Dressing down from Vet - now confused

Status
Not open for further replies.
First I want to thank everyone who helped me on the other thread. Sherry, you are an angel and earth for allowing me to endlessly question you while you're at work. And the spreadsheet is fabulous, but after talking to my vet today, I'm not sure I'll be using it.

As you know, I've finally been getting some numbers on Fitzel. The last 48 hours she's been in the mid to high 100's and I've withheld her insulin. Tonight she's at 260 and I will be giving her a shot. (.5u)

My vet had asked me to do a curve on Fitzel weeks ago, and that is when this blood odyssey began. I haven't been able to do a proper curve so far, but I do have quite a bit of data and decided to pass those numbers over to my vet. Well.... When we connected this afternoon, he very firmly told me that the numbers I had were worthless and the fact I was adjusting Fitzel's insulin according to the numbers was disastrous. He was not happy that the planned fructosimine test will now be postponed and he felt my actions put Fitzel's health in jeopardy. He told me to return her to .5u. To shoot once a day only and to not test her at all for the next two weeks so he can do a fructosimine test.

I'm so confused and frightened. I'm scared I'm going to harm or maybe kill my kitty. It goes against my gut to not test her at all, and yet, I do understand that to do this test he needs her to be on a consistent level of insulin for a couple of weeks. I believe he's doing what he feels is the right thing to do. He's the experienced one and I most certainly am not. But I am wondering how less information is somehow a better way to go. To shoot unconditionally doesn't seem right.

I am intending to give her insulin tonight and after all I've gone through and put all of you through I feel weird just packing away the meter and forgetting it for two weeks. I'm considering testing, but not passing numbers on to my vet. But, I also know if I find she's low, like she's been the past couple of days it will be very scary to shoot as I've been directed to do.

I realize this has to be my decision. But I would truly like to hear what you have to say. Has anyone been in a situation like this? Am I wrong to adjust Fitzel's insulin based on her bg levels when she's so new to receiving it?

Shai
 
Re: A failure at bg testing
by shai » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:22 am

pmps - 67!

Thank God and every single one of you who encouraged, cajolled and directed me to a successful testing of Fitzel tonight - insulin at that number, if I had not known her bg was that low, would have been a disaster I don't want to think about. If it wasn't for this board, I might have lost my baby tonight, and it would have been my fault!

She's not showing any signs of hypo, and hasn't today, but she's obviously skirting it. Even though I was successful testing her tonight, there was still trauma/drama. She just finished dins so I'll let her digest and see if I can re-test her in about half an hour. I hope my luck holds.

shai
shai

Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 3:29 pm

Shai, please continue testing and keep that meter handy. It is the most lifesaving tool we can use to help keep our kitties safe. As for that vet......can't write what I would like to :-x ........Fitzel is your beloved cat and if you follow his advice and she does have a hypo, he isn't going to be affected by it. You and Fitzel will though. We test, we run curves, and we adjust a dose up or down depending on the numbers we see. We do not do an adjustment every day as he probably thinks you do. I do not call skipping a shot an adjustment when the meter shows us giving insulin would be extremely dangerous because of the low ps number. FWIW, a fructosamine will only show the average of the past 2 weeks and IMHO is useless as a tool for deciding the amount of insulin needed. We have our meters, we can do curves, we are all gifted with a brain in our heads, we can see if a kitty needs a touch more or less of insulin. Please, always test before shooting Fitzel.
 
Find a new vet. If you post the town you live in and ask for recommendations there's hopefully someone near you who knows a good vet
 
Shai,
A dose of .5u is a good place to start. I think your vet is trying to be too controlling. You are the customer in this relationship, so your decision and your choice are what matters.
Whether you test or not has nothing to do with the fructosamine test. What we believe is the the test is a waste of your money. With that test, your vet will get a single number. With that number, she would be able to determine what Fitzel's average blood glucose number has been over a two week period. Average blood glucose is pretty useless information when compared to actual blood glucose numbers taken at consistent times during the day and night. Average bg won't tell her how well the insulin is working, it won't reveal what her preshot or nadir numbers are, so it won't help with evaluating the appropriateness of her dose.
Her saying your data is worthless? 100% wrong! Your data can save Fitzel's life. Her fruct test can't. Telling you to shoot blind is like telling you to play Russian Roulette with Fritzel's life.
A new member joined today. His vet did not advise him to home test. His poor kitty appears to have suffered multiple hypoglycemic seizures in the past two or three days, and tonight that cat is clinging to life. Telling you to shoot insulin and telling you NOT to test is insane advice.
She may want you to keep the .5 unit dose the same, and that could be fine. She may need more, she may need less. But the only way to know that is by testing,
. Lantus works best when you hold the same dose for several days. You can hold it a week, provided it is safe to do so. You would only raise it if her numbers were high enough for an increase to make sense. You would only lower it if the dose proved to be putting her at risk. You wouldn't be changing it every day based on her preshot test number. Starting at .5 should be safe. But the only way to know that is with data from blood tests.

I hope that helps?
Carl
 
Thank you very much for your responses. I read the post re: the kitty now struggling to hang on. I most definatetly don't want Fitzel to get anywhere close to that condition.

Up until about 7 years ago I had the most wonderful vet on the planet. He had been our family vet since I was 4. All he cared about were peoples pets. He spayed/neutered for free and made house calls for people who didn't or couldn't drive. He never turned an Injured animal away for the owners lack of funds. He retired at 90 and now has dementia. I' know I'll never find another vet like him but I'd like to fInd someone who's as good with the owners as they are with pets.

I live in north Hollywood in the north east San Fernando valley. If anyone knows of a caring good vet out this way I would love to contact them.

I will contInue to test. Right now I'm intending to keep her at .5u.
Shai
 
Hi Shai! You are not alone. Many, if not most, people on this board have gotten conflicting advice from their vet. I am not sure why that is, but many vets are just not experienced treating feline diabetes and are not up on the latest protocols. That is why this board is so valuable. My first vet told me it was unnecessary to home test and to just bring Ninja in for (expensive) curves once a week for an indefinite period. He had an attitude with me too (like your vet), and made me feel stupid for questioning him. He smirked a lot during the visit, especially when I told him what I had learned online.

The folks on this board helped me see that weekly curves taken at the vet were unnecessary, and that they are often wrong anyway -- because the cat is stressed and it's blood glucose spikes in stressful situations (sometimes 100 points higher than it might otherwise be). I found a new vet (again, thanks to one of the posters on this board), and my new vet emphasized to me that home testing was crucial for Ninja. She did not require me to come in for curves and just asked me to send her Ninja's numbers once every week or so -- so she could evaluate and make dosage recommendations. My new vet said, down the road, I might want to bring Ninja in for a Fructosamine test but that is not something she recommended right away (like Carl said, it is more of a snapshot, an average of how Ninja's blood glucose has been running over a two week period, and not used to determine Lantus dose changes early on).

Shai, I really think it would put your mind at ease to get a second opinion from a different vet -- someone who will work with you and not "dress you down" for wanting to be an active partner in Fitzel's care. I hope someone on this board has a vet recommendation for you.

Until then, keep testing. There is absolutely no reason not to -- and REMEMBER....THE IMPORTANT THING IS NOT TO SHOOT ANY INSULIN IF Fitzel's BG number is under 200 at the time of your preshot test (others, correct me if I am wrong on this). Once you get a new vet, he/she may guide you in shooting under 200 -- but for now, I believe 200 is the safe threshold. Other's please chime in.

Once you get a supportive and knowledgeable vet, this will be a lot easier for you.
 
I know there are CA members here. I don't know if anyone is in the Hollywood area but someone might know of a good vet there. If you edit the subject of your post to include your location, the CA members will respond.
 
Someone's cat almost died two nights ago from a hypo from shooting blind and spent a night in emergency on a glucose drip. He is very lucky to be alive.

I went through four vets before I found one that was okay with home testing, let alone the lantus Rand protocol.

My vet almost killed Maverick. This is a long story. But I will never ever blindly put my faith in a vet ever again. Maverick's vet was a bully and it was "my way or the highway" and actually told me he was the one with the white coat. I diagnosed him with some personality disorders LOL. The last straw was when he made me cry in his office. Maverick had a feeding tube for ten weeks. It was a nightmare. If it were not for a forum, (Yahoo Feline Assisted Feeding) Maverick would have died. he wouldn't have lived long enough for diabetes which he got a year later. We found this forum the week of his diagnosis and wow. I had the courage to find a great vet who I will never let go. It took trial and error to find one. But I wanted one I could be honest with, not lie to or pay for unnecessary tests. Maverick was very stressed going to the vets. Unfortunately our first visit with the vet I loved, he passed away unexpectedly. Turns out he probably had a bad heart and we didn't know it.

