doubts about dosage and rebound

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member
hi,

this is anson from hong kong and we don't have support like this here. it's so nice to find this message board.
really grateful if you folks can advise.

my cat is 16 year old, 17 in april. recent blood test shows she is basically ok with all other organs except the fact that crea is at the edge of top range, yet at her age, it is very good already.
at present, i feed her with b-12 supplement, k supplement, wellness core (grain-free) canned food, plus home-made shrimp + tuna (from almo nature canned food but i get rid of the rice by putting the tuna in hot water for 15mins before putting them in the blender with the shrimp). no dry food since dec.

she was ketonic in mid dec, dropping from 7p to 5.8p. lack of strength and eating none, and sugar was high up to 16.
then we tried potassium supplement, sub-q and we started lantus. first 3/4 unit as a test then to 1 unit and 1.25 unit. she is basically normal until mid jan when she had diarrhea.
then things get unstable, and the vet raised from 1.25 to 1.75 then to 2 then to 2.5 two days ago...

here are the detailed info.
my doubts are now, figure going higher and higher with higher dose and i am not sure whether it's the right path. the vet didn't explain well on this. and i am not sure whether it is a rebound, or overdose...


17 dec (started in 0.75 unit as she is tiny)
8am --> 15.3
10am --> 10.8
12pm --> 13
2pm 15.2
6pm --> 13.3
8:30pm --> 15

18thdec
8am blood test --> 15
12pm blood test --> 13.8
830pm blood test -->17.2


19th dec
raise to 1 unit
830am blood test --> 14.9
8:15 pm blood test 11.6

** not ketonic anymore

20th dec
8:10am blood test 15.3
8:30pm blood test 16.5

21st dec
8:15am blood test 15.9

visited vet again, and raise further to 1.25.

22nd dec
urine test a bit darker than the 500mg zone,
3pmurine test 400mg
845pm (before insulin) --> urine test 150mg


23rd dec
830am urine test --> normal
then, i tried the blood test to play safe before injection (pinned her ears 5 times to get blood...XO)
result is 3.2 (normal level). if it is mid-day test, then would be very nice but it is before insulin and after food. ** so i didn't do the injection.

230pm urine test 300mg
8pm blood test --> 16
830pm insulin (1.25 unit)

24th dec
8:15am urine test 150mg


25th dec
9am: urine 50mg
930: 1 unit of insulin

430pm: urine negative (lower than normal)

900pm: urine (between normal and 50mg)
930pm: 1 unit of insulin

** as i was afraid it will be too low for her, so i did 1 unit.

26th dec
745am: urine 50mg
8am: insulin 1&1/4 unit of insulin
5pm: urine 150mg
830pm: 1&1/4 unit of insulin

27th dec
830am: urine 100mg
845am: 1&1/4 unit of insulin
6pm: normal to 50mg
8pm: 1&1/4 unit of insulin
1030pm urine 50mg


28th dec
830am 1&1/4 unit of insulin
12:00pm: urine normal
5pm: negative (lower than normal)
815pm: between normal and 50mg (very mild)
830pm: 1&1/4 unit of insulin

29th dec
7:30am urine: normal
8:30am blood: 6.3
insulin: 1 unit of insulin


30th dec
930 urine (negative, less than normal). so i feed her some more food.
1030am blood 7.5
11am 1 unit
10pm blood 7.6
1030pm 1 unit

31st dec
9am 1 unit
11am urine (negative, less than normal)
2pm urine (normal)
9pm 1 unit


1st jan
8am urine (50mg)
830am insulin 1 unit
7pm urine (normal to 50mg)
8pm 1 unit
930pm (urine 50mg)

2nd jan
7am 1 unit insulin
8am urine (150mg)
9pm 1&1/4 unit

3rd jan
8am 1&1/4 unit
130pm urine negative (less than normal)
815: 1&1/4 unit

4th jan
7am 1&1/4 unit
11pm 1&1/4 unit

5th jan
1030am urine (normal)
11am 1 unit
11pm 1 unit

6th jan
10am 1&1/4 unit
10pm 1&1/4 unit

8th jan
845am 1&1/4 unit insulin
5pm 150mg urine
815 pm 150mg urine
10pm 1&1/4 unit insulin

9th jan
9am 1&1/4 unit
9pm 150mg urine
945pm 1&1/4 unit

10th jan
9am 1&1/4 unit
5pm (normal in urine)
8:30pm 1&1/4 unit

11th jan
730am 1&1/4 unit
6pm (normal in urine)
630pm 1&1/4 unit

12th jan
630am 1&1/4 unit
6pm urine 300mg
6:15pm 1&1/4 unit
8pm 300mg in urine.

13th jan
6am 500mg (urine)
630am 1&1/4 unit insulin
930am between 300-500mg (urine)
530pm 300mg(urine)
6pm 1&1/4 unit insulin

14th jan
7am 500mg (urine)
715am 1&1/4 unit insulin
930am 300mg (urine)
630pm insulin

15th Jan
230am 200mg (urine)
7am 1&1/4 unit insuln
930am 150mg (urine)
7pm 1&1/4 unit insulin
1030pm 200mg (urine)

16th jan
6am between 500-1000mg (urine)
630am 1&1/4 unit insulin
430pm between 300-500mg (urine)
## 6pm insulin
##(used the new tube of insulin)

17th Jan
7am 1&1/4 unit insulin (she is quite tried after the injection)
930am normal (urine)
2 pm negative (urine)
5pm (100mg) (urine)
7pm 1&1/4 unit insulin (she is quite tried after the injection)

18th jan
7am 1&1/4 unit insulin
9am 100 gm (urine)
7pm 1&1/4 unit insulin

19th jan
6am 100-150mg urine
7am 1&1/4 unit insulin
830am 100-150mg urine
6pm 150mg urine
630pm 1&1/4 unit insulin
930pm 150mg urine

20th jan
6am 300mg urine
630am insulin
6pm 200-300mg urine
630 insulin

21st jan
6am 200 urine
7am insulin
7pm insulin
8pm 200-300mg urine

** started to have diarrhea on 21st as the almo nature (new canned food) might not fit her and she ate too much**

22nd jan
530am urine 200mg
645am insulin
2pm vomit
430pm urine 400mg
645pm insulin
745pm urine200-300mg

23rd jan
serious diarrhea
7am insulin
715am urine 200-300
8pm urine 200
815pm insulin


24th jan

730am blood test 10.9
745am insulin
11:15am blood test 16
15:00pm blood test 18.9

** vet suggest to raise to 1&3/4 unit unsulin

recent urine tests

25th jan
930pm, new dosage 1&3/4 unit insulin

26th jan
930am 1&3/4 unit
1030am urine 150mg.
915pm urine 300mg
930pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
1130pm urine 300mg

27th jan
8am urine 400-500mg
9am 1&3/4 unit insulin
11am urine 300mg
830pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
930pm urine 200-300mg

28th jan
830am 1&3/4 unit insulin
945am urine 300mg
730pm 200-300mg
830pm 1&3/4 unit insulin

29th jan
7am urine 100mg
830am 1&3/4 unit insulin
930am urine 200mg

30th jan
4am urine 300-400mg
8am 1&3/4 unit insulin
4pm urine 400mg
845pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
10pm urine 200mg

31st jan
6am urine 200mg
8am 1&3/4 unit insulin
430pm urine 100mg
730pm urine 150mg
7:45pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
1030pm urine 150mg

1st feb
7:25am 1&3/4 unit insulin
9:30am urine 200mg
4pm 400-500mg
715 pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
830pm 600mg

2nd feb
7am 1&3/4 unit insulin
8am urine 500mg
1pm urine 500mg
630pm urine 800mg
645pm 1&3/4 unit insulin

3rd feb
615am urine 600mg
645am 1&3/4 unit insulin
3pm urine 600mg
7pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
9pm urine 600mg

4th feb
630am 1&3/4 unit insulin
830am urine 500-600mg
630pm urine 600-700mg
8pm 1&3/4 unit insulin

5th feb
645am urine 300mg
7am 1&3/4 unit insulin
7pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
830pm urine 300-400mg

6th feb
645am 1&3/4 unit insulin
1200pm urine 200-300mg
530pm urine 150mg
645pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
830pm urine 400mg


7th feb

530am food
630am blood test -->18.8
7am 1&3/4 unit insulin
730am urine 500mg
10:45am blood test -->17.5
11am food
11:10am urine 400mg
3pm blood --> 16.5
430pm urine 400mg
** i couldn't get any blood before 7pm...
7pm 1&3/4 unit insulin
1130pm urine 400mg

8th feb
6am after eating urine 600mg ,

645am 1&3/4 unit insulin
930am urine 500-600mg
7pm 1&3/4 unit insulin

27th feb
19.6 (before insulin 1.75 unit), 18.6, 21.3, 23 (before insulin 1.75 unit)

then vet suggest to raise to 2 unit.

from 27th feb to 3rd march, urine is around 150-300mg (the other strange thing is that urine sugar is less but high in blood, she used to have 500mg in urine and only 16 in blood)

raising from 1.75 to 2 unit yet no difference...


4th march
7am 20.5
7:05am insulin 2unit
10am urine 100-150mg
11am 19.3
3pm 18.6
7pm 23
7:05pm insulin 2unit
930pm urine 100mg
11pm 19.3


9th march
7am 21.3 (1 hr after food)
then 2 unit insulin
11am 20.6
11:45 urine 200-300mg
3pm 16.6
7pm 20.9
then 2 unit insulin
10th march
645 am 22.3 (90mins after food)
then 2 unit insulin

** vet suggest to further raise to 2.5 unit. and check urine during day time, if still not normal, then blood curve two weeks later, if normal in urine, check blood 1 week later.
since 11th march, she is on 2.5 unit.
the other thing that worries me is that she used to drank a lot then vomited the water when she was in very high sugar and sick in dec and jan.
and yesterday, the first day raising to 2.5 unit, she vomited a lot of water again.
and today, started to urine often (1-2hr each time).
we did the culture on urine/blood test and no bacteria found, so it's not virus infection that block the absorption of insulin.

she is not regaining weight and very skinny. 5.5p. she was 5.8p when first diagnosed diabetes.

pls advise
thxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
anson
 
from health thread
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8797&p=87160#p87160


Hi Sun

wow, lots of info! Looks like you have begun testing more frequently which is great!
couple of things I can tackle here, others will be along to offer feedback on the dose.

If you could take a look at this link from the TECH forum on how to set up a spreadsheet for all your data:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=16
how to create a spreadsheet using Google documents.

Do you think you could do this and transfer all your data on to that? It would be really easier for others to view your data that way, as you can see by checking other threads out here in the Lantus forum, kitties have a spreadsheet, take a look at other threads here and you'll get an idea of what it looks like.

You will need to convert your BG numbers to U.S numbers, since this is the version followed in the board,
simply multiply: for example: BG 15.4 x 18 and you'll get 277

When you have a chance could you create a profile for Sun? Is that your kitties name right?
A Profile includes everything about your kitty, diet, health issues etc..
This is a link to the TECH forum on How to create a profile:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=531

What is your shot schedule? Example: 6am/6pm? 7am/7pm?
What is your schedule like during the day? Evening? Once you can get a spreadsheet going, it will be easier to see when you'll need some spotchecks.

Hang in there ok?
 
thx a lot for your reply.
i will try to build the profile on the spreadsheet.

my cat name is siujim (originally in cantonese).

thx
anson
 
ok, you are in a different time zone yes?
can you tell us when you are around to update? Its pretty late over here for most of us, but there is usually someone around overnite, and if not, the health forum is active too.
 
i am in hk (china/beijing) timezone.

and yes, we are the other way round.
i was in LA for sometimes, and it is 15 hr differences.
it is 12 at noon now and in NY should be midnight

thx.
anson
Ronnie & Luna said:
ok, you are in a different time zone yes?
can you tell us when you are around to update? Its pretty late over here for most of us, but there is usually someone around overnite, and if not, the health forum is active too.
 
+1 = 1 hour after insulin
+2 = two hours after insulin


can u explain the urine testing? is it ketones your testing?

and current dose is 2units? EDIT: 2.5units right?

are you feeding between +10 and +12 (shot time)
(which would be ten hours after insulin shot and two hours before next shot) does that make sense?
 
I think we're gonna need a spreadsheet Anson

I'll explain the food thing, with Lantus, you dont want to feed after +10, thats the 2 hours before shot time....if you do, you will see a food induced (food spike) number when you do your AMPS and PMPS (A.M preshot & P.M preshot), having food available before +10 is fine

Also, I see you are trying to stick closer to a 12/12 hour shot schedule since you began. This is good. You'll want to stay on a 12/12 hour schedule as much as possible.

For spotchecks, we suggest a +3 (three hours after shot) a +6 (six hours after) and a +9 or so, and anything in between is good too, if you are around to check her.
This chart might help, dont worry you dont have to test every hour:


Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number test/feed/shoot
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number test/feed/shoot


How is Siujim today? Do you have any recent numbers? Remember convert the number you have x 18
 
hi,

here is the spreadsheet. it took me 3 hrs... good to have it so people can read it clearly...
pls note in late dec/jan, as my family member was sick and i had to travel back and forth to hospital far away, i didn't have time to stay at home full day for her. it's sad. i was not sleeping at all at those time...
anyways, here is the info:
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html

thxxxxx so very much for the useful template.
i wish in hk, we have such support from discussion board.

pls advise.

best regards,
anson
 
I tried to view the spreadsheet, but I think you might have missed the step where it says "share with everyone" It won't let me access it.
 
now i have changed it to view without sign-in.
should be ok now even if you don't have a google account.

thxx so much.

Sara & Magnolia said:
I tried to view the spreadsheet, but I think you might have missed the step where it says "share with everyone" It won't let me access it.
 
thx for the reminder... i didn't know the time to feed her matters.
as y vet only say feed her before the injection, say 1 hr.
so usually, i will feed her then 1 hr later for the blood test then injection.

i will see how to re-arrange the schedule starting from tomorrow.

thxxx

Ronnie & Luna said:
I think we're gonna need a spreadsheet Anson

I'll explain the food thing, with Lantus, you dont want to feed after +10, thats the 2 hours before shot time....if you do, you will see a food induced (food spike) number when you do your AMPS and PMPS (A.M preshot & P.M preshot), having food available before +10 is fine

Also, I see you are trying to stick closer to a 12/12 hour shot schedule since you began. This is good. You'll want to stay on a 12/12 hour schedule as much as possible.

For spotchecks, we suggest a +3 (three hours after shot) a +6 (six hours after) and a +9 or so, and anything in between is good too, if you are around to check her.
This chart might help, dont worry you dont have to test every hour:


Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number test/feed/shoot
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number test/feed/shoot


How is Siujim today? Do you have any recent numbers? Remember convert the number you have x 18
 
Hi...spreadshhet link works - good job!

One more thing thou...you have to add it to your signature, if you go to "user control panel" (up above, under the FDMB kitty logo, you will see "user control panel")
this way it will always be at the end of each post you make - or else you would have to manually link it every time you post.

here are the instructions again that include attaching to your signature
creating a spreadsheet and attaching it to your signature:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=16
 
hi,

pls note the spread sheet for info.
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html

would u pls advise on:
1) the kind of food (i am trying to quit almo nature tuna canned food , though i put them into hot water to get rid of the rice and salty broth) and only steam shrimp (home-made) and wellness core grained free canned food. any suggestions?
2) time of food (4 hr each, 90-120mins before insulin, since 2 days ago, after the reminder of some of you)
3) dosage
4) supplement: she has been taking b-12 and krill oil. quite some cats here in our circle take krill oil (better than salmon oil) that to protect kidney (with high crea). writing shows it's good for blood sugar health (for humans). do u know whether diabetes cats can take it? to play safe, salmon oil is good?
5) she has been vomiting these few days, almost everyday. if situation continues, should i do a blood test sonner? as my vet says better do it in 1 week time (if urine has no sugar and) and in 2 weeks time (if urine still has sugar). what do u folks suggest?
6) as she has very low potassium and on k supplement, is excessive k ok to go in urine?


thxxx very much.

best
anson
 
if she is vomiting daily and that is something that is not usual for her, then something is wrong. Do you know how to check for ketones? (do your urine strips check for ketones, or only for sugar?). I don't know what is available to you, in the US we have urine strips called Ketostix that can test for ketones in the urine. I would get some today and test her urine for ketones, any diabetic cat that is not feeling well should be tested for ketones.

If she has more than trace ketones then she needs to go to the vet immediately. Really with daily vomiting I would take her to the vet right away, even if she doesn't have ketones. If you can do blood glucose testing I would do that too, right away.

I'm not familiar with the Almo food you mention. Wellness Core wet is a good food and my cats like it.
 
Hi again,

I dont have any info on the supplements questions, you could start a new thread in the Health forum - this will get you more info on the subject.

The dose question - I will leave for the experienced members to advise.

I see your spreadsheet now in your signature - great!

Can you explain the "urine testing" you are doing? Is it for ketones?
I dont see any BG (blood glucose) preshot testing in your spreadsheet in the last couple of days, would really recommend you try to get those preshot numbers in before you dose with insulin, there's no way of knowing where your cat is at in BG levels.

You will also need to fill in a bit in each cycle with spotchecks. If you work during the day - thats fine, maybe in the evenings you can test her BG numbers?

I'm worried about the vomitting, and without much BG testing to see where her numbers are at - not sure if that plays any part, I'm hoping others can advise further on that.
Do keep an eye on her, make sure she will eat before you shoot insulin, ok?

As for the fish....this was mentioned to you before in the Health forum, about feeding too much fish...you've got Wellness Core wet food, a good low carb choice, ...are you feeding the seafood flavour? or the chicken/turkey flavour? Plus giving homemade shrimp?

Please read Dr Lisa's website on Feline Nutrition, she does cover this topic as well.
Dr Lisa's Feline Nutrition website:

http://catinfo.org/

Also, this thread from a while back may help you understand that too much fish in the diet is not the greatest.
thread from Health forum about feeding fish to cats, good info in here:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=540&p=3832&hilit=seafood+bad#p3832

I can understand you may not have the best selections in Hong Kong for cat food, again - you could start a thread in the Health forum and Community forum to inquire if others can help you find alternatives available over there.

In the meantime, for your dosing concerns and everything related keep posting here, but do know you can cross post in other forums about the other topics, ok?
 
she doesn't have any ketones. i checked. she used to be ketonic when first diagnosed diabetes but later fixed by sub-q and after starting insulin injection.

Libby and Lucy said:
if she is vomiting daily and that is something that is not usual for her, then something is wrong. Do you know how to check for ketones? (do your urine strips check for ketones, or only for sugar?). I don't know what is available to you, in the US we have urine strips called Ketostix that can test for ketones in the urine. I would get some today and test her urine for ketones, any diabetic cat that is not feeling well should be tested for ketones.

If she has more than trace ketones then she needs to go to the vet immediately. Really with daily vomiting I would take her to the vet right away, even if she doesn't have ketones. If you can do blood glucose testing I would do that too, right away.

I'm not familiar with the Almo food you mention. Wellness Core wet is a good food and my cats like it.
 
thx for your mail.

yes, feeding chicken/turkey flavour,plus giving homemade shrimp. trying to get rid of the fish bt by bit per day. but she really likes tuna...

regarding the urine test, i have explained on the spread sheet to let all know as this is common in here to check urine so that we don't pin their ears too much.

urine test figure is glu mg/dl (medi-test) it is not precise but good reference.

yes, i didn't do blood test these days as vet said if there is sugar in urine, check in 2 weeks time after the new dose to let her get used to it and avoid over monitoring and changing too much on the dose too often. and if there is no sugar in urine, then check 1 week later (on thur). she has sugar in urine. so should have another blood test a 10 days later.
however, if she goes on vomiting, then i will do the blood test tomorrow. and see how things go.
lucky she is not ketonic and not losing further weight.

do u folks feed salmon oil for diabetes cats?
i want to try, and to replace the krill oil which some of you said no to it.
i will ask in the health forum if not many here have info.

thanks so much.
anson

?quote="Ronnie & Luna"]Hi again,

I dont have any info on the supplements questions, you could start a new thread in the Health forum - this will get you more info on the subject.

The dose question - I will leave for the experienced members to advise.

I see your spreadsheet now in your signature - great!

Can you explain the "urine testing" you are doing? Is it for ketones?
I dont see any BG (blood glucose) preshot testing in your spreadsheet in the last couple of days, would really recommend you try to get those preshot numbers in before you dose with insulin, there's no way of knowing where your cat is at in BG levels.

You will also need to fill in a bit in each cycle with spotchecks. If you work during the day - thats fine, maybe in the evenings you can test her BG numbers?

I'm worried about the vomitting, and without much BG testing to see where her numbers are at - not sure if that plays any part, I'm hoping others can advise further on that.
Do keep an eye on her, make sure she will eat before you shoot insulin, ok?

