? Dosing time advice needed - time sensitive

Status
Not open for further replies.

shelaghc

Member Since 2017
I was called for a last-minute temp assignment tomorrow morning and may have to leave possibly as early as 7:30AM (might be able to stretch that to 7:45AM depending upon traffic.
I'm supposed to get there by 8:30AM, but they're making allowances if I need to be a little late literally because of Jester's insulin dosing.

Jester didn't get his insulin until 9:15ish this morning.

This is my current plan and I'm hoping for someone to tell me if it's a good plan or if they have a more logical one.

Move up his PM shot tonight by forty-five minutes - give it to him at 8:30PM.

Then move his AM shot tomorrow to about 7:30AM - pretty much on my way out the door.

Thoughts?
 
Not ideal, but in your situation (and since it's ProZinc), I think you'll be OK

Just make sure you get those Pre-shots and that he's high enough since you're giving it early twice in a row....might leave some food down for him tomorrow
 
Not ideal, but in your situation (and since it's ProZinc), I think you'll be OK

Just make sure you get those Pre-shots and that he's high enough since you're giving it early twice in a row....might leave some food down for him tomorrow
He's been up in his numbers lately - mid to upper 200s, even low 300s. And that with the new generic BG strips that seem to register a lower number than the OEM strips did.
Probably due to the medium carby foods, of course.

Unfortunately, leaving food out isn't an option. With two other cats, Jester invariably won't be the one who gets to eat it.

tyk. Sometimes I just need some reassurances.
 
The only other alternatives, now that I think about it, would have been to skip a shot tonight - not a good idea when his BG has been a little higher as it's been, or to leave tonight's shot alone and just doe tomorrow morning's almost two hours earlier all at once.

Neither seemed like good options under the circumstances.
 
Best laid plans of mice and men gang aft agley.

The temp job ended later than it was supposed to so I hit a crapload of traffic on the way home.

Jester (and the other two cats) only just finished eating a few minutes ago. Now I can't do Jester's PMPS until 7:50 at the soonest, along with his insulin.

Life will go on, I'm sure.

;->
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top