But I have three shelter cats now, one was diabetic and a great vet. The diabetic shelter cat tested at 49 the day I was to shoot two units - our first day home. My friend begged me to foster him as he was unwell at the shelter. He is lucky to be alive! That was a year ago and he hasn't had a drop since. He tests at 49-52 every month. Two units blind twice a day - still amazes me he survived it three months at the shelter.

Maverick went from only 1 unit down to a single drop in our five months here and I've met some people I consider close friends. This forum is like any other. Many vets are old school. We have seen some horrible negligent advice and cats do die from it. You know your cat more than anyone and there is no reason not to home test. Your vet is insecure and doesn't want his ego challenged. You most likely will need to find a new vet. If you post where you are from, there may be someone with a vet already broken in for you.

You need to find the courage to be your cats advocate. Vets work for you, not the other way around. Lean on the group here. They are diabetes experts. They help thousands of cats a year vs your vets handful. They know the latest literature and will be here day and night for support. I'd trust this group with the lives of all three cats over a vet.

Welcome to FDMB.
 
Something that sometimes puts this issue into perspective: If He were your 2 legged child, would you accept this same advice? Go home, shoot the same amount of insulin every day without testing first and bring him back in 2 weeks?
 
Let me tell you my story of what happened with Maui. I had been using this vet for 5 years and had trust and faith that this vet knew what she was doing.

When Maui was diagnosed, she insisted that Maui stay there for at least one week to "get regulated". She shot her with 1 unit Lantus shortly after I left her there. I came home and found this board and received the same conflicting information that you are now receiving.

I spent the day on here and then calling the vet with all my questions.

I learned from the vet that she planned to give Maui more insulin less than 8 hours after giving the first shot. Why - because I brought my cat in so late and they were getting ready to close the office, she had to do her rounds before leaving and that was how it worked out. And the best part, she would be alone and unmonitored overnight!

Needless to say, the people here freaked out at that news and told me to not let her do that and to bring my cat home. They would help me - they promised.

I was scared, go against the vet. She's the expert, she knows what she is doing, etc. etc. And what if she refuses to treat Maui or my other cats, what am I going to do? All this was going through my head as I drove over to rescue my cat.

The vet told me that if I take her home now, I MUST go to the emergency hospital with her for treatment and bring her back the next day and we would follow this process for at least one week. And she forbade from home testing. Yes, she actually said I forbid you from home testing. You are to bring her here every day for testing. (At $20 per test mind you, plus vet visit fee of $80).

She said if I don't follow her instructions, she will not treat my cat. Why I asked. Are you ready for this answer.......

Because if something goes wrong by my not following her instructions, she will not be LIABLE and sued by me. Yes, all she cared about was that I would sue her and she would be held accountable. She had no concern about my cat at all. It was all about liability and her.

Needless to say, I followed the advice of this board, brought Maui home, went to the store and bought a meter, called around for a new vet who followed the board's philosophy about home testing and was scared the entire time I was doing this.

But as one very wise member pointed out - I wouldn't put a paper bag over my head and get in the car and drive would I? Then why would I inject insulin into my animal blindly? It's the same thing.

Another way to look at it - if the patient were a human - say you, your child, spouse, parent - do you think the doctor would instruct you to inject insulin WITHOUT testing first? NO WAY! Why is it different because the patient is a cat and not human? I don't get it.

The vets use the scare tactic, you will hurt the cat or you will kill the cat or the cat will hate you if you test.....well that is all it is a scare tactic.

Now will you hurt the cat - yes possibly you may, if you don't poke just right. Is it a permanent hurt - no it's not, you just have to develop the right technique for you and the cat.

Will you kill the cat. Actually, yes you may - if you DO NOT test and inject insulin blindly. You proved it already when you got that reading of 67. Yes, you still could have injected insulin at that number, but if you didn't test, you wouldn't know if it was too much insulin and if a possible hypo would happen.

Will the cat hate you - I have yet to hear that any of the cats who are tested hate their humans. Do some of them not like testing, absolutely. But it isn't so much the poking they hate as it is the way they are being restrained.

And once you get into a routine of testing and giving treats (Maui's treat is getting brushed), you will find that you actually develop a closer bond with the cat than before.

I am sorry the vet said the things she did and treated you in such a way. This is totally unprofessional and should never be condoned.

You are not a dummy. Just because she has a degree that you don't have, does NOT make her smarter or more intelligent than you. You are the customer, you are allowed to ask questions and to seek a 2nd opinion. If that 2nd opinion happens to be from people on the internet - so what, as long as what those people are saying makes sense.

