@Suzanne & Darcy
There was a lot of activity last night the with the Libre3. Last night Douglas PMPS glucose was uncharacteristically low for a PMPS. He fasts 2 hours before his injection, and yesterday I stopped feeding after 1pm too. It was 192 on the Libre, so I double checked his blood glucose with the Contour and it was 160 at 6:39pm and retested (no food) at 7:13 pm and it was 131 Contour. It was dropping, but still normal ranges.
The last time he had a lowish PMPS on March 12, and I'd given him half the dose, and reviewing the response, it turned out to be too conservative of a dose. So last night, we reduced the dose from 2.75 to 2.5. He ate really well before we gave him injection, so I was expecting his BG values to rise, but they kept going down and had an early nadir. The L3 began giving us low alerts, and I was expecting that and did not let it panic me. When the Libre3 got down to 49, I calmly retested the BG with the blood glucose meter at 9:39 pm and it was 83 on Contour and 103 on alphatrak3, so both very normal ranges. But since his numbers were so low early in his cycle (+2.5 hrs), I fed him 2 table spoon of 12% FF pate. I did not have an 8%, and will need to pick some up when I am at the store. The trend arrow on the Libre3 went from down to sideways, which was a good sign. The straight down arrow really worries me. I ended up turning off the "low alarms" which is settable and was at 80. He had 8 alarms last night. The "urgent low" is set to 55 and that can't be turned off. But he did not have anymore of those after 9:30 pm. And the urgent low just means that I need to test his blood glucose.
I kept checking on him to make sure he was not showing any hypo symptoms also. He was trying to sleep, and I kept poking him making sure he was properly annoyed with me.
Douglas and I fell asleep on the couch, and when I woke up around 12:30 am, I noticed that his numbers weren't rising as much as I was expecting and another "low" alert of 78 was logged in the Libre software, but it did not sound this time. I was so tired and wanted to go to bed, and wouldn't been able to sleep if I did not know his numbers were rising, so I fed him the rest of the 12% FF pate.
In hindsight, I should have retested his BG one more time with a handheld meter to confirm that his numbers were still good so I could rest, and not have given him the rest of the HC food. I asked my husband if I should retest him, and he said he did not think so and I should have done so anyway, for my peace of mind. Then I would have seen it looked good and no need to give him the rest of the HC food. It is difficult to think rationally when sleepy and feeling panicky.
Also in hindsight, maybe we should have only given him 1/2 the dose, so around 1.4 units.
This morning, his AMPS on the Libre was HI.
Since we are not feeding him after 1pm, I've decided to only give him 2.5 units. I don't want to introduce too many variables. So yesterday (Saturday morning), not only did I increase his dose to 2.75, but I also withheld food at 1 pm and I don't know which one had the most impact, but both may have been too much of a change.
So this morning, I gave him 2.5 units and will cut off food at 1pm. He is getting the FF pate and I gave him freeze dried chicken as his injection treat.
I haven't decided if I will continue the 2.5 units for his PM shot, or increase it to 2.75. I will need to see how he does the rest of the day, especially after 1pm and no food again until 6:40 pm.