laura florio
Member Since 2020
Hello sugar parents,
I'm having trouble understanding what is happening with my furbabyboy!
Almost 7 years old, diagnosed 31st of October 2019, his BG was over 500. Confirmed diagnosis with urine test as well. Did an ultrasound where only is liver appeared bigger, consistent with diabetes. First vet advised a diet change before even thinking of giving him insulin. Sounded right to me. In the same clinic the doctor who first did the tests prescribed Hill's m/d but when I went back to the nutritionist appointment (the one who suggested the diet change) she disagreed, adviced an italian low carb brand called Prolife dry and wet, but when she checked on the internet she found out that the dry food by this brand was no longer available therefore I should have fed him dry and wet by Royal Canin "Diabetic". How come? You first disagree to feed him Hill's and then advice Royal??Lost my trust in a few minutes but I was desperate so I thought I could give it a go as I felt a little arrogant. "I'll see you in a month, maybe a month and a half". Tried for 3 weeks, I wasn't happy and changed Vet. Went for a visit on November 21st 2019. He's a big cat who lost weight, one of the reason why I thought of diabetes at first and went for the tests. At that point he was 4.5Kg, he started a curve the day after and he's on insulin from the 22nd of November 2019. Caninsulin. I asked why not Lantus, and him as everybody else " If you want my help, this is what I advice". Asked about the diet. He's another prescription diets lover and everything went so fast that, already on insulin and without any support, I didn't feel good about changing his diet at that point.
"Keep feeding him the same thing, same amount at the same time." I feed him 3 times a day (half of pouch 85gr wet+ 10gr dry at 9am, 25gr dry at 4pm, half of 85gr wet + 10gr dry at 9pm).
Told him I wanted to home test and he didn't find it necessary because of his high numbers. No, I will home test, period. I'm too scared of Hypo.
Alone in this but I got a pet glucometer calibrated for cats, Wellionvet Belua. He didn't have any hope on remission and made me feel miserable. Since Ive been home testing though Ive started noticing that he was adjusting to insulin and his numbers were changing and go lower every two weeks.
Did my own curves, checked his litter box, the water intake ( which dropped from over 200ml a day to between 25ml and 50ml and I have another cat around).
I know this is way too long but I'm going mental on my own interpretation here and I don't like the vets answers most of the time.
First curve every 3hours from 9am to 12am: 428mg/dl, shot of 2UI, 12pm 217mg/dl, 3pm 454mg/dl, 6pm 442mg/dl, 9pm 507mg/dl, shot of 2UI, 12am 293mg/dl. Went on at night.
At 3am I couldn't get any blood to test, at 6am 451mg/dl, at 9am 523mg/dl and 2UI, at 12pm another failure testing and didn't want to stress him. At 3pm 324mg/dl, at 6pm 503mg/dl but we were at the vet because I could not test him AGAIN. ( We do great now, both of us.)
We went on with 2UI, kept testing, we still had high numbers and lowest after 3hours.
He wanted to check on him in a month, but that was in the middle of the Christmas Holidays.I called earlier but he postponed.
And so I did another curve myself.
On the 16th and 17th of December his lowest number were 112mg/dl-111mg/dl after 6hours.
Numbers on the 17th:
417mg/dl before insulin, 2UI at 9am, at 12pm 256mg/dl, at 3pm 111mg/dl, at 6pm 203mg/dl, before the pm insulin 387mg/dl.
6th of January is Holiday AGAIN in Italy, so he postponed again "not to stress him because the clinic would have been busy the day after holiday). Guess what, I did another curve myself on the 4th of January.
Before the am insulin I read 165mg/dl and I was fainting. So I called him and we agreed on changing the dosage to 1UI. And I decided I would have tested him every 2hours this time. Two hours after his shot, the lowest number reading was 103mg/dl. Thought I needed sugar as much as he did at that point.
It went on every 2 hours until 12am. Numbers: 121mg/dl-126mg/dl-158mg/dl-192mg/dl-225mg/dl. AFter the pm insulin, 3hours later the reading was 123mg/dl.