This board has a track record of helping thousands of cats, of which many are now in remission as a result. Including my Maui - she is 3 years in remission and going strong.

I hope this helps to put your mind at ease and to give you the strength and courage that by following our advice - YOU ARE DOING THE RIGHT THING!


Now, let's find you a new vet and see who may be in your area to help you in person.
 
I agree that you should find a new vet! Using scare tactics to convince you to purchase unnecessary tests is a huge red flag that vet is not putting your cat's health as a priority, and that he is either willfully ignoring or unaware of the current diabetes guidelines. I I would bring him the American Animal Hospital Association Guidelines for diabetes (p. 218) before you leave, and perhaps the next poor diabetic cat in his care will get better treatment. http://www.aahanet.org/PublicDocuments/AAHADiabetesGuidelines.pdf. Note where it states, "Home monitoring of BG is ideal and strongly encouraged to obtain the most accurate interpretation of glucose relative to clinical signs."

A fructosamine is useless except at diagnosis; if you're home testing, all you have to do is average your daily numbers for three weeks and you get the same result. But an average number is not going to tell you anything. It's the pattern of daily numbers that show you how the insulin is working. That's what human diabetics do. Why would that be any different just because the diabetic happens to be a cat? There are a few small differences between diabetes in cats and humans (e.g. their faster metabolisms), but the basic mechanics of the disease and treatment are the same.

I was very fortunate that I had a vet that was mostly up to date with diabetes when Bandit was diagnosed. She told me that if I did not home test, I was putting my cat's life at risk, and that he was going to suffer serious harm from either a gradual worsening of his diabetes or a hypoglycemic incident if I didn't home test. She also gave me a price quote on how much office testing would cost per month vs. home testing. I walked out of that office determined, to say the least, and stuck to testing even though Bandit was a holy terror to test those first two weeks.

You don't need a vet that gets everything right--those are few and far between! Even Bandit's vet made mistakes with her dosing suggestions (she was having me give insulin once a day instead of twice and raising in whole units), but as long as they work with you and are ok with you bringing them information, they're a good vet.
 
Most of us here do what human diabetics do for themselves - take charge of the care of our kitty's diabetes. That means daily testing, low carb food and reading this board and getting help here to learn what the BG values mean and how to adjust dose accordingly.

The one thing your vet has right is the .5u dose, but not once per day. Cats metabolize insulin faster than humans, so once per day just doesn't work well enough for cats. .5u twice per day, 12 hours apart, is a great place to start. You will get good data on that dose and after 3 days we can evaluate where her BG numbers are to see if she needs more insulin. Waiting 2 weeks isn't necessary when you are home-testing.

What food(s) are you feeding? That is also important to help understand how the insulin is working. Low carb canned such as Fancy Feast Classic varieties is a good place to start as most cats love Fancy Feast.

I know it's hard to listen to strangers online. There are hundreds of us here who are extremely glad we did. My cat Gandalf lived for over 6 years as a feline diabetic because of this board's knowledge. We also have valuable links such as the AAHA one Julie provided. A vet who isn't now following those guidelines is not using the current feline diabetes treatments.

Good luck and Fitzel will be fine, you've found us already before any damage has been done.
 
Ok, take a moment to breathe. You are not killing your cat!

You don't have a spread sheet link on your signature. So, have you been changing the dose up and down a lot? If you have, I can see the vet being upset about that. As others have said, you need to keep the dose consistent for about a week BUT only as long as it's save to give insulin.

As for testing, it's the only way to see if it's safe to give insulin (pre-shot) and how well the insulin is working (nadir). And remember, you don't need permission to test, so even if your vet doesn't approve of testing, ignore them. She's your cat, not theirs.

About the fructosimine test. Many people here think it's useless. Though it doesn't tell you the highs and lows, it does let you know if the average is within the normal range. My husband is pre-diabetic and take his BG daily, with a A1C (a human test that gives the average for 3months) every 4 months. So I'm not sure the fructosimine test is really worthless.

So, what are your choices now?? If you basically like your vet, you can keep going to them, and not tell them about testing. Then see if you can convert them later with how well Fitzel is doing. Or you can call around and find a vet who is more up on treating cats with diabetes.
 
Maggies Mom Debby said:
About the fructosimine test. Many people here think it's useless. Though it doesn't tell you the highs and lows, it does let you know if the average is within the normal range. My husband is pre-diabetic and take his BG daily, with a A1C (a human test that gives the average for 3months) every 4 months. So I'm not sure the fructosimine test is really worthless.

There is an average function in the google spreadsheet that allows you to create a 3 month average. Or you can cut and paste into excel if that's more familiar and you want an average. However, dosing decisions are not based on averages, but rather individual daily patterns in numbers. That's why it's useless to do the fructosamine because the information provided is not going to be very helpful. It will provide you with a general idea of how he's been doing, but it is not going to provide you with any information that will affect his treatment.

If a cat was pre-diabetic and not being tested daily (because insulin was not being given), then a fructosamine might make sense IF you wanted to spend the money--you could also just home test over a period of weeks in that situation as well and get the same information, which is what I would do because of the expense.
 
fwiw, I think Sherry's vet is a good one. don't know how close they'd be to you but obviously you can ask her :-)

did she hook you up with Michelle and Scrabble too? I think they might even be a little closer to you, on the other side, so they may have a vet to recommend too

mine's awesome but clearly too far for you to drive :-)
 
Hi Debby (and Shai): Below is a link to a spreadsheet I helped Shai put together a couple days ago. She was having difficulty getting BG readings consistently as she is new to this; but as you will see, she did the best she could. I have not yet shown her how to include this spreadsheet in her signature line. Shai looks to have been holding the dose at .5 BID although there may have been days when she did not give a shot due to inability to get a BG reading. Shai's dilemma (in my reading of her posts) is that Fitzel's numbers are not that elevated -- which is a good thing; but as a newbie she is already doing the delicate "end dance" so to speak -- where the dosage of insulin is small but the risk of hypo is increased (it looks like she had 3 readings under 100 in one week, one as low as 45). And on top of everything else, her vet does not appear to be supportive of home testing. Shai, I am not trying to speak for you - but since I had the link to your spreadsheet and Debby asked about it in her post, I thought I would provide it in case it might help the senior folks evaluate.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... li=1#gid=0



Maggies Mom Debby said:
Ok, take a moment to breathe. You are not killing your cat!

You don't have a spread sheet link on your signature. So, have you been changing the dose up and down a lot? If you have, I can see the vet being upset about that. As others have said, you need to keep the dose consistent for about a week BUT only as long as it's save to give insulin.

As for testing, it's the only way to see if it's safe to give insulin (pre-shot) and how well the insulin is working (nadir). And remember, you don't need permission to test, so even if your vet doesn't approve of testing, ignore them. She's your cat, not theirs.
 
Thanks for the link to Fitzel's spread sheet. It sure shows the importance of testing, doesn't it? Shai, it's clear your doses are NOT all over the place. In fact, you are doing a great job! You are getting a lot of low numbers really early in this sugar dance, and you're dealing with them appropriately.

I think your vet is being unreasonable and finding a new one is probably a great idea.
 
This so amazing. Many, many thank yous to everyone. I came down with the flu or some nasty thing last night ( probably stress related) and will go through everyone's post more closely just as soon as I can get vertical again.

Fitzel and I are so grateful and I'm anxious to get the spreadsheet updated and connected to my signature so it will be easier for all to see what's happening here.
Much love - ShI
 
shai said:
First I want to thank everyone who helped me on the other thread. Sherry, you are an angel and earth for allowing me to endlessly question you while you're at work. And the spreadsheet is fabulous, but after talking to my vet today, I'm not sure I'll be using it.

As you know, I've finally been getting some numbers on Fitzel. The last 48 hours she's been in the mid to high 100's and I've withheld her insulin. Tonight she's at 260 and I will be giving her a shot. (.5u)

My vet had asked me to do a curve on Fitzel weeks ago, and that is when this blood odyssey began. I haven't been able to do a proper curve so far, but I do have quite a bit of data and decided to pass those numbers over to my vet. Well.... When we connected this afternoon, he very firmly told me that the numbers I had were worthless and the fact I was adjusting Fitzel's insulin according to the numbers was disastrous. He was not happy that the planned fructosimine test will now be postponed and he felt my actions put Fitzel's health in jeopardy. He told me to return her to .5u. To shoot once a day only and to not test her at all for the next two weeks so he can do a fructosimine test.

I'm so confused and frightened. I'm scared I'm going to harm or maybe kill my kitty. It goes against my gut to not test her at all, and yet, I do understand that to do this test he needs her to be on a consistent level of insulin for a couple of weeks. I believe he's doing what he feels is the right thing to do. He's the experienced one and I most certainly am not. But I am wondering how less information is somehow a better way to go. To shoot unconditionally doesn't seem right.

