Dropped from 4.5 to 2 U...here are his #"s

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Member Since 2015
to find out why the big drop, please see my thread titled " Please Look" from yesterday ,Had a big scared & had to rush skittles to vet ( BG dropped to 39) so he did NOT get his PM insulin

Yesterday
I pulled his dry food & started can ( maybe to fast )

He hasnt had any Hills MD dry in 24 hrs

AMPS 455 gave 2 units + Fancy Feast

+2 =294

+6=315
 
Last edited:
Thanks for starting a new thread, Sherri. Watching for a +2. My thinking is that it is sometimes an indicator of how the cycle is going to go. And we'd like a nice calm cycle. :D
 
I put in Skittles new number in my original 1st post in this thread. I will add any new number's to that thread by using the edit buttom
 
how does his numbers look so far today? Does it look anything like yesterday and the problem I had ? I can not test him every 2 hours like yesertday
 
Hmm. He dropped almost as much as yesterday. If you can possibly get a test 1/2 hours from now, it should tell you whether he is going to surf along or whether he is going to drop. Paws and fingers crossed that he will surf.

The food is making an amazing difference. This is great news, Sherri, but a little nerve wracking, I know.
 
Sheri,
I think his numbers today look good. Because it is a smaller dose, I don't think you're going to see that huge drop again. When could you get another test today?
 
I can probably do +6 and will for sure at +12

Its 12:06 now and I have to leave at 3:15 , but will be home in about 45 mins and leave again about 5:15

how do I link someone to my SS in a email or in a text message?
 
Whenever you can would be good. To link your spreadsheet, send them an email with the URL at the top of the sheet (this is the one you have on your computer at home). They do have to be signed onto Goggle to see it. If you have issues, let me know. Are you ready for me to make you the owner?
 
It is something I do. I'll still have a copy on my computer for a while if you run into any issues, but only you can invite new people to edit (if you want that)
 
add +6 to SS & 1st message in this thread. I havent been able to catch him at the litter box today, (ktos check ) come to think of it I dont know if he has. Im going to clean out the box right now and leave my other cat shut in the other room
 
It is something I do. I'll still have a copy on my computer for a while if you run into any issues, but only you can invite new people to edit (if you want that)
Thank you so much! Just tell me what I need to do to take over, but its no rush. just whenever you have any extra time :D
 
Well, it looks like you get a day off. And I know you need it. IMO, I would give this dose a few cycles to see if how he does on it. Sometimes a hypo can make numbers kinda squirrely for a while and with your food change only a day old, I'd proceed slowly. Always easy to increase when needed; impossible to get insulin out of the cat once shot - as you know!
 
I am double lucky! besides this group, I also have a personal friend who is a vet. She doesnt live here anymore (she is back in NYC) and I message her and she knows all about whats going on. She also said to stay at this dose for 2 weeks. I try hard not to ask her to much stuff because it is free. She got her VMD from Cornell University, and cat's are her favorite patients

BTW my vet ( the one Im leaving ) said to give 4 units today.... I gave 2 units
 
here is Skittles +12 number = 564 :(
I gave him 2 units w his can friskies at 9:00 PM

Are the below food safe? I guess I didn't write down enough choices ( my printer isn't hooked yet)

Friskies Turkey & Giblets Dinner pate classic
and for emergency ? Friskies with Beef in gravy savory shreds and also Turkey & Giblets Dinner in home-style Sauce saucesations . Can I mix brands like Friskies & 9-Lives?

I posted above that i have a friend that's a vet, she did say before that Hills MD dry is okay but she didn't say anything about it having a high card count so I do feel better having him on can now, but I do think I messed up yesterday but not giving him any dry. I just went from dry to can without even realizing I didnt slowly switch him over, plus i did mixed his 1st can w water

Speaking of food, I feed him when he gets his insulin but should I be letting him eat when he wants food in between? At his PM shot ( 9:00 PM), he ate a whole can and just like 10 mins he wanted more food so i did give him more. Today I dont see him drinking as much nor going to the litter box. To me it seems his back legs look worst, but my daughter does agree. I just got home about 20 mins again and he was at the bottom of the stairs, when I left at 10:15 PM he was laying on the top step which makes he think he fell down them. Tonight is the 1st time i have seen him at the bottom ( but we have not been in this apt a whole week yet)
 
Last edited:
here is Skittles +12 number = 564 :(
I gave him 2 units w his can friskies at 9:00 PM

Are the below food safe? I guess I didn't write down enough choices ( my printer isn't hooked yet)

Friskies Turkey & Giblets Dinner pate classic
and for emergency ? Friskies with Beef in gravy savory shreds and also Turkey & Giblets Dinner in home-style Sauce saucesations . Can I mix brands like Friskies & 9-Lives?

I posted above that i have a friend that's a vet, she did say before that Hills MD dry is okay but she didn't say anything about it having a high card count so I do feel better having him on can now, but I do think I messed up yesterday but not giving him any dry. I just went from dry to can without even realizing I didnt slowly switch him over, plus i did mixed his 1st can w water

Speaking of food, I feed him when he gets his insulin but should I be letting him eat when he wants food in between? At his PM shot ( 9:00 PM), he ate a whole can and just like 10 mins he wanted more food so i did give him more. Today I dont see him drinking as much nor going to the litter box. To me it seems his back legs look worst, but my daughter does agree. I just got home about 20 mins again and he was at the bottom of the stairs, when I left at 10:15 PM he was laying on the top step which makes he think he fell down them. Tonight is the 1st time i have seen him at the bottom ( but we have not been in this apt a whole week yet)
your kitty is toooo cute!
 
Sherri
The foods you listed are all ok.
The pate for regular feeding and the Friskees and 9-Lives when you need higher carbs for Skittles. And mixing brands is not a problem at all. Bob ate mostly Fancy Feast but he got an occasional Friskees and 9 Lives too.

