Crista & Ming
Member Since 2018
PLEASE DON'T REPLY TO THIS THREAD!!! I made another thread on the same day, sorry! Please reply to the previous day's thread!
Previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-25-ming-in-hospital.205419/
I apologize but I’m not able to update Ming’s spreadsheet. I’ll copy and paste what the numbers were that I remembered from my previous post below:
“The night of 10/23, we gave him 9 units. He went from 356 at PMPS to 79 at +3. Which is a DRAMATIC drop. I fed him a bunch of dry food in case he went any lower and managed to get him up around 144 but then went down again at +7 to around 101.
At +10 he was at 214 and then suddenly, an hour later at +11 he was back up at 396.
His dose was obviously too much. He also did not enjoy eating his dinner so he actually ate less than ideal.
Then during the day, he got 8 units and was HIGH all day. As high as 666!!!!!!!!
Last night, 10/24, the SAME thing happened. Funnily, his PMPS was ~400 and then at +3.5, he went down to 79 and within the hour, was at 68 even. I fed him a bunch of dry food and wet food. He ate a full dinner though this time. I managed to get him back up in two hours and from there, he just went up and up. His AMPS shot was 488.
Since the specialist suspects his higher dose of pred is affecting the insulin, he's getting 9 units during the day today. I hope he goes down but doesn't fall so quickly like he doesduring the night. He'll mostly be reduced to 7 units tonight for the PM.”
As you can see, his doses and numbers are all over the place. They’re trying out a higher dose in the AM to compensate for the higher dose of pred and a lower dose of Lantus in the PM to compensate for the lower dose of pred. Which I understand is not ideal. I also am not quite comfortable with a dose that changes from AM to PM.
He’s getting 2.5 mg of pred in the AM and 1.75 mg in the PM.
If it makes more sense to give 3.75 mg all at once, I don’t mind. Or I could somehow cut the pieces to be even but it will be tricky.
Last night he got 8 units of Lantus but it looked like it was too much since he dipped at +3.5. And when he got 8 units during the day before, it did not touch him and he stayed in the 30s.
He got 9 units today in the AM. I’m not sure how he’s doing with that dose but will know tonight when I see him.
I’m concerned that once he comes home and relaxes, all these doses will be too high.
What is a safe dose I can give at home when he comes home tomorrow in the AM?
Edit: should I also attempt to change his diet back to raw once he’s home? Or wait until we figure out his doses while he eats his fancy feast. I have two concerns about that: he won’t want to eat much of the raw so I may need to slowly transition him again or the change in the diet will again affect lantus significantly.
Previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-25-ming-in-hospital.205419/
I apologize but I’m not able to update Ming’s spreadsheet. I’ll copy and paste what the numbers were that I remembered from my previous post below:
“The night of 10/23, we gave him 9 units. He went from 356 at PMPS to 79 at +3. Which is a DRAMATIC drop. I fed him a bunch of dry food in case he went any lower and managed to get him up around 144 but then went down again at +7 to around 101.
At +10 he was at 214 and then suddenly, an hour later at +11 he was back up at 396.
His dose was obviously too much. He also did not enjoy eating his dinner so he actually ate less than ideal.
Then during the day, he got 8 units and was HIGH all day. As high as 666!!!!!!!!
Last night, 10/24, the SAME thing happened. Funnily, his PMPS was ~400 and then at +3.5, he went down to 79 and within the hour, was at 68 even. I fed him a bunch of dry food and wet food. He ate a full dinner though this time. I managed to get him back up in two hours and from there, he just went up and up. His AMPS shot was 488.
Since the specialist suspects his higher dose of pred is affecting the insulin, he's getting 9 units during the day today. I hope he goes down but doesn't fall so quickly like he doesduring the night. He'll mostly be reduced to 7 units tonight for the PM.”
As you can see, his doses and numbers are all over the place. They’re trying out a higher dose in the AM to compensate for the higher dose of pred and a lower dose of Lantus in the PM to compensate for the lower dose of pred. Which I understand is not ideal. I also am not quite comfortable with a dose that changes from AM to PM.
He’s getting 2.5 mg of pred in the AM and 1.75 mg in the PM.
If it makes more sense to give 3.75 mg all at once, I don’t mind. Or I could somehow cut the pieces to be even but it will be tricky.
Last night he got 8 units of Lantus but it looked like it was too much since he dipped at +3.5. And when he got 8 units during the day before, it did not touch him and he stayed in the 30s.
He got 9 units today in the AM. I’m not sure how he’s doing with that dose but will know tonight when I see him.
I’m concerned that once he comes home and relaxes, all these doses will be too high.
What is a safe dose I can give at home when he comes home tomorrow in the AM?
Edit: should I also attempt to change his diet back to raw once he’s home? Or wait until we figure out his doses while he eats his fancy feast. I have two concerns about that: he won’t want to eat much of the raw so I may need to slowly transition him again or the change in the diet will again affect lantus significantly.
Last edited: