double dose reduction?

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

ok, i reduced tom's dose this amps from 1u to .75...yet he got a +2 39. he just got a half teaspoon of sliced gravy 17 carb FF to allow me to go to work...otherwise i may have yet low/med carb mix for him. still kind of wish i would have.
question is .... is he now immediatly going from .75 to .5 in one cycle.
understanding full well his number will be artifically high tonight due to the HC. i mean of course i'll wait and see the number tonight but a double reduction....

and FWIW, especially when talking to newbie's...tom was completely normal and active etc with this quick and nearing a dangerous drop. kitties do and can have non symptomatic near hypo's and then boom HYPO.
matter of fact i had to call tom in as he is outside intently watching a gofer hole just waiting ever so patiently for the gofer to poke his head out. he pranced happily in the house for his pokie.
 
That +2 was not due to the .75u you reduced to today. That is definitely still the 1u talking since the morning's dose hadn't even kicked in yet. I'd hold the .75u for at least another 2 cycles before you can rule out the 1u shed causing lower numbers.
 
yep, i thought of that Kelly, yet....i'm not eager to shoot numbers i'm afraid to leave the house with kwim? shooting another green (which that high carb snack he just ate will likely not happen) with .75 nailbite_smile ....not when i'm going out or going to bed. love the numbers...hate the crazy decision making... @-)
 
I agree with Kelly in that you do not have the data to say the 39 is off of the .75u - lev response lags the dose by some factor of about 1-3 cycles, depending on the cat. Yes, I suppose you could induce a severe hypo within a few hours by shooting triple the reg dose, but who would do that?

One thing I wish you would do is delete the color blocks that have no number assigned to them. You did not test, so you don't know if he, in fact, stayed green or blue or whatever. I would bet that he was actually above 100 (blue) most of the night, but who knows. The point is that we look at colors for the pattern and then the numbers for the details (for better or worse), so someone glancing at his SS thinks, "Oh, he's always in the greens and blues", when I can see a few times where he was likely in the yellows. You may think this is me being picky, but it "messes" with how we look at Tom's SS and BG patterns.

You do need to be more vigilant, perhaps, for the next set of numbers that indicate a decrease. I think that is going to happen it's just a matter of when. As you know, I *strongly* suggested he be started on .5u anyway. And there are doses like .7u or .6u that may be good to try next - after you give .75u a chance to settle. And remember, he will likely be high at the next PS from rebound. I would not respond to that by increasing back to 1u.

BTW, I don't think 39 is a serious number, but it does warrant caution and response. I would not have been concerned about my cat being there (and I wasn't the other day when Jeddie was at 34), but I would not have fed only a half teaspoon of gravy and left for the afternoon. I would have left the MC food down. Better to err on the side of higher numbers for a cycle or two than him dropping further into truly alarming numbers.
 
Kelly, amps 98 .75
+2 39 teaspoon HC 17carbs.
+3 71
+4.5 51

Do you still think it's just the 1u talkin' that 4.5 is kinda low consider he has the H/C on board. I mean good low...but where would he have been without it?
I think Mr. P is out today...;and really was'nt lookin for any help from Mr. Lev. :lol:
 
lori and tom said:
Re: double dose reduction?
by lori and tom » Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:34 pm

+2 39 teaspoon HC 17carbs.

If the "17" comes from Janet and Binky's list, then the 17 does not mean grams of carb, it means 17% of calories are from carbohydrate.

Lana
 
lori and tom said:
Kelly, amps 98 .75
+2 39 teaspoon HC 17carbs.
+3 71
+4.5 51

Do you still think it's just the 1u talkin' that 4.5 is kinda low consider he has the H/C on board. I mean good low...but where would he have been without it?
I think Mr. P is out today...;and really was'nt lookin for any help from Mr. Lev. :lol:

Yes, it is still the 1u shed. He had a dropping number from the amps which means it is still the previous dose working, or Mr. P trying to help out. Either way, it isn't the .75u talking just yet. He still has the momentum of the 1u behind him. He hadn't had the chance of going up a small hill (a full cycle of the .75u dose) to start to bring the shed down to a .75u dose. The second and third cycles of a dose decrease is when the back log of insulin in the body starts to dwindle down to the actual new decreased dose.
 
well at +7.5 he's still coasting along nicely with an 87.
i came home from work and on the white rug by the door, which is tom and mine's special place..(we test, groom and he let's me know when he wants a test there) was a nice size swath of still red blood (fresh)...no feathers, no organs left over when lizard is the meal, there was long stems of weed and grass which is normal as he catches the prey and brings it in along with a mouthful of whatever was where the prey stood.
strange that he ate the entire thing without leaving so much as a clue to what it was.....
maybe he was too low and needed every bite? :lol:
he is obviously feeling very well.

don't be mad but i can't i don't think, put .75 into a green at night. even though he usually goes up at night. i shoot at 10ish and it does'nt give me much time to see where he's heading.
so if he's blue he gets his dose of .75
if he's green he gets .5
if it were day and i was going to be home i would do it.

i consider today a caught hypo...do you?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top