Double checking on a missed (fur shot) shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Member Since 2013
I just gave Simon his PM shot and I felt wet on his fur. I looked at the syringe and it was bent sideways. I must have bent it when I put the cap back on after filling it earlier. I am just checking to make sure that I am NOT supposed to give him another shot even though I am pretty sure he got very little if any of the insulin tonight.

Feel like such a nudge for this. :oops: :oops: :oops: I should have checked! I have not felt wet fur once since I began giving him the shots so I guess once is not too bad for a newbie so I will forgive myself this time since I have no choice :YMSIGH:

I just feel bad that my baby did not get the medicine he needed due to my mistake.

So, I can't give him even a half dose even though I pretty much am sure he got very little if any of the shot, right?
 
I absolutely love something I saw you say elsewhere Deb&Wink...I'll be sure to remember it too!

"Better too high for a day than too low for a moment."
 
I just gave Simon his PM shot and I felt wet on his fur.
Yes, wet fur or a smell like band-aids are indicative of a fur shot.

I looked at the syringe and it was bent sideways.
Yes, sometimes a really fine gauge syringe (31 gauge) with a longer needle length (1/2'') are more prone to bending. I think it was Kpassa that said she actually broke off the end of a needle once in her cat Michaelangelo. That is why she stays away from the 31 gauge needles.

Feel like such a nudge for this.
I'm sorry, but only my foster cat Wink Wink Nudge Nudge is allowed to be a nudge around here. ;-)

So, I can't give him even a half dose even though I pretty much am sure he got very little if any of the shot, right?

The reason you never want to give even a half dose or a token dose after a suspected fur shot is that you do not know how much got into your cat and how much got into the fur. You can't take the insulin back out after you have injected it.

He will probably be high in the morning. Expect it and do not be surprised at a hi morning number. It happens to everyone now and again. don't beat yourself up about it, ok?
 
Thanks...for everything! I guess I won't freak out too much if his BS is really high tomorrow. For today, my baby is done giving up blood. I stuck him a lot more today than any other day since we started this so tomorrow morning pre shot will be the next time I stick his ear. I am sure he will be thrilled to hear it..lol
 
Did you hear that Simon? You don't get any more ear pokes tonight. Momma is going to let you sleep.

Don't forget to put that suspected fur shot in the remarks on the SS.

Have a good evening.
 
I'd still maybe test him before bed to see if he got any insulin, just out of curiosity and record-keeping. There's been a couple of fur shots I was absolutely certain Mikey hadn't gotten anything and it turned out he'd gotten a teensy bit because his numbers went down ever so slightly. Usually, with a "true" fur shot, his numbers don't go down at all.
 
Did not see the post about testing before bed until this morning. His BG was 376 this morning which is the highest it has been since he has been getting tested at home so I suspect most if not all of the insulin ended up on his fur.

Today I will be headed out the door in an hour and Simon will be home by himself all day and will be able to get some rest since I drove him nuts with the ear pricks yesterday. He will only have the two readings today - AMPS and PMPS.

Thanks for all of your help. Could not do this without you!! @-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top