Dusty PMPS 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
I just checked Dusty's +5 and it was at 32! She's been going fairly low lately, but only getting to the 70's and 80's. Today's the first day where she is in genuine hypo territory. And I'm terrified!

I double checked the numbers and when they were confirmed, I put some honey on my finger and stuck it in her mouth. I then gave her some HC with honey mixed in. She gobbled that and so I gave her a bit more. She's currently sitting and seems perfectly fine. I'll be rechecking her levels in about 5 minutes.

Her AMPS was 182. I haven't updated her spreadsheet in ages (a month and a half?), though I have been checking her blood quite regularly. After her next check, I'll start updating her information for the last 20 or so checks (whatever it is that the Relion has in its memory banks). As an overview, though, she's been hanging out in the 200's to low 300's in preshot times and has been dropping to low 100's to high greens for nadirs. I've dropped her from 3.25 to 2.5 thus far and will clearly be dropping her again for her PM shot. I think she's been bouncing but is maybe starting to get over the bounces?

Eeeep! OK. Off to check. Wanted to put this here because, if she's not raising soon, I'm not really sure what I'll do and wanted to get some eyes on this, if anyone is currently online. Sorry for the lack of spreadsheet info!
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32 EEEEP!

And this new (~15 minute later) check is at 44. I'll check again in 15 minutes. But I probably shouldn't give her more food but instead see if the trend is still going upward in 15?

(The check was 32, the recheck was 29. And I *think* that when the meter is this low, it's pretty reliable.)
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32 EEEEP!

You want to test, feed, wait 20 minutes and repeat until Dusty is over 50. So feed HC or LC with a couple drops HC/karo.

When it Dusty's typical nadir? Just wondering how far along the cycle you are.
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32 EEEEP!

Her nadir is usually between +4 and +6. Early on in her dosing, it seemed early, but lately it's been closer to the +6. I'm currently updating the spreadsheet so hopefully it'll be more informative. (And am kicking myself about not keeping it updated!) I'll go give her some more HC with honey now and test her in about 10.

Thanks!
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32 EEEEP!

Could you also update your first post with the new numbers, that 44 looks better.

And don't forget to breathe.
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32, +15 at 44, +40 at 73

Will do!

She's now up to 73...so I'll stop giving her food and will monitor numbers every 30 minutes. I also took off the 911, since the trajectory is going up rather than down. Sheesh. These sugar kitties! nailbite_smile :lol:
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32, +15min at 44, +40 min at 73

Whew! Looks like you are on top of it. Nice catch on that 32 and congrats on the reduction. :-D You could always give her a little low carb food to see if she will surf there.
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32, +15min at 44, +40 min at 73

Thanks! I had meant to catch her an hour earlier but then got caught up with something. I'm sooo happy she's going down in the dosage, though. And now that my semester is basically over, I can try to be a bit more aggressive with the TR protocol and maybe get her down even further. I'll try to give her some LC and see if she'll take it. Would love to see some green surfing this afternoon!

Thanks for being there in the moment of madness, Wendy! I hope your Saturday is going well!
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32, +15min at 44, +40 min at 73

And 82 at her next check. Hoping she stays up, between the honey and the HC. She did also have a T of some low(ish) carb FF flaked. Here's for some green surfing, Dusty cat!
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32, +15min at 44, +40 min at 73

Michelle:

The honey can wear off and numbers can drop back down. This is why we suggest that you check every 30 min. until you see that the numbers are stabilizing in the 50s or above and don't wobble back down.

You may want to take a look at the post on handling low numbers.
 
Re: Dusty +5 check at 32, +15min at 44, +40 min at 73

Thanks, Sienne! Dusty looks like she's bouncing pretty quickly at this point. She was 123 an hour ago, 152 half an hour ago and 179 now. (I'm not surprised, she's a pretty bouncy cat.) I've been recording the hour levels but not really the half hour levels, except in the comment area of the spreadsheet. Would it be safe to go to hourly tests, given how high she's risen? She's getting mighty grumpy at me and, while she's being placated with chicken treats, I do wonder how long that will last. :)
 
Re: Dusty AMPS 182, +5 32 (!!!), +6 73, +7 123, +8 179, +10

Aaaand she's deep in a bounce. Poor dear is sleeping on the bathroom floor and is not liking her blood sugar adventures today. It doesn't help that we're having a bit of a spring heat wave and my house is currently about 80 degrees. Oof.
 
Re: Dusty AMPS 182, +5 32 (!!!), +6 73, +7 123, +8 179, +10

Once you saw that Dusty was heading up, you can move to test in an hour. Given that the numbers are heading way up, I'd leave Dusty along until PMPS. If she's above 300 by shot time, I'd suggest shooting your current dose and reducing in the morning.
 
Thanks for the dosing advice, Sienne! She got left alone for the rest of the evening and was 308 at her PM shot time. So she got basically 2.5 (just a bit scant, but just because the stupid syringe stuck a bit as I was adjusting the dose) and I'll keep an eye on her tonight and reduce tomorrow. I'm glad she slowed her ascent, though, and was only at 300 this evening.

Have a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top