Went on with 1UI for 12 days. Tested him before am and pm shots.
5.01.20= 260/147 mg/dl
6.01.20= 266/194 mg/dl
7.01.20= 211/141 mg/dl ( I was shaking, called the vet, "go on, it's fine". IM SO NOT.)
8.01.20= 212/145 mg/dl
9.01.20= 175/170 mg/dl
10.01.20= 206/175 mg/dl
Went on between 145mg/dl and 235mg/dl until the 15th. Before the PM shot he was 145mg/dl, after shot he looked nervous ( when I leave the house he usually gets my blanket ang goes around the house with it to comfort himself. This time I was next to him and he was literally grinding on it but then calmed down and slept. Me, awake all night).
16.01.20, before AM shot I read 88mg/dl. Called the vet and told him I didn't want to shoot insulin. He agreed and said to me " If he stays under 200mg/dl, no insulin. Damn fine with that and I kept checking: (88mg/dl-114mg/dl-126mg/dl-134mg/dl and 185mg/dl before PM shot which I didn't shoot following the vet advice). Blanket humping again today.
The morning after skipping the PM shot, I read 266mg/dl. Called the vet again and asked if I should start with 0.5UI. He agreed. Everyone who gives Caninsulin knows the 40U sirynges and there's no half units! Went to look for other sirynges and everybody told me, vet included, there's no such a sirynge.
I know there are 100U for Lantus, went to check but those are ml, no help from no one and I did the best I could to split that Unit in a half, kept checking every 3 hours, considering he started with a 266mg/dl.
Now, this is absurd to me: 3 hours later it dropped to 86mg/dl, then 103mg/dl, later 137mg/dl.
Called the vet to know what I should have done for the evening , doubted it was going much higher and he told me "Ok, give 0.4" WHat?? That's impossible to know on that sirynge! Don't like random stuff.
Anyway, before the shot, for the first time, numbers dropped again to 108mg/dl. Tested again few minutes after and read 103mg/dl. Now I'm really confused.
Rang the vet again and I din't want to give any insulin. " Ok, skip it tonight, give it tomorrow".
(We never agree but he's the most available guy on the planet, coming home for free during the first curve, opened the clinic at weekends, brought blood test results at home, and I call his mobile whenever I feel desperate!)
Back to my sugarbaby: no apparent symptoms. Except for that evening when he looked a little nervous, he never drank more, just slightly, no more than 50ml, never peed more, just a little sleepy but not unusual for him, still hungry. Always happy for his meals. Gained weight, he's now 5.1, looking great! Kept jumping on the table for testing to get his treat ( I let him lick half tea spoon of baby food (just mashed meat, low carbs) which I spread all over a plate to keep him busy while i poke him)
Oh, concerning about the dry food I mix a tea spoon of water with his meals though.
18.01.20= I decide to start a new insulin bottle, because it looked like I already shook it, just in case.
Before AM shot and no insulin from the morning of the day before the reading was 204mg/dl, so I gave him 0.4 or what I thought it was less than 0.5!
Two hours after it dropped again to 83mg/dl, then 157mg/dl and before the "PM eventual shot" 123mg/dl.
Guess what!I called the vet again feeling like a stalker but I really needed him to agree even if Im the one deciding basically and I feel BAD. So I asked if we could just give 1 shot a day considering the numbers.
He said that it is advisable to give it twice a day but I could have tried. " Give 0.5 though."
So skipped the PM again and waiting for tomorrow.
Now, Id be happy to try 0.25 twice a day but thats really impossible to check on a 40U syringe.
HELP ME, IM GOING NUTS.
Why are the numbers dropping again after going higher? Why i cant have someone helping me converting a 100U syringe? Nothing made sense no more these past 3 days!And my baby looks ok. Snoring right now!
I know about FF food, I know that no ones agrees on prescription food, me included at first, but ive seen changes and i dont want numbers to drop lower!
Apologies for this MAD POSTfrom Rome!
