Dropping early

Status
Not open for further replies.
?? amps 351 then +3 is 39 and +4 is 31.....!! She ate her meal normally this morning...I just gave her a can of high carb wellness n she scarfed it down.....but I'm scared I have 2 strips left and was about to head out to walmart to buy their meter n strips.........that trip will take about 2 hours til I get back home...I don't know what to do? Should I put out dry w/d ? Either way I have no more strips after these 2 and I'm not going to my local pharmacy and spending $60 on them so I need to go to Walmart at some point
 
Sorry....I looked at his SS....didn't see the ProZinc. :roll:

Do have Karo or honey that you can mix in with Chocolate's food? How is he acting, normal or is he showing hypo symptoms? For you to run out and get more strips.....is there a friend that could do it?

W/D dry will take a while to get into his system and bump his numbers....then it will hang around for awhile keeping him in higher numbers.

I am not real familiar with ProZInc......sorry....but i will do what I can.
 
Yes, you definitely need to test and feed repeatedly with a number like that. Is there anyone who can go get you more strips? Is there a store that is closer to you that sells them? Also, do you have any high carb wet food, anything with gravy? You'll need to test and feed often. If you don't, that should get picked up as well. Make sure that you're feeding small amounts, a spoon full at a time. You want to keep Chocolate hungry in case you need to keep feeding high carb food.

I would highly recommend keeping a back up container of strips after today--it's Murphy's Law that a hypo incident always happens when you're low on strips!
 
hey, i'm here for an hour before work.
you know what to do right?
test, feed (small amounts high carb) ....20 minutes then repeat.

lather, rinse, repeat.

Chocolate has earned a dose reduction. and do NOT shoot tonight without consulting ok. You could see any range of numbers.

Here for ya Christina.
 
Given the 2 strip picture, I would agree with giving her maybe half a teaspoon of syrup mixed into 2 or 3 tsp hi carb wet food now. The syrup will make her bg spike up, but hopefully by then the food will kick in and keep her up. From the testing that you have been able to do, it looks like her nadir is around +6. I would test around +4.5 (should be about now?), and keep feeding her teaspoons of hi carb wet every 20 mins. Test again in an hour. By then the insulin will have nearly reached its peak and the foods will keep her up while you run to get more strips.
 
Maybe I'll head out fast and get the expensive strips then get to Walmart once we're in the clear...she went up a little to 44, I put it in the chart as +5 altho its about a half hour before the fifth hour. I only have one strip left so I think I'll run out now and get more
 
On second thought, she just had some more high carb wet with some honey mixed in so maybe I'll wait about an hour it will be almost +6 and then see what the number is. If its a good number I'll take the trip to Walmart, if its not a good number I'll go local for more strips
 
One touch ultra..the strips are so expensive....if she has a good reading in 20 minutes I'm going to buy the walmart one so I can test away without worrying about the cost....the ones I use now are $60+ for 50 :shock:
 
Christina,
I think what you saw last night was Chocolates body's last ditch efforts to stay up in those highs. Now that the liver has stopped it's overtime work (those 5u bid) you really may get chocolate otj.
are we not YAY that we did'nt increase dose?????
Lori
 
christina52388 said:
On second thought, she just had some more high carb wet with some honey mixed in so maybe I'll wait about an hour it will be almost +6 and then see what the number is. If its a good number I'll take the trip to Walmart, if its not a good number I'll go local for more strips

I think that's a good plan--I would also leave some food out for her to eat while you're gone.

I hear you on the strips--I have the Aviva and they're $50+ for 50 in the store. I buy them from Amazon for $27 a bottle.
 
Thanks guy :smile: She's 55 now a little before +6 and I'm leaving the food out that I mixed with honey and she just had a few bites so we should be good. I won't be back for maybe 2 hours but I think she'll be fine. I'm just glad shes a good eater otherwise this would be so much worse. I'll post her numbers later so we can figure what to shoot? Thanks for all your help you guys are the best :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top