Double dosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

damacha

Member Since 2013
I don't think anyone will even see this but I'll post anyway.

I gave Socks 1 unit of ProZinc for his pm shot. PMPS was 592. Seven hours later, my fiancé who misunderstood that I just wanted him to test his BG gave him another shot. BG was 435 at the time, and he says that the shot ended up only being close to .25 units after he got the air bubbles out (someone needs another few lessons on giving shots and needs to pay more attention).

1 unit given at PMPS 592
+6.5 435
.25? units given at +7
+8 466
+9 396

I am hoping his PM shot was a fur shot, which was why his +6.5 number was still so high and everything will be fine. I'll be testing him hourly or possibly every two hours. Will we be safe at +12?
 
Hi Damacha,

I am here! Unfortunately though I don't have much experience so can't answer your questions directly... :roll:

In Australia we use mmol/L (I understand you are using mg/dl) so I have tried converting Socks' numbers...
the +9 396 is 22 mmol/l, which seems high to me (normalish for a diabetic cat though).

so I would think that Socks would be ok at the moment.(that is, at +9) I would definitely be keeping a REALLY close watch on his BGs though - probably testing every hour (but I am paranoid!). And of course watch for any symptoms of dangerously low BG. If he starts to drop a lot, you might want to test more frequently (maybe every 1/2 hr) until you see the numbers coming up again.

I really don't know if you will 'be safe at +12'... I would maybe not give the next shot if you are unsure and his numbers are a bit iffy - I really do not have any experience with your insulin though, so I would wait for advice from other more experienced and knowledgeable members here (or vet advice obviously).

If you are really worried (and/or think it was not a fur shot) and his numbers seem to be dropping fast or really low, you could give him some of his normal wet food to up the BG a bit - not ideal perhaps, but better to have short-term way-high numbers than letting him drop potentially dangerously low...

Can you ring your vet/emergency vet line to get some professional advice?

Good luck, I hope it all works out!
 
Yeah his numbers have been pretty high lately, and his pmps number was high, as well as the readings I have taken so far. My meter reads up to 600, and the meter at the vet reads up to 500 for somewhat of an idea.

I am paranoid as well, so I am testing every hour so far, lol.

I'm just going to wait on his next shot, giving it at +18 from pmps and +12 from his double dose.

I am feeding him probably more than usual, just to steer his numbers up in case he really did get a double dose and if his numbers really start dropping fast I will have to give the emergency vet a call, but hopefully it does not come to that or a visit.

Eliz, He seems to be acting normal, and it has been about 3.5 hours from the second shot.

I asked him to show me about how much it was and it was close to .5 units. I just increased him to 1 unit from not seeing much results on .75. And he nearly went hypo once when I gave him 1.25.

Thanks for the help, I'm glad at least someone is on here to see this :)
 
damacha said:
...I am paranoid as well, so I am testing every hour so far, lol.

I'm just going to wait on his next shot, giving it at +18 from pmps and +12 from his double dose...

...He seems to be acting normal, and it has been about 3.5 hours from the second shot.

I asked him to show me about how much it was and it was close to .5 units. I just increased him to 1 unit from not seeing much results on .75. And he nearly went hypo once when I gave him 1.25.
Hi,

I don't use the same PZI as you, but my understanding is that Prozinc can last about 12 hours in the system, is that right? And the second shot was given after the typical peak of the insulin cycle (when you'd normally see the lowest number)?

So, the two doses will overlap somewhat. The second dose will be starting to have an effect as the first dose is starting to wear off. You might see a stronger effect from the .5 of a unit than might normally happen at that dose, because it could get a boost from the dose that's already in the system.

It may be that all that happens is that the second dose effectively extends the duration of the first and mucks up your shooting schedule somewhat. But you are right to be cautious because this is unknown territory for Socks, so it's great that you are able to monitor Socks' blood glucose while this is going on.

I hope this doesn't mess things up between you and your fiance! ;-)
 
I was more shocked and worried than I was mad at him, so no hard feelings toward him lol.

Just gave Socks some more food, he's dropped close to 50 points since last hour.

My real worry was that he might be having a long cycle since his +6.5 was still a very high number. He's still acting normal though, and his numbers are still high. It's funny, I'm actually a bit relieved to see his numbers this high, lol.
 
Ha-ha! Yes, higher numbers can sometimes be reassuring!

I looked at Socks' chart and see that his blood glucose sometimes drops quite late on into the cycle. That's quite an unusual pattern there, and not the easiest to manage, I imagine... It almost looks like his pancreas is trying to 'pick up the ball and run with it' at times...
 
Yeah, he hasn't been making this very easy on me. I can't make heads or tails out of his SS, he is all over the place. I almost had a hypo scare a while ago when I upped his dose by .25. It has been quite frustrating.
 
Well, his numbers are certainly in a safe zone, but it is still falling. I hope you can figure out how to stay on your schedule without waiting till he zooms up.
 
There is something very comforting about those high numbers! You get to sleep more than when they have low numbers!!!

Grayson was on ProZinc initially, but at one point we were using the U100 needles, and I grabbed one but filled it with the dose he normally got on the U40s, so 2.5X what he should've gotten. We saw movement, but because he's insulin resistant, it wasn't bad. Just scared me as I realized it as soon as the last of the insulin was out of the syringe. No putting that genie back in the bottle!

Good that you were able to keep an eye on him and keep food on board. Sounds like you did all the right things given the circumstances. You WILL want to wait 12 hours from the second shot. Then adjust accordingly to get back onto your prefered schedule. Although I live by myself, I keep the numbers (on paper) in with his testing supplies, so I can reference it as needed. It's easy to ask yourself "Did I give him the shot or did I not???" We've all been there!

Glad all is well.

Lu-Ann
 
damacha said:
...I can't make heads or tails out of his SS, he is all over the place.
Actually, those blood glucose numbers look very like the numbers that my cat Bertie had initially. We'd see spells of really high numbers and then sudden inexplicable drops, often late in the cycle. I thought that if I stared at those numbers long enough I'd see some sort of obvious pattern, but it never did happen! @-)
 
His numbers seem to be hovering around the mid 300's and we are at about +8 from the second shot and +15 from the initial shot. Would you guys think it's safe to go to bed now?

Do you guys also think it is best to give another shot at +12 from the second shot instead of waiting until the normal pm shot time which would be +17 from the second shot?

Elizabeth, what happened to Bertie? Did he finally just decide to start cooperating? Or did you just have to keep messing with doses/insulins to find the right one?

Thanks everyone for the help, I don't know what I would do without you guys.
 
I'd have to wake up to give him a shot in 3-4 hours, then step his next shots an hour later each shot to get back on schedule. I can do it if I need to, but it will not be fun waking up after a few hours of sleep.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Then I'd just sleep and figure he'll be high and shoot at your regular time.

I agree with Sue. Get some rest, and start fresh at his regular shot time.

One thing I've done is changed my shot time. On ProZinc, I wanted to see the first 4-5 hours. On Lev, I want to see the last 4-5 when he nadirs. So I went from a 6:30 am/pm shot, to a 10/10 shot. I seem to function better if I get uninterupted sleep. You may want to look at your schedules, and when is the most important time for you to be home/awake/alert to his cycle, and schedule your shot accordingly.

Lu-Ann
 
I don't have any advice, but I just wanted to let you know I will be thinking of you and Socks. Hang in there and I'm sure Socks will be fine.:)

Melody
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top