Dosing tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

joebrave44

Member Since 2012
I need some help for dosing my cat tonight. I've been battling his bg levels for a few weeks now. After reading posts here I decided to change my kitty's diet to a high protein low carb diet. For the first time in a long time, his bg levels tested under 200 about 30 minutes ago. His second injection of the day will be at 9:30 tonight and I'm not quite sure what would be an appropriate dosage for him. He's a Maine Coon, 38 inches from nose to tail and about 15.5 lbs at last weigh in. His dose this morning was 3 unit of Lantus insulin. I was thinking of giving him a half unit, waiting an hour or so more to decide if he needs more, because I don't want him to go into hypoglycemic shock if I give him too much. Whatever input people want to give would be much appreciated
 
Update!

I just checked him again his level was 175. I might just hold of on his dose until I can talk to my kitty's vet tomorrow. Luckily I think I have one of the few vets that is open for a short period on Saturday's. Still, if you have any advice I would very much appreciate it tonight.
 
When you have a question that needs an immediate answer and no one is here, it would be best to post on the Health forum or Lantus tight regulation.

In general, we suggest newbies not give a shot under 200 but wait 20 minutes and retest, without feeding (which can raise the number "artificially"). We are looking for a number over 200 that is rising, not falling. His number is falling so you definitely want to wait or skip.

Have you seen the stickies (starred topics) at the top of this page? They have great info on how to dose, what to do with a low number, how important it is to have midcycle numbers to base dosing decisions on, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top