I'm having trouble understanding what is happening with my furbabyboy!
Almost 7 years old, diagnosed 31st of October 2019, his BG was over 500. Confirmed diagnosis with urine test as well. Did an ultrasound where only is liver appeared bigger, consistent with diabetes. First vet advised a diet change before even thinking of giving him insulin. Sounded right to me. In the same clinic the doctor who first did the tests prescribed Hill's m/d but when I went back to the nutritionist appointment (the one who suggested the diet change) she disagreed, adviced an italian low carb brand called Prolife dry and wet, but when she checked on the internet she found out that the dry food by this brand was no longer available therefore I should have fed him dry and wet by Royal Canin "Diabetic". How come? You first disagree to feed him Hill's and then advice Royal??Lost my trust in a few minutes but I was desperate so I thought I could give it a go as I felt a little arrogant. "I'll see you in a month, maybe a month and a half". Tried for 3 weeks, I wasn't happy and changed Vet. Went for a visit on November 21st 2019. He's a big cat who lost weight, one of the reason why I thought of diabetes at first and went for the tests. At that point he was 4.5Kg, he started a curve the day after and he's on insulin from the 22nd of November 2019. Caninsulin. I asked why not Lantus, and him as everybody else " If you want my help, this is what I advice". Asked about the diet. He's another prescription diets lover and everything went so fast that, already on insulin and without any support, I didn't feel good about changing his diet at that point.
"Keep feeding him the same thing, same amount at the same time." I feed him 3 times a day (half of pouch 85gr wet+ 10gr dry at 9am, 25gr dry at 4pm, half of 85gr wet + 10gr dry at 9pm).
Told him I wanted to home test and he didn't find it necessary because of his high numbers. No, I will home test, period. I'm too scared of Hypo.
Alone in this but I got a pet glucometer calibrated for cats, Wellionvet Belua. He didn't have any hope on remission and made me feel miserable. Since Ive been home testing though Ive started noticing that he was adjusting to insulin and his numbers were changing and go lower every two weeks.
Did my own curves, checked his litter box, the water intake ( which dropped from over 200ml a day to between 25ml and 50ml and I have another cat around).
I know this is way too long but I'm going mental on my own interpretation here and I don't like the vets answers most of the time.
First curve every 3hours from 9am to 12am: 428mg/dl, shot of 2UI, 12pm 217mg/dl, 3pm 454mg/dl, 6pm 442mg/dl, 9pm 507mg/dl, shot of 2UI, 12am 293mg/dl. Went on at night.
At 3am I couldn't get any blood to test, at 6am 451mg/dl, at 9am 523mg/dl and 2UI, at 12pm another failure testing and didn't want to stress him. At 3pm 324mg/dl, at 6pm 503mg/dl but we were at the vet because I could not test him AGAIN. ( We do great now, both of us.)
We went on with 2UI, kept testing, we still had high numbers and lowest after 3hours.
He wanted to check on him in a month, but that was in the middle of the Christmas Holidays.I called earlier but he postponed.
And so I did another curve myself.
On the 16th and 17th of December his lowest number were 112mg/dl-111mg/dl after 6hours.
Numbers on the 17th:
417mg/dl before insulin, 2UI at 9am, at 12pm 256mg/dl, at 3pm 111mg/dl, at 6pm 203mg/dl, before the pm insulin 387mg/dl.
6th of January is Holiday AGAIN in Italy, so he postponed again "not to stress him because the clinic would have been busy the day after holiday). Guess what, I did another curve myself on the 4th of January.
Before the am insulin I read 165mg/dl and I was fainting. So I called him and we agreed on changing the dosage to 1UI. And I decided I would have tested him every 2hours this time. Two hours after his shot, the lowest number reading was 103mg/dl. Thought I needed sugar as much as he did at that point.
It went on every 2 hours until 12am. Numbers: 121mg/dl-126mg/dl-158mg/dl-192mg/dl-225mg/dl. AFter the pm insulin, 3hours later the reading was 123mg/dl.
