Drooping neck & dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mona'sBeth

Member Since 2014
Mona has been getting steadily better over the past couple of weeks. She's now eating on her own (FF Turkey & Giblets seems to be her favorite) and yesterday we had our best day ever - she was talkative, nosy and even sat on my lap some (which she always used to do). However, we have not had any luck with home testing - she hates me touching her ears and I can't get blood.

This morning when I got up, her head was drooping and she looked really ill. She did eat prety well (1/2 can FF Turkey) and she seems to be able to move around easily. The head droop is really worrying me, though. I finally tried a paw-poke BG test at about +7 (maybe 15 minutes shy of it) and got blood! (I never thought I'd be so happy to see my sugarbaby bleed.) Her BG was 243 (Relion meter). My thinking is that's near the low point in her cycle, so I should increase by 1/2 unit at her normal shot time. Is this right?

Also, if anybody has any ideas about the droopy head (could it be high BG?) I'd love to hear it.

Thanks!
 
Glad you got a number! Welcome to the Vampire Club. Now you can get some data and figure out what is really happening with her numbers.

I wouldn't change a dose based on one reading, but I would work on getting some numbers so you can adjust the dose safely. I haven't heard of the drooping neck. Do you get ketone tests? If not, I definitely would. You use the ketone strips that humans use and stick the strip in the urine stream. If that doesn't sound possible, we have ways :mrgreen:
 
Oops sorry. I thought I had made it public but I guess I didn't. Mona's spreadsheet should be visible now.
 
It may be a Google problem. Clicking on your SS link returns
Google logoDrive
Google Drive encountered an error. If reloading the page doesn't help, please report the error.

We're sorry, a server error occurred. Please wait a bit and try reloading your spreadsheet.
To learn more about Google Drive, please visit our help center.


We're sorry for the inconvenience. Thanks for your help!
- The Google Drive Team
 
I feel like I'm on that annoying old cell phone commercial - can you hear me now?

I deleted my signature and redid it. Perhaps now it will work?
 
Well she's still not holding up her head, but she's eating well, drinking water and even played. Unfortunately, her toy of choice was the rice sock I warmed up to do her BG and I wasn't able to get her PSBG. *facepalms* She's sending me some serious mixed messages here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top