Dusty not eating need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dusty & Roe

Member Since 2020
Dusty has not been eating much while going through the transition from dry to wet BUT
The last 2 days she has only been taking a few bites . Last night she turned down human Tuna Not like her at all . I even tried her old kibble she had 3 pieces. She shows interest in food takes two bites then walks away . She started drinking more water . Just wants to sleep . I noticed her eyes are dilated after insulin and stay that way for a long time
I am waiting on the Vet to call as of 10:00am this morning she may call after 5 pm I just called the office
Question , Dusty is due for her insulin at 10:40 pm tonight . Is it ok to give her insulin shot if she is not eating .
I do not have her sheet up because I’m having the worst time setting it up but I can tell you from my Libre sheet her BG has been 10:45 am amps 458. 11:47am. 371. 12:49pm 355. 150pm 372. 1:52 pm 370
3:34pm 330 4:40pm 328
Any Advice would be so appreciated
 
It’s important that Dusty eats. You may be transitioning too fast. I would test for ketones while dusty is not eating too well.
Do you have a spreadsheet? It is hard to give advice about insulin without one.

Your kitty needs insulin so you may need to feed some dry and transition more slowly.
Here are a couple of links for you to read.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/transitioning-your-cat-from-dry-to-wet-food.956/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/
 
It’s important that Dusty eats. You may be transitioning too fast. I would test for ketones while dusty is not eating too well.
Do you have a spreadsheet? It is hard to give advice about insulin without one.
Here are a couple of links for you to read.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/transitioning-your-cat-from-dry-to-wet-food.956/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/
Hi Bron Dusty was eating at least close to one half a can but for the last 2 days she has only been taking 2 bites and walking away . Honesty for her to turn down Tuna something is just not right to me ..... I will go get those strips . Just ask for Ketone strips ? Any brand ? I tried to set up a spread sheet to no avail
 
Hi Bron Dusty was eating at least close to one half a can but for the last 2 days she has only been taking 2 bites and walking away . Honesty for her to turn down Tuna something is just not right to me ..... I will go get those strips . Just ask for Ketone strips ? Any brand ? I tried to set up a spread sheet to no avail
@Chris & China (GA) can help you set up your ss, right Chris?

she could be nauseated. What you’re describing sounds a lot like Minnie when she doesn’t want to eat. When your vet calls, ask about anti nausea meds like Cerenia and/or ondansetron. It typically will get them eating again in about 30 minutes. Have you also tried baby food? Chicken, turkey and beef are my to go flavors
 
I agree Dusty could be nauseated and I would also ask the vet for some cerenia or ondansetron. It is really important that diabetic cats eat. Not only because of the need to give insulin but if they don’t get food the body will start to use its fat and protein stores for fuel and that is when ketones will appear. And you don’t want those.
You should be able to get a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy.
 
If you are having trouble setting up the spreadsheet we can help you. Just ask and someone will assist you.
@Chris & China (GA) can help you set up your ss, right Chris?

she could be nauseated. What you’re describing sounds a lot like Minnie when she doesn’t want to eat. When your vet calls, ask about anti nausea meds like Cerenia and/or ondansetron. It typically will get them eating again in about 30 minutes. Have you also tried baby food? Chicken, turkey and beef are my to go flavors
Hi Ale making up my list as we speak ..... I have to say I am pretty worried that Dusty turned down Tuna I will try the baby food and buy the ketone sticks as Bron stated . Do you have any idea or have you experienced the eye dilation ? And just wanting to sleep
 
I agree Dusty could be nauseated and I would also ask the vet for some cerenia or ondansetron. It is really important that diabetic cats eat. Not only because of the need to give insulin but if they don’t get food the body will start to use its fat and protein stores for fuel and that is when ketones will appear. And you don’t want those.
You should be able to get a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy.
Bron any idea why the eye dilation
 
Hi Ale making up my list as we speak ..... I have to say I am pretty worried that Dusty turned down Tuna I will try the baby food and buy the ketone sticks as Bron stated . Do you have any idea or have you experienced the eye dilation ? And just wanting to sleep
I haven’t, but the refusing to eat tuna and smelling and licking lips is what Minnie does when she’s nauseated. I have to pill her the ondansetron and wait for about 30-40 minutes. It doesn’t matter what toppings I add or what I give her she won’t eat until the med kicks in. Tell the vet that calls you back you want to try either Cerenia or ondansetron for the nausea and ask for a prescription. Do you have a pet pharmacy you use? They can call the vet once h/she agreed, and get the prescription from them
 
I haven’t, but the refusing to eat tuna and smelling and licking lips is what Minnie does when she’s nauseated. I have to pill her the ondansetron and wait for about 30-40 minutes. It doesn’t matter what toppings I add or what I give her she won’t eat until the med kicks in. Tell the vet that calls you back you want to try either Cerenia or ondansetron for the nausea and ask for a prescription. Do you have a pet pharmacy you use? They can call the vet once h/she agreed, and get the prescription from them
Yes she had called in her libre to a human pharmacy and her insulin not sure if they would have these medications though . Ale if Minnie does not eat it’s ok to give her her insulin ? Right now Dusty’s BG is 315 been in the 4 and mostly 300’s all day
 
I would definitely get it sorted today one way or another. It is ridiculous that a vet won’t take a call from a diabetic caregiver. Is there another vet you can ring about the antinausea meds. Jump up and down and make a noise about it.
You need to get the ketone issue sorted today as well. That’s important.
And Dusty needs insulin. You could give a half dose as long as you are monitoring and have honey or karo you can rub on the gums if needed.
 
Hi Ale making up my list as we speak ..... I have to say I am pretty worried that Dusty turned down Tuna I will try the baby food and buy the ketone sticks as Bron stated . Do you have any idea or have you experienced the eye dilation ? And just wanting to sleep
Roe I was told that this Gerber Baby Food is OK to give, it comes in ham, beef, turkey or chicken flavor
Here is a pic it's only 2 carbs, see below
I'm sorry Dusty isn't eating, I know how worried you are, you are just like me when it comes to worrying about our kitties, keep calling the vet, maybe they have a recording about emergencies, please let us know if you reach anyone




:bighug:
GERBER 2ND FOODS CHICKEN & GRAVY BABY FOOD, 2.5 OZ JAR

Click Image for Gallery
 
Last edited:
Yes she had called in her libre to a human pharmacy and her insulin not sure if they would have these medications though . Ale if Minnie does not eat it’s ok to give her her insulin ? Right now Dusty’s BG is 315 been in the 4 and mostly 300’s all day
Can you try to syringe feed her? When I’ve had to do that, I add water to either baby food or the FF so it’s more of a soupy consistency and the syringe can pull it in. You can feed her in small amounts that way or as much as she’ll tolerate. Also, try to sprinkle some Parmesan on the food sometimes that gets Minnie eating. Keep us posted!!

@Bron and Sheba (GA) she can get the ondansetron from a human pharmacy right?
 
Here are the Gerber Ham and Gravy ingredients
Ingredients: Ingredients:FRESH HAM, WATER, CORNSTARCH.
upload_2020-5-11_21-40-13.png

The Gerber Store › GER+00015000...
Gerber 2nd Foods Baby Food, Ham and Gravy, 2.5oz jar
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-5-11_21-40-13.png
    upload_2020-5-11_21-40-13.png
    369 bytes · Views: 428
Ok just got back from shopping for Dusty . Vet finally called She wants me to bump up Dusty’s insulin to 2 units her numbers are too high . She thinks her BP could be causing her eye dilation or possible kidney trouble ( oh let’s just drive me more crazy ). She suggested I try to cook her some chicken just got done doing that .
i asked her about the nausea meds and she said let’s not stress her out with a pill . Hmmm don’t they come in injection form ? She gave the ok for baby food . She said they found no ketones in her urine . Cant they develop whenever ? So 30 minutes from now we will see if Dusty will eat . Right now her BG is 397 crossing my fingers here Thank you All Feeling like your not alone with all of this means so much
 
Ok just got back from shopping for Dusty . Vet finally called She wants me to bump up Dusty’s insulin to 2 units her numbers are too high . She thinks her BP could be causing her eye dilation or possible kidney trouble ( oh let’s just drive me more crazy ). She suggested I try to cook her some chicken just got done doing that .
i asked her about the nausea meds and she said let’s not stress her out with a pill . Hmmm don’t they come in injection form ? She gave the ok for baby food . She said they found no ketones in her urine . Cant they develop whenever ? So 30 minutes from now we will see if Dusty will eat . Right now her BG is 397 crossing my fingers here Thank you All Feeling like your not alone with all of this means so much
Honestly, let’s not stress her out with a pill is ridiculous. You need to tell her you want the anti abuse prescription period. I had to fight my vet and just told her I want to try the ondansetron, please give the prescription or I’ll go to another vet who will. You can put the pill in a pill pocket or pill her with a little bit of water following it so it goes down smoothly. I’ve even frozen the pill in a tiny bit of butter so it slides down their throat easily. She needs to eat and if shes nauseated all the time she won’t get back to her normal eating. This makes me mad, sorry.
 
Last edited:
I can't quite believe what the vet has said...…..sigh!
Just because a cat had no ketones before, does not mean that she wont have them now. You are correct, they can form any time and especially when the cat isn't eating and maybe not getting enough insulin.
Did you get the Ketostix? We need to establish if she has ketones or not.
And to say we don't want to stress the cat with a pill! when she is not wanting to eat and is most likely nauseated and a diabetic to boot, defies logic!
And then to say to raise the dose of insulin to 2 units from 1 unit (ie double the dose) when Dusty isn't eating is very worrying.
I honestly don't think your vet understands feline diabetes at all!!
Please don't give 2 units. If you did go up in dose you would increase by 0.25 units and go to 1.25 units. But Dusty has to start eating.
I would ring or go to the vet and demand an antinausea medication now.
 
Ale and Bron you are both right ! First thing in the morning I’m going to tell her I want the nausea meds . Her explanation for raising the dose is because Dusty’s BG numbers have been high and only dropped in the 300’s . Trust me being new to this you want to confident in what your talking about with the Vet but they kind of make you feel foolish Example , she was explaining if Dusty was nauseous she would be licking her lips and king of gaging or gulping like a human . I have only seen when she is in the process of vomiting not nausea so I have no idea . Then the Vet brings up trying to get a pill down her throat .
Bron she called me so late I could on go to 1 store so I went to get Dusty food but first thing I will get her Ketone sticks because now I Need to know .
Dusty had a bite of cooked chicken But has about 4 spoons of Turkey Baby Food and that’s better than nothing ! Let see tomorrow morning I can’t thank all of you enough I never would have thought of baby food
 
I understand how hard it is to stand up to a vet if you don't know what you are talking about. We have all lived and learned!
If she will only give you the antinausea meds if Dusty is licking her lips, just say she is now licking her lips.
The thing is, not all cats lick their lips. Sheba never did. But a nauseated cat wont eat just like a nauseated human wont eat.
It is not hard to pill a cat.
Keep asking questions....you will soon be a veteran.
 
Honestly, let’s not stress her out with a pill is ridiculous. You need to tell her you want the anti abuse prescription period. I had to fight my vet and just told her I want to try the ondansetron, please give the prescription or I’ll go to another vet who will. You can put the pill in a pill pocket or pill her with a little bit of water following it so it goes down smoothly. I’ve even frozen the pill in a tiny bit of butter so it slides down their throat easily. She needs to eat and if shes nauseated all the time she won’t get back to her normal eating. This makes me mad, sorry.
Mad isn't the word, what the hell is wrong with that vet
 
I understand how hard it is to stand up to a vet if you don't know what you are talking about. We have all lived and learned!
If she will only give you the antinausea meds if Dusty is licking her lips, just say she is now licking her lips.
The thing is, not all cats lick their lips. Sheba never did. But a nauseated cat wont eat just like a nauseated human wont eat.
It is not hard to pill a cat.
Keep asking questions....you will soon be a veteran.
Bron thank you so very much
 
I understand how hard it is to stand up to a vet if you don't know what you are talking about. We have all lived and learned!
If she will only give you the antinausea meds if Dusty is licking her lips, just say she is now licking her lips.
The thing is, not all cats lick their lips. Sheba never did. But a nauseated cat wont eat just like a nauseated human wont eat.
It is not hard to pill a cat.
Keep asking questions....you will soon be a veteran.
Hey Bron you are absolutely right, just tell the vet that she is now licking her lips, jesus, it's not like the vet is prescribing pain medication
and then raising the dose to 2 units without eating, think it might be time to find a new vet
 
Hey Bron you are absolutely right, just tell the vet that she is now licking her lips, jesus, it's not like the vet is prescribing pain medication
and then raising the dose to 2 units without eating, think it might be time to find a new vet
And yet I gave her 2 units before I read these post and her BG IS 390 right now What on earth is going on
 
And yet I gave her 2 units before I read these post and her BG IS 390 right now What on earth is going on
Absolutely a SS is a necessity. Its very hard to help without one and we cant give dosing advise without one.
If you gave 2 units and she not eating much, make sure you test frequently. Keep offering small amounts of whatever she will eat.
 
@Dusty & Roe how is Dusty doing today
Diane Thank you so much for asking once again she turned down cooked chicken, tuna but had about 2 spoons of Baby Food if it wasn’t for all of you she wouldn’t have even had that !
Called the Vet to get her nausea meds only to find out they are Closed today . I believe her regular Vet is back tomorrow. All Dusty is doing is sleeping . She has me Very Worried .
Going to buy ketone sticks and more baby food in a few minutes BG 358 right now when I get back will work on getting her SS
 
Update , Dusty is still only eating a few spoons of baby food . Her usual Vet is back and she wants to test Dusty tomorrow for pancreatitis. She will also give her nausea meds .
If this is the problem has anyone her experienced diabetes and pancreas at the same time ? If so may I ask how this is handled since we have yet to get her BG number under control
 
Update , Dusty is still only eating a few spoons of baby food . Her usual Vet is back and she wants to test Dusty tomorrow for pancreatitis. She will also give her nausea meds .
If this is the problem has anyone her experienced diabetes and pancreas at the same time ? If so may I ask how this is handled since we have yet to get her BG number under control


My Brady, he has both but his appetite is out of this world good so far...When he was diagnosed in the March he had both FD and Pancreatitis. He is currently on Cerenia, 1/4 tablet...Have you recently changed food? Brady never really had any problems with eating, one day he just wasn't himself, well a couple days, a little lethargic and not himself at all....the tests were completed and he came back with both diseases.
 
Yes there are quite a few cats here that have diabetes and pancreatitis. Sheba used to get it every so often.
When they get a flare up of pancreatitis they usually need some subQ fluids, pain meds, antinausea meds and occasionally antibiotics (but not often).
Most cats respond well to the supportive treatment. The main issue can be getting them to eat again but having antinausea meds at home if possible you can get onto it straight away when it happens.
The vet can do a Snap fPL blood test in the surgery and tell you straight away if it’s pancreatitis.

here is a link to pancreatitis
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-primer-on-pancreatitis.83108/
 
Last edited:
My Brady, he has both but his appetite is out of this world good so far...When he was diagnosed in the March he had both FD and Pancreatitis. He is currently on Cerenia, 1/4 tablet...Have you recently changed food? Brady never really had any problems with eating, one day he just wasn't himself, well a couple days, a little lethargic and not himself at all....the tests were completed and he came back with both diseases.
May I ask how you are treating Brady ? Is it painful for him ? Yes I have tried all kinds of foods even cooking chicken Dusty has no interest . I can hand feed her a few spoons of baby food and that’s it . I’m having such a hard time seeing her like this but I know she just doesn’t feel well
 
Yes there are quite a few cats here that have diabetes and pancreatitis. Sheba used to get it every so often.
When they get a flare up of pancreatitis they usually need some subQ fluids, pain meds, antinausea meds and occasionally antibiotics (but not often).
Most cats respond well to the supportive treatment. The main issue can be getting them to eat again but having antinausea meds at home is impossible you can get onto it straight away when it happens.
The vet can do a Snap fPL blood test in the surgery and tell you straight away if it’s pancreatitis.

here is a link to pancreatitis
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-primer-on-pancreatitis.83108/
Going to read this now
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top