Ducky AMPS 181 +4 54 - Falling too low again.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Update on Ducky, his AMPS was 181 so we went ahead and gave him 1.25 unit. But now only 4 hours in he is at 54! I gave him a handful of dry kibble, and he ate it up. Don't know if that was the right thing to do but my instinct was to give him something to increase his blood glucose. Should 54 freak me out? Is that too low? Also he is getting little lumps by his ears where I keep sticking him.... is that normal too? Please look at his spreadsheet when you have a chance... should I test him every hour or half hour until his number rise a little?
 
I would test again in 1/2 hour to see if the food slowed the drop. This is a really good number, as long as he can level out and surf from here instead of dropping more.

FYI, we usually use wet food (either low carb or higher carb) to slow drops. Wet food gets into the system faster and works to raise the BG faster than dry, but doesn't linger in his system for as long. You're right, though, he did need a little something to eat. As you have been doing this longer, you'll learn how much of a bump Ducky can get from 2 tsp of LC wet and how much bump he can get from 2 tsp of HC wet, so you'll know what to give him in each situation.
 
most of us use the Fancy Feast varieties that are grilled whatever in gravy. I would get a few flavors in case he gets picky and decides not to like one of them. Lucy loved the grilled chicken and the grilled seafood.
 
Hi Angel, In answer to your question about the little bumps on Ducky's ears: these are common. They don't mean anything except that he is getting poked in the ear! Don't worry!
Glad to see that Libby is here with great advice, as always. Carry on!

Ella & Stu
 
Welcome Angel!

I've been out of town for a few days and hadn't had a chance to welcome you or get acquainted with Ducky. The picture of Ducky with your boys is just wonderful!

One of the things we do routinely is to link our previous condo to the first post of the day. The link from your previous condo is here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16491. This saves considerable time if we need to go back and find information.

I saw the note on your spreadsheet about being nervous about the gorgeous green surf today. Numbers in the 50s and 60s are great! These are in the normal BG range. A cycle starting in the blues with a nadir in the greens is wonderful. It also looks like Ducky bounced later in the cycle. This happens when a cat has lower numbers that he is no longer used to. Even those these numbers may be in a normal BG range, the liver panics. As a result, all sorts of safety mechanisms go into place which include the liver dumping glucose into the blood stream along with releasing counter-regulatory hormones. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

From what I can tell, now one has directed you to read the sticky notes (the items that have a star at the top of the Board). The information in these permanent notes will help you to understand how Lantus works, the posting conventions for the Board, where to find the links to the slang used here, how to store Lantus, what to do when you get a low pre-shot number, etc. What is most important is that there is a sticky that discusses the dosing protocol that we use. You will see that in order to earn a dose reduction, Ducky needs to have his numbers drop below 50. Given that the dosing protocol we use is backed up by veterinary research, if numbers in this range were dangerous, this research would never be published. It is scary when you first see a 54. In a very short time, you will be looking for these green numbers.
 
Hi Just want to say Hello and welcome to LL I know you will get lots of good advice for Ducky here :mrgreen: I have learned so much from this board for Do Lou wonderful people here to help cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top