Went on with 1UI for 12 days. Tested him before am and pm shots.
5.01.20= 260/147 mg/dl
6.01.20= 266/194 mg/dl
7.01.20= 211/141 mg/dl ( I was shaking, called the vet, "go on, it's fine". IM SO NOT.)
8.01.20= 212/145 mg/dl
9.01.20= 175/170 mg/dl
10.01.20= 206/175 mg/dl
Went on between 145mg/dl and 235mg/dl until the 15th. Before the PM shot he was 145mg/dl, after shot he looked nervous ( when I leave the house he usually gets my blanket ang goes around the house with it to comfort himself. This time I was next to him and he was literally grinding on it but then calmed down and slept. Me, awake all night).
16.01.20, before AM shot I read 88mg/dl. Called the vet and told him I didn't want to shoot insulin. He agreed and said to me " If he stays under 200mg/dl, no insulin. Damn fine with that and I kept checking: (88mg/dl-114mg/dl-126mg/dl-134mg/dl and 185mg/dl before PM shot which I didn't shoot following the vet advice). Blanket humping again today.
The morning after skipping the PM shot, I read 266mg/dl. Called the vet again and asked if I should start with 0.5UI. He agreed. Everyone who gives Caninsulin knows the 40U sirynges and there's no half units! Went to look for other sirynges and everybody told me, vet included, there's no such a sirynge.
I know there are 100U for Lantus, went to check but those are ml, no help from no one and I did the best I could to split that Unit in a half, kept checking every 3 hours, considering he started with a 266mg/dl.
Now, this is absurd to me: 3 hours later it dropped to 86mg/dl, then 103mg/dl, later 137mg/dl.
Called the vet to know what I should have done for the evening , doubted it was going much higher and he told me "Ok, give 0.4" WHat?? That's impossible to know on that sirynge! Don't like random stuff.
Anyway, before the shot, for the first time, numbers dropped again to 108mg/dl. Tested again few minutes after and read 103mg/dl. Now I'm really confused.
Rang the vet again and I din't want to give any insulin. " Ok, skip it tonight, give it tomorrow".
(We never agree but he's the most available guy on the planet, coming home for free during the first curve, opened the clinic at weekends, brought blood test results at home, and I call his mobile whenever I feel desperate!)
Back to my sugarbaby: no apparent symptoms. Except for that evening when he looked a little nervous, he never drank more, just slightly, no more than 50ml, never peed more, just a little sleepy but not unusual for him, still hungry. Always happy for his meals. Gained weight, he's now 5.1, looking great! Kept jumping on the table for testing to get his treat ( I let him lick half tea spoon of baby food (just mashed meat, low carbs) which I spread all over a plate to keep him busy while i poke him)
Oh, concerning about the dry food I mix a tea spoon of water with his meals though.
18.01.20= I decide to start a new insulin bottle, because it looked like I already shook it, just in case.
Before AM shot and no insulin from the morning of the day before the reading was 204mg/dl, so I gave him 0.4 or what I thought it was less than 0.5!
Two hours after it dropped again to 83mg/dl, then 157mg/dl and before the "PM eventual shot" 123mg/dl.
Guess what!I called the vet again feeling like a stalker but I really needed him to agree even if Im the one deciding basically and I feel BAD. So I asked if we could just give 1 shot a day considering the numbers.
He said that it is advisable to give it twice a day but I could have tried. " Give 0.5 though."
So skipped the PM again and waiting for tomorrow.
Now, Id be happy to try 0.25 twice a day but thats really impossible to check on a 40U syringe.
HELP ME, IM GOING NUTS.
Why are the numbers dropping again after going higher? Why i cant have someone helping me converting a 100U syringe? Nothing made sense no more these past 3 days!And my baby looks ok. Snoring right now!
I know about FF food, I know that no ones agrees on prescription food, me included at first, but ive seen changes and i dont want numbers to drop lower!
Apologies for this MAD POSTfrom Rome!
Last edited:
