Duncan - thanks for the advice all set for now

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
I put it over on the main board because the site is pretty slow today to get some eyes on Duncan's numbers.

posting.php?mode=reply&f=28&t=58772

Thanks for your help.
-Sara
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Sara you shot a 104 two days ago in the AMPS, so what is stopping you today, Other than you would not be home to monitor?
Duncan is doing very well, but I see you lowered the dose from f1.0 to reg. 1.0U.
If you will be home, IMHO I would shoot this & see where he goes--
You have MC or HC right(just in case?) you have strips right? So he seems to be doing well.
Please wait for a few other ideas from other members if you feel you are hesitant!
OK?
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Sara,

It looks like you posted this about an hour ago on the Main Board:

"Not much change even after more food. Duncan is also saying he is very stuffed. :) Like, why do you want me to eat more?? "

So he is in low 100's, already fed and not inclined to eat more, but you have not shot. Is this accurate? Has anything changed since then?
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

That's accurate. I would have assumed that number to start up faster with all that food.
It's still in low 100's - going to test again in a min.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

I hope you didnt feed him before you tested & shot him because then all the numbers wouldnt be inaccurate!
Dont worry abour remission, that's aways off right now--Their numbers vary from day to day..
When did you shoot today??
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

The 87 and the 110 were without food, just a tiny bit to treat for the stick. I updated my ss to show when I fed. :)

Don't worry I will keep testing and low the dose by sneaks. Unless he truly gets below 50, then I will reduce by .25 (not a huge fan of that large of a jump seeing such a difference in Duncan on just a few drops difference.

Also, Duncan's whole curve was higher when I shot that 104, and I didn't like shooting that at all, but I didn't want to mess up the lantus shed. His curve is lower now, and the dose is reduced since then too.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

I am either skipping it completely (depending on what numbers do) or going to pick up a new 12 hour schedule if I need to catch it, and also lowering the dose again a bit to 1skinnyu.

His SS is totally up to date, getting ready to test again in about 10 mins here.

:)
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Looks like we have a little climb starting with a 104 at +15, I am going to wait just a bit more...looks like 2pm and 2am will be the new shot times, and 1skinny the new dose. We'll see though.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Sara left me a PM asking about shooting low options.

There are three possibilities. Each has it's pros and cons and each depends on your cat and your situation.
  • Skip the shot - this option has the biggest impact on the shed. There are times when this is your best option, especially if you can't afford to be off schedule or if you have to leave and won't be available to monitor.
  • Stall - if your schedule gives you this flexibility (because your next shot is 12 hours from when you actually shot), you can hold off on shooting. You will want to test every 20 - 30 min. to see if numbers are rising. You do NOT want to feed while you're waiting for numbers to come up (the exception being if numbers are in the 40s or lower). You don't feed because you don't want to mistakenly think that numbers are rising when in reality, what you're seeing is a food spike. Typically, if you stall, you want to shoot your regular dose. Stalling acts like a dose reduction.
  • Shoot a reduced dose - Shooting less than you usually do obviously has an impact on the shed.

Libby has a post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers that you might find helpful.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Thanks! Duncan stayed low-ish all day eating normally so we skipped that shot. I just tested at +24 and he is at 126. I will test, feed shoot a slightly reduced dose at the next shot time in less than an hour here.

So either we used all the shed today and we will see high numbers tomorrow as it fills (climbing numbers tonight and no curve) or the dose I am about to give will produce a curve. Either way it's great information.

I was here all day so if it had zoomed I would have shot and adjusted my whole schedule which isn't a big deal here. I am home almost 100% of the time. :) Got 2 little beans and a business I run from home on my puter. So far so good. :) I will keep posting.

Thanks for your help!!!
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Preshot was 180, so he was off to the races. I shot about .85u so here we go. See if this curves him or if he is a super late nadir.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

great numbers for duncan today! you might want to edit the subject line of your first post in this thread if you aren't needing shooting advice anymore.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

I don't know if I would have reduced. If Duncan doesn't hold the reduction, you can go back up on the dose as soon as you need to.
 
Re: Duncan - shooting advice please

Thank's Sienne (assuming that's the bean's name) :)

I will indeed go right back up to my 1u that was working so nice if this cycle is a shed filler. We shall see!
Going to edit that subject line and finish watching a movie. I will start a 12/17 condo in Relaxed Lantus and see if Duncan curves tonight or fills the shed. :)

Thank you all so very much. This can be so confusing, and I would hate to go hypo after doing so well thus far!
Good night all,
Sara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top