As for the fish....this was mentioned to you before in the Health forum, about feeding too much fish...you've got Wellness Core wet food, a good low carb choice, ...are you feeding the seafood flavour? or the chicken/turkey flavour? Plus giving homemade shrimp?

Please read Dr Lisa's website on Feline Nutrition, she does cover this topic as well.
Dr Lisa's Feline Nutrition website:

http://catinfo.org/

Also, this thread from a while back may help you understand that too much fish in the diet is not the greatest.
thread from Health forum about feeding fish to cats, good info in here:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... +bad#p3832

I can understand you may not have the best selections in Hong Kong for cat food, again - you could start a thread in the Health forum and Community forum to inquire if others can help you find alternatives available over there.

In the meantime, for your dosing concerns and everything related keep posting here, but do know you can cross post in other forums about the other topics, ok?[/quote]
 
Ok, you're doing urine testing - I got it now.

has there been any more vomiting?


Can you begin a new thread at the time of your next shot of Lantus, it should be your AMPS (+12)

hope you're doing ok Anson, it's a lot of handle, feel free to post here daily. There's always someone around.
 
I just wanted to say hello & welcome to the board, Anson.

Congratulations on the excellent care you're already providing Siujim! Charting as much data as possible is so important in providing the best of care & you certainly know how to do that well!

You've found a place of very knowledgeable & caring people who will support you through your journey. Some of the more experienced members have already stepped in to assist & you will also find newer members, such as myself, are also here to cheer you on!

You will never be alone & welcome to our community!
 
thx, this is night time in hong kong. and i'll see if siujim still vomits tomorrow.
if yes, i'll do the blood test, if not, will go on with the urine test. and hope it will go back to normal. then i can have a blood test.

thxxx for all your support.

i have got the salmon oil from a friend, and also cross post in the health forum. wish that someone will reply, then i can try feed her that. she needs omega 3.

thxxx again.
anson
Ronnie & Luna said:
Ok, you're doing urine testing - I got it now.

has there been any more vomiting?


Can you begin a new thread at the time of your next shot of Lantus, it should be your AMPS (+12)

hope you're doing ok Anson, it's a lot of handle, feel free to post here daily. There's always someone around.
 
am wondering if the vomiting episodes may be related to her kidney disease. many renal kitties have excess stomach acid, which can cause them to vomit. how is her appetite?

not sure what your question is w.r.t. salmon oil, but we do give it to both our cats. it's safe for diabetic kitties. this is the brand we use, and there are dosing suggestions on the page. i think i give roughly a little more than half of a 1000 mg capsule per cat per day; they weigh around 11-13 lbs.

so what does siujim's name mean? (i speak cantonese).

eta: oops ours isn't salmon oil. it says anchovy and sardine. but same concept, it's for the omega-3.
 
thx for your questions.
yes, i did also doubt if it was kidney problem.
but we had a blood test (see spreadsheet) 3 weeks ago and she was ok. crea level normal. urine concentration ok.
she did have kidney problem 18 months before (bun/crea higher, not very high though) but fixed by using asodyl (a probiotics for renal cats/dogs) and acupuncture and krill oil.
and yes, back here, we do have acunpunture for cats and works very well esp for joints/bone ache and also kidney and emotional problem.

and i will try the salmon oil. thxxx a lot.

siu jim means (little sharp angle) and it was named by my friend who adopted her when she was just born. later my friend had to move home and could no longer take her, so i did take her, back in 1995. she was with me all the time except the two years i was in LA, she was with my parents.

:-) we love her a lot and hope to help her out as much as we can.
and we are grateful that we did the right thing for her kidney. now the diabetes. and hope she can finally into remission.
she still has the 5ps, i will see whether she vomit today and get back to you folks.
her urine tests are better. this is good.

thx again.

WCF and Meowzi said:
am wondering if the vomiting episodes may be related to her kidney disease. many renal kitties have excess stomach acid, which can cause them to vomit. how is her appetite?

not sure what your question is w.r.t. salmon oil, but we do give it to both our cats. it's safe for diabetic kitties. this is the brand we use, and there are dosing suggestions on the page. i think i give roughly a little more than half of a 1000 mg capsule per cat per day; they weigh around 11-13 lbs.

so what does siujim's name mean? (i speak cantonese).

eta: oops ours isn't salmon oil. it says anchovy and sardine. but same concept, it's for the omega-3.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top