And eating between shots is ok too. Bob ate 4 equally sized meals per day when he was getting insulin.

Keep an eye on Skittles to make sure he is using the litter box and he's staying hydrated. Since you removed the dry food, he probably won't need to drink as much as he used to. If needed, you can add a tsp or two of water to his canned food.

I hope he's ok and didn't fall down the stairs! Hopefully he didn't and just decided he's feeling comfortable in his new house.

Don't worry too much about todays numbers. Give the smaller dose a couple of days to work for him.
 
Hi, Sherri - Now that you've already switched over to all canned (and made it through that steep BG drop yesterday) there's really no reason to use the Hills MD dry; it's actually too high in carb content (at least 14% carbs) for a diabetic kitty. The Friskies turkey & giblets pate @ 8% is fine. The others you noted are a good choice for emergency use.

I agree with @Sue and Oliver (GA) above re: holding the dose for a few cycles; may take Skittles #s a little while to settle down after that hypo.
Please don't beat yourself up about what happened when you made the transition from dry too quickly - you did exactly the right thing when his #s went too low.:bighug:
Speaking of food, I feed him when he gets his insulin but should I be letting him eat when he wants food in between? At his PM shot ( 9:00 PM), he ate a whole can and just like 10 mins he wanted more food so i did give him more.
Until Skittles' diabetes is better regulated, he will beg for more food - that's the diabetes talking. Some cats eat the bulk of their daily rations at AMPS/PMPS; others may do better with several meals each day; just do what works best for Skittles. More important is portion control: the total amount of food every 24-hour period should be keyed to what your kitty's optimum target weight is (slender, but not emaciated, is better for a diabetic cat). So while you don't want to underfeed, you don't want to feed too much, either - think along the lines of his food being "medicine," too - it can either work with the insulin or against it.:) I'd recommend you go slowly with any change (if indicated) in amount of food, though. For the next few days, at least - until we see how the BG numbers are rolling out for Skittles at the current dose.
 
your kitty is toooo cute!
Thank you! I love him!! His brother looks like the one in your profile pic
I haven't figured out how to post pics yet but as soon as I do , I will post pics of both of mine
 
Last edited:
Thank all of you for your comments. I'm rereading and relearning all this information again, I am so glad I have y'all to fall back on and don't get mad at all my questions.... Y'all can call me " question queen " or QQ for short! LOL

It is different this time because it's just my kids and I and don't have any help. My husband would help me out with anything. I taught him how to hand feed birds ( love birds & cockatiels ) and then years later how to feed baby opossums & squirrels. He would take over when I really needed sleep! And the money is NOT the same! He has it, I don't :(
We are no longer together .
 
I am sorry this is such a tough time but understand you have gone through lots of changes and have many worries. I hope you'll find a job and you'll all settle into the new space. For Skittles, we'd love to help. We can't physically like your ex did, but we can get you help and reassurance whenever you need it. A QQ sounds great - fire away!

Your vet friend might like to read another vet's take on dry high carb. If you want, you could share www.catinfo.org with her. Like everyone else, I would continue with the wet. I mean, look what a difference it made in his numbers, in one cycle. And I also like giving the smaller dose a few cycles - we usually suggest three cycles and then raising slowly. The food change and his possible bouncing around since the hypo are the two unknowns here, which are the things that make me want to be a little cautious.

But we don't want him to continue in high numbers, so get those preshots and nadirs when you can and let us know. And remember to breathe - deeply and often. It sounds like a strange idea, but when I am nervous and apprehensive, it is a great help to me.
 
Thank you Sue!!
When ya'll say a few cycles, does that mean 3 days?
he had high numbers again this AMPS 569 gave 2 units. I slept threw and didnt pick up his wet food 2 hours prior. I opened a new bottle of insulin. The other one has a about 1/4 left but I dont know if moving it mixed it up some or not.....I was not clear & separate . So im going to leave it in the fridge & check it later. Should I start a new thread w todays numbers? I plan on testing him at the mini +6 when his insulin is at it peak ( or is +6 right)?

Question Queen ( AKA Sherri )
 
Last edited:
just found some throw-up on my couch , yuck! It looks like the food.....i have no idea which cat it was. It happened somewhere between 2 AM & 9 AM. both cat's are acting fine & both ate. I just had my couch professional clean a couple days before our move, which is now a week today!
 
Sherri, do you mix up your insulin before the shot? PRoZinc should be rolled and mixed before shooting. If you haven't been doing that, that could explain some of the issues. Sorry, that should have been the first thing the vet told you.

For your next shot, put the vial between your hands and just roll it around for half a minute or so and then shoot. You want it to look milky. An added bonus is that it warms the insulin which can make it hurt less.
 
Sherri, do you mix up your insulin before the shot? PRoZinc should be rolled and mixed before shooting. If you haven't been doing that, that could explain some of the issues. Sorry, that should have been the first thing the vet told you.

For your next shot, put the vial between your hands and just roll it around for half a minute or so and then shoot. You want it to look milky. An added bonus is that it warms the insulin which can make it hurt less.

yes I mix the insulin ( remember Ive had a cat before with diabetes and I used to work in a animal hospital where I showed clients how to use/handle insulin :)
I ask a lot of questions because I second guess myself when it comes to my own pets, but seem to be able to help & advise others with theirs. I dont know why I do this. And, it been 7-8 years since my last diabetic furbaby and I need to relearn everything
QQ :p
 
Ask all the questions you want! I'm the same way...I can know something really well, but when it comes to my babies, I need someone to tell me what to do!

3 cycles is 3 12 hours periods. A cycle is just AMPS to PMPS OR PMPS to AMPS. Make sense?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top