering all HIs is not going to be phased by a 0.1u shot of R.... hey, I bet the 0.25u won't do a single thing either..... I don't think Dusty will respond to any R dose under 1u. You can't compare the use of R on a diabetic cat to a highly resistant cat.
My message was no diff than my usual ... just an illustration of a train.
I can share it for sure.... maybe you could share your behind the scenes discussion of Dusty's situation so that others, peers, can benefit from your brainstorming out a possible approach.
Here's my pm on using R; I look forward to reading your group discussion to learn from your logic.
So, as I said in my post to you, Dusty needs to have you hold a dose for 5 shots ONLY. that's just 2 1/2 days... if you don't see an improvement, increase the dose by 1unit. On your spreadsheet, you have just till the 11th posted, and you held the 5u dose for 10 shots, 5days. When you are dealing with high numbers and insulin resistance, you need to sort of 'get in front of the speeding locomotive like Superman and push on it to stop the train'. By staying on a dose for too long, all you are doing is running beside the train.
Now, you are using a good insulin, Lantus, but both Lantus and Levemir work better if the cat's numbers are lower, so what helps is to use another insulin, a fast acting insulin which pulls down that HI number to maybe 400 or something, then when the R wears off, the Lantus starts to work.... think of a relay race where R is the fast guy and gets a head start, then R hands off the baton to the Lantus to run the rest of the race. They work as a team.
At shot time, you will test Dusty. Then you will give the shot of Lantus, 6u, and you would give another shot of R, but a very small amount.... R is very powerful so you would give a shot of R at a dose of maybe 0.25u. yes, that's right, it will be just 2 drops of R and you measure halfway between nothing and the 0.5u line on the syringe.
You will need to test Dusty every hour for the first 4 hours.... you want to know how sensitive Dusty is to R and how quickly it begins to work, so when you start using R, be sure you have time for the testing, and post so that someone can be around to help you and answer all your questions. OK?
Gayle