I am intending to give her insulin tonight and after all I've gone through and put all of you through I feel weird just packing away the meter and forgetting it for two weeks. I'm considering testing, but not passing numbers on to my vet. But, I also know if I find she's low, like she's been the past couple of days it will be very scary to shoot as I've been directed to do.

I realize this has to be my decision. But I would truly like to hear what you have to say. Has anyone been in a situation like this? Am I wrong to adjust Fitzel's insulin based on her bg levels when she's so new to receiving it?

Shai

OK let me get this straight.... you are taking your cat to a person who is passing himself off as a vet, yet he is unaware that ALL cats need insulin TWICE a day?

Your data is not useless; your 'vet' is


ETA: hit submit too early.

I realize that it's your choice to go along with your obviously uninformed vet who just wants your cash from the fructosamine test..... ask your vet if human diabetics who test their BG are also gathering useless data.

You are most certainly NOT wrong to adjust the amount of insulin you give based on your cat's BG numbers.... what exactly does your vet want you to use?

Are you in a remote area, or could you get yourself another vet?

Tell your vet that your meter has an average, so if you need to see an average of your cat's numbers for the last couple of weeks, you will just check your BG meter.... BUT if your vet would like, you will bring in the cat for a FREE fructosamine test, if it will make your vet happier.... oh, not free? OK thanks but no thanks, I can't afford useless tests.
 
I'd suggest you take a step back and consider your vet's instructions and how those instructions would relate if you had a child that was diabetic -- or for that matter, if you were diabetic. You would not give your child an injection of a potentially dangerous drug without knowing if it was safe to give the injection. That's what a pre-shot test tells you -- whether it's safe to give a shot. Testing during the cycle tells you how low that shot is bringing your cat's numbers so you can adjust the dose to keep your cat in a safe blood glucose range.

Most MDs want their human diabetic patients to learn how to monitor their blood glucose and make adjustments to their dose. They want patients to learn how to monitor, control their diet, stick to a shot schedule, and enjoy a good quality of life. They don't ask people to come in to the office or check into the hospital for 12-hours to run a curve. A hemoglobin A1c is similar to a fructosamine test in that it gives an average, although the fructosamine is an average over a 2 - 3 week period. Most glucometers will store enough data and will give you a 2-week average. The validity of the test, regardless of whether it's an Hg A1c or a fructosamine test, has little to do with whether you've adjusted the dose. My vet likes fructosamine tests. We have a discussion every time she sees my cat. I decline the test and usually she agrees that I have a wealth of BG data and the fructosamine will tell us very little. I should also point out that Gabby sees my vet twice a year for a routine health reasons and she does not get involved with my dosing strategy. She has the link to Gabby's spreadsheet and has yet to call me about what her numbers look like nor has she ever asked that I not change a dose for several weeks prior to an appointment where she'll be getting blood work.

Most vets see a handful of cats with diabetes. There are literally hundreds of cats that have been followed on this board. There are people here with expertise in every insulin that can be used to treat feline diabetes. Are we vets? No. Do we hear about wonderful vets? Yes. Unfortunately, we also hear about a fair number of vets who are not up to speed with current methods of treating feline diabetes. Vets have an overwhelming job -- they can't be up to speed on all diseases for every species of animal they treat. We are asking that you take a leap of faith to trust what the people here are saying.
 
Shai-
Call me when you get a chance- I know it will not be until tomorrow morning (sat) sorry I just checked on you over here- I know the first think you want to do is do what your vet says- I never asked whom you use- many, many vets are uneducated on fd- including mine (not anymore- I proved him wrong as he prescribed "diabetic food" dry at that - I educated him on fancy feast low carb and proved that a "shop" cat can be a diet controlled diabetic to THIS day- on one shot per day-( I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE OR MY SHOT SCHEDULE- you simply do the best you can within your own circumstances) You have NEVER put fetzil's health at jeopardy, your numbers are NOT worthless as it is collecting data, .5 unit is a good dose so far in my opinion as we do not have enough data but are working on getting more bg readings. You are right going with your gut instinct of giving her .5 units tonight and do not pack that meter away. I plan on being over on Sunday to meet all of you :)

Sherry
 
Please do run any decisions by the right insulin experts though. Some insulins like Lantus are shed based and once a day would not be ideal.

You have a whole community supporting you night and day. I know you are in good hands.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top